We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bounty Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bounty Island Resort to your Saves list
Bounty Island Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mamanuca Islands, Bounty Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY 5 PAY 4! BOOK NOW
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bounty Island
Sydney
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The Best Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Myself and two grandchildren (11 and 8) spent the day on the Island. The location is wonderful....away from the crowds. The beach is clear and blue. The children were taken snorkelling for the first time by Coconut Joe and they had a great time. Joe was fantastic with them. They also hopped into a canoe and David was on the board with one of the staff. Beats the computer! We had lunch, so fresh and all cooked beautifully. The change rooms are big and clean. There is also a fresh swimming pool. We all agreed that this was the highlight of our stay in Fiji and hope to come back for a longer stay in one of the cabins and get back to basic living.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    54
    31
    22
    20
See reviews for
21
90
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed in one of the beach front bure;s at bounty island during April this year at it was awesome,definatley the best part of the trip to Fiji.There are options for diving and glass bottom boat rides out from the resort but there is no need to bother as the snorkelling there was incredible just 20m out from your front porch&hammock. Snorkelling gear is available for hire $25 and you can have the flippers and mask for the length of your stay at the island.Happy hour at the bar was great each night aswell $3 beers you can't go wrong.The food was really good on the all you can eat buffet ,pay for your meal plan upfront and have 3 meals provided each day,this is really the only eating option on the island,if you need to save a bit of cash take your own water and soft drinks out from Denarau as these can bet a bit expensive out on the islands.We organized our pick-up and drop-off transfers with South Sea cruises $180 FGD it is really the easiest option when travelling out to the Mamanuca;s

Room Tip: Get the beachfront bure's 20 bucks dearer but the views each night are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My family and I visited Bounty Island for the day and it was, by far, the best experience we've had. From the warm, and crystal cold waters to the lovely food; it was an amazing and unforgettable experience all round!
The snorkelling and coral reef semi-submersible organised by "Sea View" was also an unforgettable experience!
If you visit Fiji, I definitely recommend checking this little island out!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

me and my friend went out to bounty for the day. It was the most amazing experience that we have had in Fiji so far and we really enjoyed it. We went snorkeling, paddling, went on the water trampoline and went jet skiing. We meet Slim Shady, who is a lovely man who was very helpful in organizing our activities. The Dive Booth staff were wonderful and helped us find some amazing snorkeling spots. We recommend Bounty to everyone coming to Fiji, it's a great island.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Bounty Island Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Bula Lizzy C,

Awesome to hear you had a great trip to Bounty!! Next time you'll need to come out and stay!

Vinaka,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was my best beach vacation ever. I loved the rustic feel of the island. I felt like I was really living island life! The staff was friendly and helpful! The island just a quick boatride away from Nadi. We were there at the end of February. I was told that during high season the ambience can change quite a bit to partying kids...but my sister and I (in our late 30s) and my 5-year old son had a wonderful time and met many wonderful people from around the world. I would love to go back one day.

Only complaint: Very hard to locate their phone number in order to arrange transportation to the island and the rooms could use a deep cleaning. Still, I wouldn't let the less than perfect rooms stop me from staying here. Loved it!!!!!!

Room Tip: I don't think they have bad rooms. The bures are all the same and line the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Bounty Island Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Bula Talchinsky,

Thanks for the feedback on the rooms and difficulty contacting the Resort! Our number is +679 776 3391 or mainland reservations during office hours of +679 666 0380.

We look forward to seeing you back in the near future!

Vinaka,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The island is beautiful. Perfect for snorkeling! The rooms are fine, they are not very big but comfortable. The food is ok but breakfast could have more options. The guest pays for all the water sports equipments that in order hotels are included in the daily rates.

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Bounty Island Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Bula AC_FERNANDES0805,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed the resort.

Our breakfast selection is a continental breakfast including island grown organic fruits, cereals, freshly made bread for toast, condiments and tea and coffee. We do have a full breakfast menu available.

Vinaka vakalevu,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

During our 6 night stay at bounty island we felt cheated as we were paying alot of money for the accommodation in the private bure and also 78 fijian dollars per person per day for "buffet food and drinks". However, bounty island doesnt provide drinking water. Their tap water that they attempted to serve us at meal time is filtered sea water so tasted like plain salt water and had small bits of seaweed in it. Not only does it taste horrible it upsets your stomach. We approached staff about this problem and you get told to go and buy bottled water from the bar. We then find out that the staff all have a tank of fresh water in their rooms so how are we supposed to drink this water if the staff obviously cant?! Apart from this, the food is okay just very repetitive and left overs from the meals before, rooms are right on the water and are clean and majority of the staff are lovely people as fijian people are. But the resort is run by an American man who is very shady and hangs around smoking and drinking non stop who pretended the water was only salty because of a storm the night before we arrived but it never got better and as it turns out the water has always been filted sea water at bounty island. Would have been a great experience if it wasnt for this water problem. Honestly goes along way! How hard can it be to give everyone free bottled water or have tank water for every one not just give it under the table to people who complain that is not fair for all of your other visitors. Fix this problem bounty and I can assure you, you would do alot better and be a very popular place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Bounty Island Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Bula jessrob123

My apologies for not responding earlier. Please accept our apologies for not attending to the salt water problem we encountered during your stay. I'm not sure how but as soon as the problem was identified bottled water was issued to all, I am not sure how you were missed in the distribution.

The islands water source is desalinated water and one of our membranes collapsed, this unfortunately was not detected immediately resulting in the water turning salty.

I have discussed your observations with our "American man". Please let us know if you should ever come back to Fiji as i am sure you will find Bounty to meet all of your expectations and more!

The team at Bounty have work diligently really making the place look fantastic and really increased the quality of the Resort as a whole.

Take care and vinaka,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bounty Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, Bounty Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Bounty Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bounty Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bounty Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bounty Island Resort 'Jewel of the Mamanucas' One of Fiji's most laid back islands and closest island resorts to the mainland, we are conveniently located 8nm from Denarau or Vuda Marina's in the Mamanuca Group of islands. A short road journey to either marina and a 25 minute boat ride is all that' required before reaching our tropical paradise. Alternatively helicopter transfers are available. The island offers 48 acres of untouched tropical gardens surrounded by golden sandy beaches, clear pristine waters and a marine reserve that provides spectacular snorkelling. We are also home to the largest semi submersible in the world, the 18m long Seaview, which resides off our shores year round providing a fantastic tour around the reef. Tropical WaterSports, our in house water sports provider, are also the only operators in Fiji with the new water sport 'Fly boarding'. Bounty Island Resort offers fantastic, affordable accommodation. Our resort is ideal for every traveller, setting the standard for the Fiji Islands in low cost accommodation guests can choose from a variety of room types from basic dormitories to private bures to suit any budget, all of these set in lush, tropical, landscaped gardens. Lay back, kick your shoes off and chill out at this truly relaxing natural island paradise. The magnificent views across the pristine South Pacific make this the ideal place to relax. The pool area is the popular meeting spot for guests and home to the 'Village Cruiser' bar where our talented bar staff can mix you up an Island cocktail or maybe just a cappuccino. Your stay comes with an island atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. At Bounty Island Resort there is so much to do. Snorkelling equipment is complimentary to our in-house guests and Tropical WaterSports also operate a PADI certified Dive Shop and as well as Scuba diving also offer Fishing, Kayaking, SUPing (Stand Up Paddleboards), Flyboarding, Guided Snorkelling and Water-skiing/Wake-Boarding. Bounty Island is also ideal for conference and other group tours. Our Chiefly 'Bure Kalou' can hold 200 guests theatre style and group/team building activities are our speciality. Of course catering is available and we have 6 covered, open sided bures on the beach where you can admire the views whilst being served your food. Enjoy a warm, friendly, personalized and affordable tropical island experience at Bounty Island Resort!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Bounty Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Island Hotel Mamanuca Islands
Bounty Island Mamanuca Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bounty Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.