We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salty, Fun, Noisy Food, great Saki & Beer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gyu-Kaku - Torrance

Gyu-Kaku - Torrance
24631 Crenshaw Blvd, Torrance, CA 90505
(310) 325-1437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gyu-Kaku - Torrance is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 475 Restaurants in Torrance
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Lomita and Skypark
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Salty, Fun, Noisy Food, great Saki & Beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Gyu-Kaku is the type of place you go with friends to sit around a fire and cook your own food. It is not quiet. For my taste, the food was a bit too salty, but I don't cook with much salt, either. Prices were reasonable especially if you hit during happy hour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“We Won't Be Back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We will not be back. Absolutely horrible in every way except the service.
What has the new owner done to this place. It used to be a cute place we would frequent often but this time everything has changed.
Quality: poor. Pieces of meat were cut/mangled in various sizes with tiny pieces appearing on the plate with fat not even cut off. Tuna sashimi was not nicely cut as it was before and just slopped on the dish. Quality of tuna was not good.
Tuna volcano used to be awesome and now it wasn't. Something changed and we left one on the plate. That never happened before.
House salad was not tossed well and didn't have enough dressing. That salad used to be so good. The bowl size was also smaller and lettuce was different.
Quantity: less then before
Price: for happy hour it was previously priced at 50% off now it is "up to 50% off" which means really not many things you want to order will be half price if you desire to go to the happy hour.
Every wall is now covered with pieces of paper advertising something. The place now looks shabby.
Gone is the charcoal which was great. They said something about going green. Well after eating there, I felt a bit green around the gills.
Wow, what has been done so quickly to ruin this restaurant.
Keep it up and you will be on the television show Restaurant Impossible trying to figure out how to save the place.
In closing, quality is lacking, quanity is less, and pricing has risen which is a recipe for disaster. You have been chopped. Pack your knives.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Love the Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have been here many times. We enjoy that we can get in and out quickly since we can cook our own food. The service is always excellent and fast. The servers know what they are doing and can answer any question asked of them, even what is in the sauce of the various proteins served. I have even told the manager on several ocassions that "whatever you are doing is great because your staff is sharp, helpful and a joy to deal with". The tuna volcano is great as is the ahi poke and Gyu-Kaku salad. The rice (bimbimba) is out of this world.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“SERVICE IS HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I went here for with my family and had the worst time. I had a reservation for 5, but they couldn't seat us until an hour after the reservation time, and when they did finally seat us, it was at a table meant for 4, so we had to add a chair, blocking everyone's way. Nobody was apologetic (hostess was bordering on rude) and a response to move us somewhere else came so late (after we had ordered and the offer was to move to a table that a group was "finishing" at, so it would have been at least 20 minutes for them to "finish" up and pay their check and leave), it wasn't worth it. The food was fine, but the service I received at this gyu-kaku (and I've been to several) was horrible and why I will never go back or recommend it to any of my friends.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“OK so cheesy I know but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

OK so cheesy I know but 1 word-S'MORES!! Plus, meats have amazing marinades and flavored mojitos are yummmmmmy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyu-Kaku - Torrance also viewed

 

Been to Gyu-Kaku - Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gyu-Kaku - Torrance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.