We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey - but clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torrance Marriott

Save Saved
You added Torrance Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torrance Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3635 Fashion Way, Torrance, CA 90503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Torrance
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey - but clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was very clean, and the staff was very polite and helpful. The only thing about this hotel is that it is very pricey. The food was very expensive. It made you want to travel outside the hotel to eat. But othe than that, all was well. Check-in and check out was quick and the rooms were available upon arrival. The hotel is 15 to 20 minutes (with a car) from everything Hollywood. As a travel agent, I would definitely recommend this to a client.

But please keep in mind that this is a pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    107
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
46
30
25
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1. as marriott elite members, my stay deserves a free breakfast. receptionist unwilling to give me until i went to front desk twice to ask firmly.
2. my family went to breakfast area and was denied access. receptionist said space was full and refused to tell me how long we should wait and left us alone at the entrance. however, the table nearest the entrance (not good location) is empty. we insisted we did not want to wait and we waited to sit there. waitress reluctantly let us in after we repeated our request.
3. my wife and I (gold and plat status) plus two 5-year-old babies always had free breakfast at any marriott hotels worldwide (US, canada, china, south america, europe, etc.) for many years. quite strangely, this hotel insisted we should paid half price for each baby, that is, one full price for two babies. i told her i would complain and i never received such treatment at any marriott hotels worldwide. useless. waitress insisted she wanted to charge me! waitress spoke with a cold face, no smile at all. what could i do? so, i paid.
4. i sent a complaint to marriott reward program (and told them that i would post my complaint to tripadvisor). my message was forwarded to this hotel. its front desk manager sent me an email next day to apologize and offered 10,000 marriott reward points as a gesture of apology. i figure this is roughly equivalent to 1 full breakfast expense i paid, so i told him i accepted his apology. so, i chose not to complain publicly at tripadvisor. i know hotel hated to be criticized publicly because it negative influences their businesses.
5. this happened in early august. now after over a month, i check my marriott account and the front manager did not give me anything. could it be that this front desk manager forgot this? NO, I DON'T THINK SO. i believe he wanted to hoax me into not complaining publicly at tripadvisor.com.

i hate any hotels nickel and dime customers. this hotel was unfortunately fond of doing it. friends told me this hotel was acquired and changed ownership to an asian, maybe chinese (not sure?). they love tricks and charge customers!

conclusion: this hotel staffs and manager is dishonest. is this an act of cheating? you promised something and convinced customers, BUT YOU NEVER DELIVERED! OR, YOU NEVER PLANNED TO DELIVER, JUST A CAMOUEFLAGE TO CHEAT CUSTOMERS.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Specially for those who make business into the Torrance neighborhood, it's an nice hotel, with pleasant attendance, nice food and very good bed.
There is a nice swimming pool and, close to the airport, there is a frequency of flight attendants all the time. You can find the Delamo mall very close.

Room Tip: There is a construction close to the hotel. Prefer the rooms at the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is centrally located-3 miles to Redondo Pier/Beach(amazing boardwalk with shops n food and nice clean beach), mall, dining, movie theater. Nice "decor" to mimic resort style, rooms could use some upgrades (toiletries, furniture).
We did experience some issues, but staff was extremely polite, compassionate and extremely eager to make us "happy" and correct issues. My only "complaint", really would be their parking situation, and the fact you must pay $ 18.00 to park--should be included. For the price you pay for the room.....I expect a little more---complimentary breakfast, coffee/tea, free water, Wi-Fi, toiletries, and a bigger bathroom. Amenities are great-salt water pool/spa, giant size chess, outdoor patio, 3 fire pits/lounge areas. Overall, it was better than others & location just can't be beat. Tho balconies are small, still nice at night. Construction is a "eye-sore", but on weekends, no activity but during the week days, could be noisy, but didn't affect our stay.

Room Tip: Balcony, tho small is nice at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reception was good. Breakfast didnt have varieties and not sure if it is my plan or the hotel didnt provide complimentary breakfast. Toiletries could be better.no moisturizers and just one coffee..water bottle was chargeable! Wifi was intermittent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an older property but it is in a good location. The grounds are vey nice and meant to simulate "resort" activities, i.e. giant chess, other games, indoor/outdoor pool, gardens, etc. At the time of my stay there was major construction in the lot across the street making access to dining and retail more difficult - temporary inconvenience, though.

If your intention is to do Los Angeles and Orange County you will need a car. There is a Hertz office onsite.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have balconies - just ask. Upper floors get the sea breezes off the Pacific.
See more room tips
Green Features: In line with other major hotel families. Reuse of towels is an option.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
che s, Manager at Torrance Marriott, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Torrance Marriott South Bay. We are looking forward to the mall completing the construction and understand the challenge it can be to navigate to the mall.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. please don’t hesitate to contact us for anything.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here 4 nights. The location is good if travelling via LAX. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast buffet was very good and plenty to select from. I was granted free wifi and it worked well from my room. Next to hotel a shopping mall and some good stores and a large movie theatre. Car parking not a problem, although they charge for using the car park facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torrance Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Marriott

Address: 3635 Fashion Way, Torrance, CA 90503
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torrance Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torrance Marriott South Bay Hotel is located in the renowned South Bay, minutes from Pacific Coast Highway, miles of pristine beaches, the Home Depot Center and the Del Amo Fashion Center. Our spacious guest rooms include Revive bedding, wireless internet and suites with flat-screen LCD TVs. Savor our Clean Bay Certified South Bay hotel dining experiences, from Starbucks and Garden Court Restaurant, to the signature Rain Wine Bar and Lounge featuring 30 specialty wines by the glass. Our Marriott Torrance hotel near Redondo Beach features over 30,000 sq ft of flexible event space and boasts a circular Ballroom Elements, adjacent to an outdoor Zen Lounge making it ideal for conferences, weddings or other social activities. Newly designed Serenity Gardens, offers a premier outdoor venue with gazebo to host a dream wedding. Convenient to LAX, Long Beach Airports and LA Galaxy games, the Torrance Marriott South Bay defines where style and comfort meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Torrance Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Marriott Hotel Torrance
Marriott Torrance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrance Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.