We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is good and the staff is very professional and...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Torrance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Torrance to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Torrance
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3673 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503 (Formerly Ramada Limited)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Torrance
North Las Vegas
1 review
“The location is good and the staff is very professional and...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location is good and the staff is very professional and friendly. There is a lot of parking space and the room is extra clean and a good size as well. The bed is very comfortable and the linens are clean. There are enough pillows (6) and the cover is clean as well. Towels are fresh. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Geraldine S:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to know you had a memorable experience at Howard Johnson. Our staff from housekeeping team to front desk and engineering department work very hard to deliver a personalized and memorable experience to every guest. In your case, I'm pleased to know that the room cleanliness, staff service, and parking space were to your satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Inessa Udovchenko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    92
    67
    15
    18
See reviews for
116
48
31
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is a great location close to shopping mall. Staff are very hepful. But the wifi internet connection was terrible.
The hotel is old, needs update, like painting and new carpet.
Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Howard Johnson Inn is right in the heart of Torrance, very close to major supermarkets, restaurants, and shopping centers as well as a short drive to the South Bay beaches. Hotel parking is free and ample. We were put in one of the rooms facing the third floor corridor, but asked to move to a bigger room (like the one we saw advertised). The front-desk reception staff were courteous and helpful. We were in fact moved to the southern corner end of the 3rd-floor corridor after the first night. The corner room is spacious, gets good sunlight, and has a balcony. As the room backs onto Torrance Boulevard, there was some street traffic noise. This was not as loud as the room heater, which fortunately we didn't really need to use much of after the 3rd or 4th day. Wifi connection was slow but not agonizing. The room is very clean. The elevator ride is also slow and the door closes quickly (as of Jan 22, it was still operating under a temporary permit--even though a technician came towards the end of our week's stay, I didn't notice any improvement afterwards).

Room Tip: Corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

If I were to go back to LA I would stay elsewhere. The room was clean enough. The wifi doesn't work well and at one point wouldn't connect at all. The elevator is slow and sketchy with a very slow squeaky door.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoTorrance, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Valued Hojo Guests,
We have heard your critiques and I assure you that everyone at the Howard Johnson in Torrance is working hard to assess the problems at hand. Fixing the internet at the north end of the property has become a major priority and it will be fully functioning in the near future. We greatly appreciate your business and we would love to prove ourselves and our commitment to our guests in your future stays. We hope to see you all soon. Have a great day and a happy new year.

Warmest Regards
Howard Johnson Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Torrance

Address: 3673 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Torrance 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Torrance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.