We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2633 Sepulveda Boulevard, Torrance, CA 90505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast + WiFi
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Torrance
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clean and comfortable. However, the front desk service isn't as good, the man isn't approachable. Not only that, the most disappointing part is the food and beverage bar right across the front desk.

I ordered sausages and scrambled eggs on the 2nd week of April before we left for our 4-day Pacific Coast trip. After our trip on the weekend of that same week, we checked in again at Marriott Courtyard. My mom orders sausages and sunny side up eggs to go. She opened her box and saw she was given beef steak and scrambled eggs instead of what she ordered. My mom is a Buddhist so she doesn't eat beef. She went back to the bar to complain and the waitress said that the beef steak IS the sausage she ordered. We are not stupid, we know what sausages and beef steak look like. My mom just threw her food in the trash.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Z, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments regarding our Hotel rooms. I apologize for any lack of hospitality you may have had with our front desk staff. We are continuously working to improve our guest service. You mentioned the breakfast suasage that we serve in the Bistro. The appearance is similar to a small beef patty but is in fact a suasage patty. We do not serve the suasage links and we do not have beef patties at the hotel so we could not have served the wrong item. We may consider changing to a suasage patty in the future to prevent any confusion in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
14
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Providence Forge, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I was at this hotel for two days interviewing for our company. The staff was very accomodating and they had a great area for me to conduct the interviews.
Downside-the bathroom in the room was weird. Terrible shower, no pressure at all and to me not very clean. Otherwise the room was great.

The bathroom, not so much.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Definitely get a much better deal if you can book well in advance (2-3 weeks or more) if your travel plans are set that early. Nice little bistro in the lobby, which can come in handy.

Rooms are a little dated and the housekeeping staff doesn't do the most thorough job (stayed for 4 nights and my girlfriend's long hairs never moved from the tiled bathroom floor during the visit). TV was nice, ample parking, convenient location if your needs are for the Torrance or Redondo area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The hotel is very clean and very nice. The food is great. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've stayed at this Courtyard on several occasions since it is located just around the corner from my aunt and uncle's home. It is always clean and the service is usually friendly and helpful. We've had some difficulty getting a crib to the room in a timely manner, and they do not have sheets fitted for the pack'n'plays like some Courtyards do. However, overall, for a basic overnight, the stay at this Courtyard is generally great.

It is located very close by to King's Hawaiian restaurant which is great for breakfast and dinner. They have pastries/donuts and coffee available in their bakery display or a sit down breakfast, lunch or dinner for basic hawaiian fare. The hotel is also nearby to Del Amo mall and a movie theater.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Friendly valet, parking attendants and staff working to great people. Only one person worked the desk while checking in and had to wait unusually long. Watermelon infused water to refresh after a drive found in lobby. Room is always clean and is good size. Bathroom is slightly small. Needed internet for only few minutes yet hotel did not charge me for a free day usage. Nice smaller restaurant, coffee area and bar area with friendly staff and quick service. Gym has a good selection for a quick workout. Did not use pool, but it looked large -inside and outside areas. Close to shopping.

Room Tip: Do not have a room close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed there for my christams break. What I can say is it's a quite good one. It has everything you need. Location is quiet good not bad. The room is spacious. Bathroom is a bit small but it doesn't hurt for me. Parking is free of charge. Value is good not bad. The only thing is wifi is for charge which really hurts. Other than thak it's awesome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYTORRANCE, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over your Christmas break last year. Since you've been here, we have made some wonderful changes to our Hotel. We have fully renovated every room complete with new carpet, beds/bedding, wall vinyl, lighting, etc. I hope that during your break this year you consider staying with us again and experiencing our brand new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes

Address: 2633 Sepulveda Boulevard, Torrance, CA 90505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Torrance/Palos Verdes boasts a state-of-the-art lobby which provides greater choices with flexible spaces to work or relax in, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). A great place for breakfast or happy hour in Torrance, the hotel's modern lobby has The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) which serves healthy food and beverages in the morning, including Starbucks(R) coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy luxurious bedding in newly renovated guest rooms with balconies, 37" LCD HDTV's, mini-refrigerators and complimentary high-speed internet. The hotel also features two meeting rooms, self-service laundry facility, outdoor pool, fitness center and complimentary on-site parking. Located in Torrance California, we are conveniently located just blocks from Del Amo Fashion Center Mall and near the Long Beach Cruise Terminal, downtown Redondo Beach and the gorgeous LA views from the Palos Verdes cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes Hotel Torrance
Courtyard Torrance
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance
Torrance Courtyard
Torrance Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.