We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes to your Saves list
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2633 Sepulveda Boulevard, Torrance, CA 90505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Dingy room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Have been visiting this courtyard for over 10 years when visiting family. It has a great location with everything a traveler would need but the rooms need refurbishing. The sofa in our room was broken down and dirty, none of the colors for the upholstery go together, the desk area/dresser need cleaning from all the oily fingerprints and the towels felt old and worn. Just felt grimy. They tout their newly refurbished lobby but really, who sleeps there? Delayed maintenance has caught up with them. I expect more from Courtyard.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your continued loyalty to our Courtyard Hotel. The hotel has had some great changes and improvements over the years and are continuoulsly working to improve our hotel facilities and amenities. As you noted the lobby was upgraded to the "Bistro" recently. I apologize for the issues that you mentioned in your letter regarding the condition of the linen and the cleanliness issues. I will ensure that our team is focused on these items that are not acceptable. Thanks again and please introduce yourself on your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    46
    29
    4
    6
See reviews for
30
22
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a Friday while passing through on a drive up to Canada and felt it was a pretty average Courtyard with an updated lobby and courtyard area, but rooms still had the old Courtyard decor (still clean and comfortable).

Safe area and the service was nice -- having heard about Crenshaw Blvd from some 80's and 90's rap songs, this was in the nicer area and so there's no safety concerns.

Only major issue is the thinness of the windows in the rooms, we were on the top floor overlooking the courtyard / swimming pool and I'm not sure if the kids playing in the pool were just that loud and the water that hard, but it was as if we were right there next to the pool! Good acoustics from that perspective but not what you want if you're taking a nap after a long drive...

One restaurant recommendation: Gyu-Kaku. Short drive south from the hotel and they have an excellent happy hour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYTORRANCE, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I'm happy to tell you that our Hotel has recently completed a full room renovation. We've upgraded our rooms to display a sleek and modern look complete with new furniture, beds/bedding, lighting, etc. I hope the next time you pass through Torrance; you'll stay at the Torrance Palos Verdes Courtyard and experience our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable. However, the front desk service isn't as good, the man isn't approachable. Not only that, the most disappointing part is the food and beverage bar right across the front desk.

I ordered sausages and scrambled eggs on the 2nd week of April before we left for our 4-day Pacific Coast trip. After our trip on the weekend of that same week, we checked in again at Marriott Courtyard. My mom orders sausages and sunny side up eggs to go. She opened her box and saw she was given beef steak and scrambled eggs instead of what she ordered. My mom is a Buddhist so she doesn't eat beef. She went back to the bar to complain and the waitress said that the beef steak IS the sausage she ordered. We are not stupid, we know what sausages and beef steak look like. My mom just threw her food in the trash.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments regarding our Hotel rooms. I apologize for any lack of hospitality you may have had with our front desk staff. We are continuously working to improve our guest service. You mentioned the breakfast suasage that we serve in the Bistro. The appearance is similar to a small beef patty but is in fact a suasage patty. We do not serve the suasage links and we do not have beef patties at the hotel so we could not have served the wrong item. We may consider changing to a suasage patty in the future to prevent any confusion in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence Forge, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I was at this hotel for two days interviewing for our company. The staff was very accomodating and they had a great area for me to conduct the interviews.
Downside-the bathroom in the room was weird. Terrible shower, no pressure at all and to me not very clean. Otherwise the room was great.

The bathroom, not so much.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Definitely get a much better deal if you can book well in advance (2-3 weeks or more) if your travel plans are set that early. Nice little bistro in the lobby, which can come in handy.

Rooms are a little dated and the housekeeping staff doesn't do the most thorough job (stayed for 4 nights and my girlfriend's long hairs never moved from the tiled bathroom floor during the visit). TV was nice, ample parking, convenient location if your needs are for the Torrance or Redondo area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The hotel is very clean and very nice. The food is great. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've stayed at this Courtyard on several occasions since it is located just around the corner from my aunt and uncle's home. It is always clean and the service is usually friendly and helpful. We've had some difficulty getting a crib to the room in a timely manner, and they do not have sheets fitted for the pack'n'plays like some Courtyards do. However, overall, for a basic overnight, the stay at this Courtyard is generally great.

It is located very close by to King's Hawaiian restaurant which is great for breakfast and dinner. They have pastries/donuts and coffee available in their bakery display or a sit down breakfast, lunch or dinner for basic hawaiian fare. The hotel is also nearby to Del Amo mall and a movie theater.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes

Address: 2633 Sepulveda Boulevard, Torrance, CA 90505
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Torrance/Palos Verdes boasts a state-of-the-art lobby which provides greater choices with flexible spaces to work or relax in, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). A great place for breakfast or happy hour in Torrance, the hotel's modern lobby has The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) which serves healthy food and beverages in the morning, including Starbucks(R) coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy luxurious bedding in newly renovated guest rooms with balconies, 37" LCD HDTV's, mini-refrigerators and complimentary high-speed internet. The hotel also features two meeting rooms, self-service laundry facility, outdoor pool, fitness center and complimentary on-site parking. Located in Torrance California, we are conveniently located just blocks from Del Amo Fashion Center Mall and near the Long Beach Cruise Terminal, downtown Redondo Beach and the gorgeous LA views from the Palos Verdes cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes Hotel Torrance
Courtyard Torrance
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance
Torrance Marriott
Torrance Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.