We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2633 Sepulveda Boulevard, Torrance, CA 90505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast + WiFi
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Torrance
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Not great but ok for a business trip. Gym was small but they are expanding it. Rooms, bed, desk and chair comfortable enough. Walls were thin though, I could hear the neighbors coffee pot like it was in my room and the traffic from the road enen though I was toward the back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYTORRANCE, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
First I would like to Thank You for staying with us during your business trip.Courtyard is designed with the business traveler in mind. Having said that, we have established ourselves as a place to stay when you're on vacation. I'm glad that our rooms were comfortable and able to meet your needs. We did not expand our gym, however, we do have a partnership with a local racquet ball club where our guests can go and enjoy full use of their facilities. Again, I thank you for staying with us and hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
23
13
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Used this place on a drive-by basis on a recent business trip to the South Bay. On a weekend the place was quiet and the staff had plenty of time for any request. If I need to be in this area again I'll likely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYTORRANCE, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Since your last stay with us, we have made some wonderful changes to our hotel. We've completely renovated all of our Hotel rooms to reflect a fresh and modern look. I hope the next time you "drive -by" you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here over the Thanksgiving week. Initially stayed for an overnight retreat. Conference room facilities adequate, accommodations were clean, bed was comfortable. Front desk support was efficient, friendly & professional.
Liked our arrangements so much that opted to stay here instead of family. Rates were excellent as well for a last minute arrangements. The public areas were very fresh & modern looking. There was plenty of room for the conferees to meet at.
Rate did not include breakfast but usually woke up too late so this was not a problem.
Fitness center machines were limited but thankfully there was only one other user during my times there.
Excellent South Bay option for our future trips !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well located off Sepulveda. Excellent breakfast cooked to order. We had a problem figuring out how to work it. Called the desk at 10:09 and help arrived quickly.
Rooms are spacious for the moderate price charged. Clean. We stayed two nights over Thanksgiving while visiting our children. And we shall return there as needed

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa, az
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in a king room facing the courtyard and pool for 7 nights. It was cleaned nicely by the hotel staff every day, there is a refrigerator in the room, the shower had plenty of hot water, bed was comfortable. Nothing really to complain about, it just didn't wow me like some other Courtyard properties have.
I did not eat in the hotel at all so cannot comment. I didn't use the pool or jacuzzi although I did notice that a lot of other hotel guest did use it.
I did use the laundry once, it is just a stacked washer dryer where the soap is added automatically when you push a button. It scared me a little that my clothes might get ruined, but they turned out fine. The washer and dryer did look a bit old and made quite a racket when it was spinning! There is just one unit, so you are out of luck if someone else decides to use the machine when you are planning to.
The hotel is not really within walking distance to any major restaurants, there were some things across the busy Sepulveda road, but I did not go in them. There is a Starbucks and quite a few other choices about a mile away on Creshaw.
So, that is it, nothing really to write home about, it was fine.
I found the front desk staff to be very courteous, but didn't really interact with them much other than checking in and out.

Room Tip: the rooms that face the pool are definitely nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYTORRANCE, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit in November last year. It has been a while since you've been here and I'm happy to tell you that we have recently completed a full hotel room renovation. Every room in the hotel was upgraded to showcase a fresh and modern look, complete with new couches, carpeting, beds, lighting, etc. In addition, we just installed a brand new washer/dryer set available 24 hours for our guests. Although we don't have many restaurants within walking distance, we have many many restaurants all within a short 5-7 minute drive and of course we have our wonderful BISTRO open every day for Breakfast and Dinner and Starbucks Coffee 24 hours a day.
I hope the next time you’re in town; you'll stay here at the Torrance Palos Verdes Courtyard where it's always a New Stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Have been visiting this courtyard for over 10 years when visiting family. It has a great location with everything a traveler would need but the rooms need refurbishing. The sofa in our room was broken down and dirty, none of the colors for the upholstery go together, the desk area/dresser need cleaning from all the oily fingerprints and the towels felt old and worn. Just felt grimy. They tout their newly refurbished lobby but really, who sleeps there? Delayed maintenance has caught up with them. I expect more from Courtyard.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your continued loyalty to our Courtyard Hotel. The hotel has had some great changes and improvements over the years and are continuoulsly working to improve our hotel facilities and amenities. As you noted the lobby was upgraded to the "Bistro" recently. I apologize for the issues that you mentioned in your letter regarding the condition of the linen and the cleanliness issues. I will ensure that our team is focused on these items that are not acceptable. Thanks again and please introduce yourself on your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a Friday while passing through on a drive up to Canada and felt it was a pretty average Courtyard with an updated lobby and courtyard area, but rooms still had the old Courtyard decor (still clean and comfortable).

Safe area and the service was nice -- having heard about Crenshaw Blvd from some 80's and 90's rap songs, this was in the nicer area and so there's no safety concerns.

Only major issue is the thinness of the windows in the rooms, we were on the top floor overlooking the courtyard / swimming pool and I'm not sure if the kids playing in the pool were just that loud and the water that hard, but it was as if we were right there next to the pool! Good acoustics from that perspective but not what you want if you're taking a nap after a long drive...

One restaurant recommendation: Gyu-Kaku. Short drive south from the hotel and they have an excellent happy hour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYTORRANCE, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I'm happy to tell you that our Hotel has recently completed a full room renovation. We've upgraded our rooms to display a sleek and modern look complete with new furniture, beds/bedding, lighting, etc. I hope the next time you pass through Torrance; you'll stay at the Torrance Palos Verdes Courtyard and experience our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes

Address: 2633 Sepulveda Boulevard, Torrance, CA 90505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes Hotel Torrance
Courtyard Torrance
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance
Torrance Courtyard
Torrance Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.