We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service & Relaxing Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Save Saved
You added Miyako Hybrid Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Torrance
1 review
“Wonderful Service & Relaxing Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times (work travel). Everyone who works here, that I have come in contact with, are polite, professional, and friendly. The rooms are always clean; the beds are always comfortable; and the bathtub is heaven on Earth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Nietzsche98,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your loyalty. We are honored that you continue to choose Miyako Hybrid for your lodging needs and it is our privilege to serve you.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    56
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
58
30
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ELLSWORTH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This property is phenomenal. The rooms are large, modern and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and the dining is some of the best Japanese cuisine I have ever had. The bathrooms make this property unique. Each one has a very large walk in shower with tub, and toilet with bidet. A very large (60 inch?) flat screen television and plenty of amenities. I would recommend this property to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear mkpacman71,
Thank you so much for your feedback, and thank you for your recommendation! It is because of guests like you that we are able to keep an enthusiastic and energized team! We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and unique amenities and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at miyako hybrid hotel. Room was spacious, with a big, comfortable bed. I especially love the reading lights. The hospitality of the staff was also over the top.
Also, I enjoyed the bathroom very much. Super clean, spacious, giant soaker tub! And of course there is the bidet :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear ADJOKO,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your stay in the LA area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our service and amenities, it was a privilege to serve you! We are grateful for your comments and hope to see you return very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Everything about it is great. There is free wifi, charger for iphone. Its next to a supermarket and near a taco truck stand. There is also transport to LAX. The only 2 minor issue - the small parking lot in front of the hotel is often full. Half the time of our stay, we had to park across a small street (a bigger parking lot that belongs to the hotel). The other minor issue is that the air conditioning does not seem to run very well, the room is quite stuffy, so, we opened up the balcony door to get some crisp california air - which was quite nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear CAL_SING ,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid and were happy with our location and services.

I apologize for the 2 concerns that you had. Our complimentary parking lot across the street is approximately 200 feet from our entrance, and still very close and conveniant for our guests.
Due to our eco-friendly operations, we do not keep our AC units running on a permanant basis, therefore, upon checkin, the AC units are activated by your room key and take time to cool the room down. I am glad that a quick opening of the window was able to give you the cool down that you needed.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is my 2nd review of this Hotel and its just as nice as the first. The whole Hotel is very clean . From the Lobby to the Gift Shop to the Rooms everything looks great. Rooms also have a nice newer look to them. Also what really sticks out is how friendly and helpful everyone is. Overall , just a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Countrydude4444,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid. We have a great staff who are truely dedicated to creating memorable experiences to all our guests, from housekeeping and valet to bell and front desk. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

California was the 3rd city we visited in the U.S. (NYC, Las Vegas) before heading to Washington. I must say Miyako was a very good choice & I was pleasantly surprised by the detail in everything. Their lobby tastefully done, staff ever so polite & informative, rooms delightfully lit. Being a Japanese hotel, they had every detail done with a Japanese touch. Very chic indeed.

Miyako 'toilet' has been the topic at many of our gatherings ever since. The Japanese toilet seat came with a side panel at arm-level to control the bidet features (water pressure, water temperature) & seat temperature. This was a first for us. I even rushed around looking for a manual thinking there might be more features.

Location couldn't be any better. Miyako is located in the heart of Little Tokyo & the street is full of Japanese restaurants. My husband & I love Japanese food, we couldn't get enough of it. Each evening we'd rush back after sightseeing tours to indulge in at different restaurants.

Though some areas in California seemed a bit dodgy, the Miyako hotel area seemed quite safe to walk around in, even at late hours of the night.

The only downer was the fact that Miyako didn't offer much on the in-room dinning menu & no room service after 11pm. This was a minus for us as we traveled with our toddler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Amali R,
Thank you for your feedback. We are are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid. Our bathroom amenities are truely one of the most talked about features here and we are very happy that you enjoyed them as well. I will be sure to pass your room service menu comments on to our restaurant management team, we certainly appreciate the feedback.
We are honored that you chose to stay at Miyako as part of your US tour and hope that you will return very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miyako Hybrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Address: 21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyako Hybrid Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Miyako Hybrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyako Hybrid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.