We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torrance Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Torrance Marriott to your Saves list
Torrance Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3635 Fashion Way, Torrance, CA 90503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Torrance
CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We are here for a meeting. The hotel is clean, nice amenities. They have a garden to relax in, a nice pool, and nice lobby areas. It is right across from the del amo mall, but the hotel is quiet. There are many restaurants around. Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly working on enhancing our property and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    131
    57
    20
    9
See reviews for
53
40
28
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very clean room. Valet parking guys and bellmen all had great charisma! Front desk staff is very friendly. The location was great too. Close to the freeway as well as restaurants. Another huge plus for me is that there is a Starbucks on property. Gotta stay caffeinated! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance Marrio... B, General Manager at Torrance Marriott, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are excited as well to have a full starbucks marketplace too. We are introducing a line of warm breakfast items in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is located next to a large Mall and has plenty of places to eat nearby, the price is mid to high. Lounge area is very large but the bar have very limited seating and can get a bit backed up at times. Rooms are average to small, amenities are the usual for a higher priced hotel. Plenty of special events going on with two weddings and a party for a professional soccer team going on when I was there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Tim,

Thank you for your feedback.

I agree with your comments regarding the seating in the lobby areas and we are taking it to heart!

We've tasked our team to reconfigure the lobby and add seating to seehow we can better accomodate more guests. It's great to be so popular!

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott Torrance South Bay in mid-January on business. I have stayed here several times in the past and this hotel is one of my favorites in the area. Many of the airlines use this hotel during layovers so there always seems to be some life in the lobby and the accompanying bar.

I stayed in room 1638 this time and the room has sliding doors that open to a small, but nice patio. I always enjoy getting fresh air while I am in the room. The room itself is a typical Marriott style room. Shower pressure was good and the bed was comfortable.

One of the aspects that I enjoy most about this hotel is the outdoor seating available just off both sides of the lobby. It seems to be a trend within the full service Marriott properties to offer space for people to congregate. Its a nice touch. The fitness center is also good size and the hotel is only about 2 miles to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the terrific vote of confidence.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have traveled extensively on business the last decade and frequently stay at Marriott hotels. My wife and I recently stayed at the Torrance facility and were thoroughly impressed with the hotel staff to the point I would say this was the best team of inn keepers I have experienced across the Marriott landscape.

From the minute we arrived, we were met by helpful and courteous bellmen, registration staff, barmen and restaurant wait staff. Every department we encountered was represented by a friendly, upbeat staff member.

Our room and all common areas appeared to have been recently refurbished, providing a pleasing and relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is located next door to major shopping in the DelAmo mall, close to many fine restaurants and near several fine beaches and the beauty of the Palos Verdes headlands. I would recommend the Marriott Torrance to anyone planning a visit to the westside of Los Angeles .

Room Tip: Request a room as high as possible on the south side for interesting view of San Pedro and Palos Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the terrific comments. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at your hotel from Nov 29th thru Dec 4th and couldn't have been happier. The staff was all so friendly and helpful. No matter what I needed, your staff took care of me and seemed glad to do it. It was like being taken care of by your family -- family that you actually get along with. In addition to having staff that treated me so well, the room and the amenities were lovely. Having free use of the internet in the Concierge Lounge allowed me to keep up with my email and confirm my flights. The breakfast buffet in the Concierge Lounge had tremendous variety, and was a lovely place to enjoy cake and tea in the evening. I have already started telling people back home about your wonderful hotel, and can't wait to return. I will also let my travel agent know what superior service you provide your guests. A special 'Thank you' to my dearest Odette, Elsa, Jorge, Tanya, Rhoda, Eliza, Sara, Paul, Beth, & Rafael for your true professionalism and great conversation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We apprecaite your business and look forward to seeing you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Torrance Marriott is a very well kept older property. It is a business hotel that appears to cater mostly to expense account customers. We expected to pay extra for parking, but were shocked to have a $12.95 fee quoted for in-room wi fi. There is, however, free wi fi in the lobby, but still such a fee seems archaic. The lobby and the lobby bar was very nice but sometimes cold. The restaurant is open only for breakfast and lunch. Our only complaint besides the wi fi was that housekeeping just draped (not actually folded) our rather thin used towels back on the rack.

We found the service to be excellent and the prices fair for this kind of hotel. We would give the property a half star more but for the above.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I appreciate the comments and have shared them with the team, specifically in housekeeping
so we can better manage the services. I apologize for the inconvenience.

We are constantly upgrading and enhancing the property and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Torrance Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Marriott

Address: 3635 Fashion Way, Torrance, CA 90503
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
#8 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torrance Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torrance Marriott South Bay Hotel is located in the renowned South Bay, minutes from Pacific Coast Highway, miles of pristine beaches, the Home Depot Center and the Del Amo Fashion Center. Our spacious guest rooms include Revive bedding, wireless internet and suites with flat-screen LCD TVs. Savor our Clean Bay Certified South Bay hotel dining experiences, from Starbucks and Garden Court Restaurant, to the signature Rain Wine Bar and Lounge featuring 30 specialty wines by the glass. Our Marriott Torrance hotel near Redondo Beach features over 30,000 sq ft of flexible event space and boasts a circular Ballroom Elements, adjacent to an outdoor Zen Lounge making it ideal for conferences, weddings or other social activities. Newly designed Serenity Gardens, offers a premier outdoor venue with gazebo to host a dream wedding. Convenient to LAX, Long Beach Airports and LA Galaxy games, the Torrance Marriott South Bay defines where style and comfort meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Torrance Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Marriott Hotel Torrance
Marriott Torrance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrance Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.