We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly traditional Japanese meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gonpachi Torrance

Gonpachi Torrance
21381 South Western, Miyako Hybrid Hotel, Torrance, CA 90501
310 320 6700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gonpachi Torrance is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 474 Restaurants in Torrance
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carson
Marshfield Hills, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Mostly traditional Japanese meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food was great and the service was great. Many courses served the same as when I've visited Japan. Although in Japan my server was never named Igor. We had a fun business dinner at Gonpachi, but our host picked up the tab, so I can't comment on the value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Really good sushi, good breakfast as well. They do offer a Japanese breakfast though so it smells very strongly of fish in the morning!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oh, The Sake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

...and Oh, the service!

We sought a light meal, and were not upsold. We saw the sake, and got great recommendations. We recommend the sake sampler. The food was fabulous. We stayed for a couple late drinks and were never rushed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We had to skip the sake, but you don't have to!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Lunch at Gonpachi can draw a sizable crowd so you may want to make reservations. On our visit earlier this week we had a small group of four with much to talk about. The decor, the service and the food all converged in perfect harmony and our discussion resulted in a good game plan. After a nice self-created salad my perfectly prepared teriyaki salmon arrived. All of us had a wonderful meal and were ready for the challenge of the afternoon. We had to skip the sake .... not fair!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I ordered roomservice from the Gonpachi for breakfast both days I was there. I tried the Japanese breakfast which was excellent and then the pancakes which were not so good. I'm not sure what it was about the pancakes but they were not good at all. I couldn't even eat half of them. But the Japanese breakfast was really good and filling, it actually turned out to be a lot more to eat than I expected and well worth it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gonpachi Torrance also viewed

 
Torrance, CA
Torrance, CA
 

Been to Gonpachi Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gonpachi Torrance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.