We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Continental Inn to your Saves list
The Continental Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26985 Highway One, Tomales, CA 94971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomales
A TripAdvisor Member
“Funky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2005

Avoid this place if possible. You can hear noise from the other rooms and loud rush hour road noise as well because some rooms are right on the main road. If someone drops a shoe upstairs it wakes you up downstairs. Very old funky furniture.

You are not told before you arrive that you are sharing one phone/computer line with all the other guests. My husband needed to call and email his office and he was not at all happy about this.

We did not have a pleasant visit and felt the staff could have been warmer.

Next time we plan to stay in Point Reyes.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

Tomales is a very small town - a general store, bakery, deli,church,restaurant, real estate office and this Inn.
So for a real getaway, this is the place! From the easy-going innkeeper to the serve-yourself tea and coffee setup, privacy reigns. We had a room with 2 windows (both opened), a corner fireplace and down bedding to sink into. There were DVD's and magazines available, plenty of reading lights and satellite TV. Midway through our trip, this was an ideal place to stop and rest. It also served as the perfect starting point for our wine country touring. Very, very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Integrity Oz
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2005

The is a stale dull little hole in the wall. Extremely noisy and not a great location or worth the money. The one near by restaurant is lacking as well.

The owner of the Inn lives in Sausalito and not only does she boss her guests around but she hogs the one shared phone line and then barks at the quests to get off the phone so she can use it when she has another phone line she can use in the office. Not a friendly environment at all but rather hostile.

I do believe the owner of the Inn who lives in Sausalito wrote her own review on this site and probably had a friend from Mill Valley write the other one. Whatever happened to integrity? Mill Valley is close enough to Tomales that if you lived in Mill Valley I doubt you would find a need to stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2004

The water smells like sulfur which would be okay if it was a hot springs but it is not. The location is on 2 busy noisy roads. After driving miles to get to the country I would rather stay in a quiet inn. If the traffic does not wake you up in the morning the loud staff and other guests will. The building needs more sound proofing. There is one shared phone line for 9 rooms so good luck trying to call out with out another guest rudely interrupting your call by getting on the phone line. The furniture is tread bare the look is Goodwill Industries not Pottery Barn. The flower theme and whole dated look gets old fast. It is frumby not quaint. In Marin and Sonoma there are far nicer places to stay that really are comfortable, quiet and quaint.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2004

Mark Twain may have said "the worst winter I ever spent was an August in San Francisco..." he obviously didn't get to the tiny town of Tomales just north of the city - and worth the very scenic drive. The Continental Inn, was just the romantic stop we were looking for (and so said fellow guests). Every room is decorated with taste and care, big comfortable bed's and wonderful antique furnishings. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Inn

Address: 26985 Highway One, Tomales, CA 94971
Location: United States > California > Tomales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Continental Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast is only on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.