We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing island topped off by amazing staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bounty Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bounty Island Resort to your Saves list
Bounty Island Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mamanuca Islands, Bounty Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bounty Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing island topped off by amazing staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Reading other reviews about 'bad staff' really disappoints me as my experience was the polar opposite!
The island itself, is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the dorm room which we had mostly to ourself, (me plus one friend). It was pretty clean considering we had seen much worse dorm rooms on our travels!
The staff were extremely welcoming, they all remembered our names and made an effort to chat to us at all times. They greeted us with a song and when we were checking in I told them I was vegetarian. They more than accommodated my needs and the food was lovely!
The main man that was looking after us on the island was called Sam. He was honestly the highlight of our trip, along with another younger guy called 'tsuee' (sorry for rubbish spelling, people called him stuwie too). They made us feel so welcome and entertained the whole time. By the end of our stay they were calling us over to do the welcome and farewell songs to people just arriving or leaving the island.
Was a very special few days and I will remember it forever!
Thank you bounty island!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    60
    35
    25
    24
See reviews for
24
102
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just completed a week stay on the fantastic resort that is 'bounty island'.
Where to start.... Firstly, we were collected from our ferry and taken straight to our island by boat by what could be described as the mosy hansom man in fiji! (white sunglasses)
Upon arrival we recived a traditional fiji welcome by 3 of the island staff singing on the beach. We were then checked in by the young happy man who works on reception daily who made sure we knew everything we needed to know about the island. From here we left for our room... Wow! A beautiful beach bure situated in a perfect spot right at the waters edge, What more could u ask for?
By dinner we were Equally impressed with the food variety and outstanding waiting staff who couldn't do enough for us. Not to mention the reasonably priced water and bar drinks available.
The fresh water pool and white sandy beach did not dissapoint, we spent hours soaking up the sun on the beautiful beach.
Lastly we must mention a few members of staff that really made this stay one to remember! Firstly a huge thank you to the manager rob for constantly ensuring that all our needs were met, from his welcome to his fairwell he never failed to please. An Asset to the island and made our overall stay.
Coconut joe, for both the daily activities and evening entertainment for never failing to make us smile!!
Lastly the fantastic service received from the lovely female assitant manager, what a truely nice lady!

Experience we will never forget! Highly recommend ALL!

Thankyou bounty island for the holiday of a life time... already planning our next visit!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montbeliard, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Bounty Island is a small and beautiful island (20-30 minutes to walk around). There is a swimming pool, a bar with a pool, table tennis (but the racquets are broken ...) and board games (we didn't try them). The beach is great and there is also an inflatable trampoline on the sea for good fun!
We had a cute garden bure, full of space, with a fridge, facilities to make tea and coffee and a nice bathroom with hot water. It was cleaned every day. Be aware the bures are really close to each other, so even a whisper is quite noisy.
The food is not very good : buffet for breakfast (cereals, breads, butter, jam, peanut butter, tea, coffee, milk and fruits) and lunch (2 or 3 salads, 2 meats or fish, 2 sides and fruits) and dinner is à la carte (choice between 2 dishes, no refill if you're still hungry... And a dessert).
The bad point goes to the staff : we had a cold welcome (no music, no smile, only a small introduction of the island: very disappointing when you just arrived to "paradise".), they barely talked to us during our stay (3 nights). No communication at all. We didn't know what was going on on the island. They were nice only to the day trip visitors and made activities for them only. This was really sad and disappointing.
So if you want to do nothing but relax and talk to nobody, Bounty Island is the place to go!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in Bounty Island for the last week of our 3 month travelling adventure through South East Asia, Australia and Fiji, and i can honestly say it was one of the best weeks of the trip.
Every single member of the staff is so nice and helpful from the moment they sing you off the boat to the moment they wave you goodbye.
The location is beautiful, but being that its Fiji, it was never going to be bad! We stayed in a beachfront bure which was idyliic and the view in the morning is unparralled.

The price is very reasonable considering what you get for you money, the food included in the meal plan is both delicious and plentiful.

Massive thankyou to Rob and all the staff for making our stay one i'm sure we will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bounty Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Bounty island was one of 3 islands we visited during our Fiji holiday and it is Fantastic , really amazing , the staff was wonderful welcoming , friendly and go out of their way to make your stay just perfect . They pride them self on the food and with reason you could pick up some weight if not for all the amazing activities such as snorkeling , kayaking and simply just walking around the island all day :)
The accommodation was just perfect , they have air cons every where , even the dorm rooms , this make for a really restful sleep ... I stayed in a bureau , the price was very reasonable since it included 3 meals a day and i would gladly go back for a visit.

After some stressful sleepless nights at other islands Bounty was just simply blissful and make my holiday just one of the best EVER :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had the best time, even though i stayed for the one night in a beachfront bure, i had an amazing time. The food is great. Great service and alot of activities to partake in. The manager of the place is a really nice guy so down to earth. Majority of the staff are nice and happy but others look like they hate their job. Especially the female bar staff whose always grumpy. Other then that awesome resort. Great job to the manager who runs the island

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here for a few days in 2010 after staying at octopus resort. Bounty was very small you could walk round the island easily. Staff friendly and food ok. We stayed in a beach front bure which from the outside looked like a garden shed. But inside had room for a double bed and bunk beds lol.
They would often get day visitors and it was nice chatting to different people each day, the evenings were quiet. The place to go if you want to get away from it all
Had use of the kayaks if you wanted to. I love they way they sang to you as you landed and when you leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bounty Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, Bounty Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Bounty Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bounty Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bounty Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bounty Island Resort 'Jewel of the Mamanucas' One of Fiji's most laid back islands and closest island resorts to the mainland, we are conveniently located 8nm from Denarau or Vuda Marina's in the Mamanuca Group of islands. A short road journey to either marina and a 25 minute boat ride is all that' required before reaching our tropical paradise. Alternatively helicopter transfers are available. The island offers 48 acres of untouched tropical gardens surrounded by golden sandy beaches, clear pristine waters and a marine reserve that provides spectacular snorkelling. We are also home to the largest semi submersible in the world, the 18m long Seaview, which resides off our shores year round providing a fantastic tour around the reef. Tropical WaterSports, our in house water sports provider, are also the only operators in Fiji with the new water sport 'Fly boarding'. Bounty Island Resort offers fantastic, affordable accommodation. Our resort is ideal for every traveller, setting the standard for the Fiji Islands in low cost accommodation guests can choose from a variety of room types from basic dormitories to private bures to suit any budget, all of these set in lush, tropical, landscaped gardens. Lay back, kick your shoes off and chill out at this truly relaxing natural island paradise. The magnificent views across the pristine South Pacific make this the ideal place to relax. The pool area is the popular meeting spot for guests and home to the 'Village Cruiser' bar where our talented bar staff can mix you up an Island cocktail or maybe just a cappuccino. Your stay comes with an island atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. At Bounty Island Resort there is so much to do. Snorkelling equipment is complimentary to our in-house guests and Tropical WaterSports also operate a PADI certified Dive Shop and as well as Scuba diving also offer Fishing, Kayaking, SUPing (Stand Up Paddleboards), Flyboarding, Guided Snorkelling and Water-skiing/Wake-Boarding. Bounty Island is also ideal for conference and other group tours. Our Chiefly 'Bure Kalou' can hold 200 guests theatre style and group/team building activities are our speciality. Of course catering is available and we have 6 covered, open sided bures on the beach where you can admire the views whilst being served your food. Enjoy a warm, friendly, personalized and affordable tropical island experience at Bounty Island Resort!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bounty Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Island Hotel Mamanuca Islands
Bounty Island Mamanuca Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bounty Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.