We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Bad!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach to your Saves list
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Torrance
Perm, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really Bad!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The room was dirty. The bathroom was dirty. They gave pots/pans in the rooms which was so dirty that we did not even feel safe to cook in it. The carpet was probably not cleaned for years. I had a pair of white socks that turned black within 20 min of walking inside the suite. The staff was rude and did not want to fix any problem. The main manager was also rude we past him several times but he never even said anyting to us. This was the most OWFUL HOTEL during our visit in America. The trash can by our building was always full and it smelt everytime we passed it. This hotel can be a good hotel if the staff was good and if rooms were clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankeeper, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. We take great pride in offering exceptionally clean accommodations and excellent service. I assure you that I will research what occurred during your stay, and address these items accordingly. Again, I sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    81
    46
    18
    22
See reviews for
99
23
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The complex is a nice enclave in Torrance,close to restaurant row. There's a Souplantation for those looking for a wholesome meal at a good price. We enjoyed our split-level, 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom room with a full kitchen and no less than three flatscreen televisions. The outside pool and jacuzzi were what you would expect, the breakfast dining was a bit of a let-down due to limited seating (we had to carry our plates upstairs to an extra room) and lack of room at the buffet. Residence Inn caters to Oriental and Spanish eaters which is nice, but limits the menu choices for traditional continental breakfasts. Some of the washer/dryer appliances were out of order, but thanks to accomodating fellow guests were were able to get our washing done. Prices are above average at $169/night but overall we had a positive feel about this resort.

Room Tip: Split-level family suites are upstairs, so be willing to carry luggage up yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankeeper, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for submitting your comments on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted you had a pleasant experience and that you found our services and accommodations to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves in providing memorable stays.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I must say that always have positive experience with most Residence inn. However this ones was below my expectative. The structure building looks a little bit old. I didn't feel I was in a residence inn by Marriott, just in a regular hotel. But I can tell a few positive things from the hotel. Convenience parking, free complementary breakfast. Inside the room was really nice and comfortable, beds were comfortable as well. It had a small kitchen, which makes the stay enjoyer. Internet was free, but I was so slow that I preferred not use it. Staffs were nice but I really expect more. Close to many stores and super markets. Near to manhattan and redondo Beach. Even thought all above I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankeeper, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for submitting your comments about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel, service and amenities.
We will certainly look at the recommendations you made to enhance our facilities even more.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Convenient location, great staff, easy breakfast included, nice pool and a beautiful outdoor courtyard area for visiting complete with bbq grill. Room was clean and even had a well equipped kitchen. Made the stay in the South Bay area very easy.

Room Tip: Even though this is a no smoking place, many of the other guests used the courtyard area to smoke an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankeeper, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for submitting your comments and positive remarks about our hotel. We pride ourselves in providing memorable stays. We look forward to your next visit so that we may be able to be of service to you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We place our reservation through the Marriott.com website. It was not indicated that there would be an additional $250. security deposit placed on your debit or credit card when ask why the front desk clerks reply was: " it's this locations policy". HUH! this is TORRANCE people, what am I missing. The carpet was dirty, and it had a terrible odor like something wet and mildewed, especially upstairs loft. I had to spray the room with air freshener I just happen to have in my car. Thank God I am a local and just needed the room for one night
This Place SUCKS!!!!!!! If I could rate this as a -1star establishment it would be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankeeper, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I am sorry that our hotel and services were not up to your full satisfaction. We thank you for submitting your remarks to Trip Advisor. Please be assured that we will take corrective action on your suggestions so that next time you visit with us, your stay can be a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nts, using the central location as our starting point for family visits and local touring.

The room we had a pet odor and the walls are extremely thin. The upstairs neighbor sounded like he'd come crashing through at any moment. The room had two small queens and I feel the room was a bit too small for that configuration-- the wall was very close to my side of the bed.

The staff were very friendly.

The breakfast room is not large enough to support the number of guests -- unless you don't mind eating when it first opens.

On a positive note, the location makes for convenient touring of the entire Los Angeles area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankeeper, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sending in your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience and hope to be able to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had some minor issues with scheduling because we were using Marriott free night vouchers for this stay. As a result we were unable to book a suite and instead had to book 2 studios. We called to ensure that they would be adjacent rooms and were told yes. The day of travel I called again because we would not be checking in until after midnight. At that time I was told they did not have adjacent rooms. One room was intended for me and my husband with the 2 kids in the other room. The front desk girl offered us rooms that were one above the other and I declined. She spent some time working it out and finally was able to get us to rooms beside eachother on the same level. These are outside entrance rooms.
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were impeccably clean and quite large for a studio and boasted a full kitchenette. The only major complaint was the thinness of the walls. There is zero insulation to dampen outside noise.
As for the free breakfast. I have no idea what they offer outside of coffee. Every morning the volume of people overwhelmed the size of the small eating area. The flow was poor with the waffle maker in the hall.
A decent gym is important to me when I stay somewhere. While the gym did have 2 treadmills and an eliptical as well as a bench and free weights it was very tiny. If there was more than 2 people in there the odor was overwhelming. Barely enough room to do a stationary lunge.
I would recommend this as a great place to stay that is clean and in a prime location for families and tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the parking lot and basketball courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankeeper, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the complimentary remarks and suggestions regarding your recent stay with us.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach

Address: 3701 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn Hotel in Torrance, California is located near Redondo Beach in an interesting, fun part of Los Angeles, just blocks from Del Amo Fashion Center and a short drive to Carson. Our Redondo Beach hotel is also minutes from the lively downtown and pier of Redondo Beach and Palos Verdes, with amazing views of LA. Orange County attractions like Disneyland are also not far. Our Torrance hotel has seven acres of landscaped walkways with a heated outdoor pool, three whirlpools and a large BBQ area. The free daily breakfast buffet can't be missed either. Our well-appointed, all-suite accommodations allow you to spread out in separate living and sleeping areas or make yourself a meal in the fully-equipped kitchen. Choose from studio, one-, or two-bedroom suites. If you're here for work, enjoy our large, well-lit desks and free high-speed internet access throughout. Relax with the comforts of home at our all-suite hotel in Torrance, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach Hotel Torrance
Residence Inn Torrance
Residence Inn Redondo Beach
Torrance Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.