We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above par” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Save Saved
You added Miyako Hybrid Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Torrance
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Above par”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

California was the 3rd city we visited in the U.S. (NYC, Las Vegas) before heading to Washington. I must say Miyako was a very good choice & I was pleasantly surprised by the detail in everything. Their lobby tastefully done, staff ever so polite & informative, rooms delightfully lit. Being a Japanese hotel, they had every detail done with a Japanese touch. Very chic indeed.

Miyako 'toilet' has been the topic at many of our gatherings ever since. The Japanese toilet seat came with a side panel at arm-level to control the bidet features (water pressure, water temperature) & seat temperature. This was a first for us. I even rushed around looking for a manual thinking there might be more features.

Location couldn't be any better. Miyako is located in the heart of Little Tokyo & the street is full of Japanese restaurants. My husband & I love Japanese food, we couldn't get enough of it. Each evening we'd rush back after sightseeing tours to indulge in at different restaurants.

Though some areas in California seemed a bit dodgy, the Miyako hotel area seemed quite safe to walk around in, even at late hours of the night.

The only downer was the fact that Miyako didn't offer much on the in-room dinning menu & no room service after 11pm. This was a minus for us as we traveled with our toddler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Amali R,
Thank you for your feedback. We are are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid. Our bathroom amenities are truely one of the most talked about features here and we are very happy that you enjoyed them as well. I will be sure to pass your room service menu comments on to our restaurant management team, we certainly appreciate the feedback.
We are honored that you chose to stay at Miyako as part of your US tour and hope that you will return very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    61
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
59
33
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Excellent staff!!
Bellhop was polite, helpful, efficient and very knowledgeable
The rooms, the bath room...oh joy!
Very clean as if brand new.
Got to experience the bathroom facilities.
So much thought and care
This chain should spread all over major cities in the USA.
I will spread the good news!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Jide A,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid. We truely have a fantastic team who are dedicated to creating memorable experiences for all of our guests. I am happy that you enjoyed our bathroom amenities, they are one of our most talked about features amongst our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My daughter and I had a quick spa trip and stay at Miyako on November 1st. It was her first stay and she loved the room, spa, and Gonpachi. The service was outstanding as always and the staff was extremely nice. My daughter flew in from Florida and we were able to check in around noon. The room was spotless and the beds were comfy. It is always a treat when we visit Miyako! We will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear iTinKso,
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako. Our spa is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend and we are so happy that you and your daughter chose Miyako and Relaken. The staff looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pre-arrival communications were execellent. Our stay here was a joy from start to finish. The staff were exemplary - polite, efficient and courteous. The room was spacious and wonderfully appointed. It was only a one nighter, but it was a great start to the holiday and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear redbeer560,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay at Miyako, even though it was only for one night.
Our staff truely are dedicated to creating memorable experiences for all our guests. We hope that you will return very soon and perhaps next time stay a little longer.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked his hotel as the last stop on a West Coast tour. The service was excellent from all the hotel staff. The room was perfectly appointed with little touches that would be appreciated by vacation and business travellers alike. Huge bathroom, warm bidet, comfortable king size bed at a very reasonable price. You cannot go wrong with hotel in this area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Wendell Y,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako and were satisfied with our amenities. We hope that you will return very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is in a location that does not match its luxury. It is in a very industrial area, but the amenities are abundant. The bathroom that I had included a heated toilet seat, a walk in shower and warm wood everywhere. The TV and sound system were amazing and the bed was very comfortable.

In order to turn the lights on, you need to insert your room key, meaning that when you left the room (with your key hopefully) all of the electronics would turn off. Very green.

The front desk staff greet you whenever you walk through the lobby and checking in is a breeze. I got the room via Expedia and it was a great price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guchiew,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid and that you liked our amenities. Our green initiatives are part of our everyday operation and culture here and our staff are truley dedicated to creating memorable experiences for all of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Miyako Hybrid Hotel is located in Torrence, CA where predominately Japanese firms have their North American operations. As the name implies, the hotel is Japanese style with mostly Japanese staff, Gonpachi restaurant and Raleken Spa. The hotel is ideal for business travelers and would be fine for leisure travelers who should know that the hotel is not a resort and not located within walking distance to ocean or a downtown area so a car is necessary.

A great value for your money, the hotel is very clean throughout. The rooms are very comfortable with balcony and Japanese style shower. The toilet is equipped with a bidet which is very easy to become accustomed to using. Mini-refregerator is a plus as is oversized TV.

Gonpachi restaurant serves good food which I would rate a 3 on a scale of 1 to 5. Servers are always very friendly as are rest of hotel staff.

Relaken Spa is ideal for weary travelers. Separate men's and women's hot water soaking pools and a common hot stone bedrock room for lying down and resting. The one hour massage I had was excellent with a therapist who was responsive to my request for extra pressure.

The hotel is eco-friendly and enforces a strict no smoking policy which includes no smoking on the balconies.

Free parking in two hotel lots and free wi-fi makes the Miyako Hotel an even better value.

I highly recommend Miyako Hotel for business travelers and liesure travelers with limitations noted above.

Room Tip: Suites and superior rooms are on the seventh floor with larger TVs and nicer showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Richard C,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako and that our amenities were appealing to you. It is great that you had the opportunity to visit Spa Relaken and Gonpachi and that you were well taken care of.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miyako Hybrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Address: 21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyako Hybrid Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Miyako Hybrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyako Hybrid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.