We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely, in the budget range” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bounty Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bounty Island Resort to your Saves list
Bounty Island Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mamanuca Islands, Bounty Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bounty Island
Dunedin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely, in the budget range”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Bounty Island was an EXCELLENT first stop, or only destination, along the Fijian islands.

First off, it is a budget resort. Staying here won't break the bank. And all the meals are included, so it won't double the price like at the fancier places.

On top, the quality of the place was as nice as the fancier places! Beautiful beach-front bures. Nice bathrooms and showers. Tea, coffee, hot water jug, and fridge in each room. Hammocks all around.

Activities are awesome, too. Free use of snorkels and kayaks. A nice island to explore, and walk around. Very friendly and helpful staff. And a small dive shop, right on site!

Highly recommend this place for a couple days, minimum.

Room Tip: I recommend paying a bit more, for a private bure. Much nicer than the dorm-style accommodation (wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    63
    35
    25
    24
See reviews for
24
106
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very few other guests when I stayed and the staff were inviting and friendly. My bure was basic but right on the beach with a hammock outside. Gorgeous actually. Food was nice and the range of activities and service excellent. Because they were quiet I achieved one on one assistance to a hive my internationally recognised scuba diving certificate in one day...my instructor working with me in the pool until after dark then waking at 6am to take me out for my final exercises in the sea before I left at 9am for another resort. Lovely place. Not a party island (too few people) and not overly commercialised. Relaxing and very Fiji. They can be proud of this one!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front bure close to the main reception dining area if you don't fancy trekking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed on Bounty Island for 2 nights a couple of months ago. The island itself is not the best, if you want white beaches you need to get further north in the Yasawas. The beach is ok and there is some good snorkelling off the shore. What makes this place a worthwhile stop despite this is the food which was mountainous. I was never hungry during my stay here, which for me is a definate bonus. The staff are also amazing, especially 'Big Mamma', who sing for you every night after dinner.

As I said, if you're after postcard beaches and crystal blue water then go to Blue Lagoon, if you want a feed and some of the nicest local people in Fiji then why not have a night or 2 on Bounty?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Bounty Island was our first stop on our Awesome Adventures – Tropical Awegasm package and was a great way to start the trip. The journey over is a nice and short 30min ride so there isn’t much time between checking in at Denarau and arriving at the first stop.
We were taken from the Yasawa Flyer and picked up by Bounty’s boat and then greeted by some of the staff who were singing a welcome song, it was a nice extra although we did find out eventually that every island does this. We were given a briefing by Big Mama, who is really cool and someone from the dive shop (which offers some good diving and snorkelling trips as well as free rental of snorkel gear) and then shown to our Bure on the beach which was really nice. The Bure had a private bathroom and has a fan in the room.
I am writing this review after having finished our 6 island trip and can easily say that Bounty had some of the best food we had in the 12 days and some of the biggest portions albeit not the hottest food, plus it never looked like it was running out.
The bar is pretty big and has a cocktail and a beer happy hour ($4 cans) which came in very handy and alcohol in general is a decent price ($5 cans outside of H/H), especially compared to other islands.
You are unable to go out snorkelling during low tide as it is too dangerous so the swimming pool came in very handy at this time and is open 24hours a day.
It was also quite random time find out that the island was used to film Celebrity Love Island and when you do the 30min walk around the island, you will stumble across the skeleton of the diary room that was used in the show.
I’d say out of all the islands we visited Bounty is up there when it comes to best value for money as nothing they offer could really be said to be overpriced. It is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Don't come here expecting the common Fijian landscaped resort with room service and 4-5 star accommodation. Bounty's bures are humble little 2 star rooms with a couple of comfortable beds, fridge, cupboard, hot shower and toilet. There is no bath, wardrobe, desk, chair, TV or phone. Its a bit like Gilligan's Island. The bures are located within the natural trees and vegetation of the island. Nothing artificial here. But every bure has its own hammock out front tied to trees wherever possible. The sea water is only a few paces away. Sit or lie on the beach or under the trees in front of your bure and enjoy the peace and solitude. Three basic buffet meals are provided daily to keep your tummy full but nothing fancy. There is a poolside bar and lounge area where you can have a drink and meet tourists from all over the world. Note that Bounty Island is destiny to a couple of organized day trips from Denerau on some days due to its close proximity to the mainland. So you might have to put up with 20 to 30 more people on the island during the day but you will cope with this easily as most of them just hang around the pool and lounge area. All non-motorised water activities are free but you can only use these from mid to high tide. With just 21 bures and a small dorm there is never many people on this island so its easy to make friends and get close to the Fijian workers who you will find very friendly and helpful. They will even know your name by the second day of your stay. Dont stay more than 3 nights as there is not much to do here. Past dinner there is little evening entertainment other than the TV in the bar and lounge area. You might be lucky to have the Fijians sing 4 or 5 songs for you but that's about it. To make the most of it bring a case of beer and a few bottles of wine from Nadi and have a quiet drink in front of your bure watching the colours of the sky change and listening the the water wash up the sand at sunset.

Room Tip: The beach side bures are a better option for couples or those that prefer privacy. The dorms offer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The staff were very friendly!
Front office staff went out of their way to help with special requests.
I really enjoyed the post dinner singing each night.
I would have enjoyed more day-time activities as we were not allowed to snorkle when the tide was low.
The fresh water pool was a good option, but I would have enjoyed more options such as guided nature walks/coconut jewelry making/island history/etc.
Ocean view bures were a bit outdated and the aircon was pretty useless...
There was sand beneath our sheets in the bed.
The hamock infront of our bure was a favourite spot.
Great options for diving, tho best in the a.m.
Forest track was enjoyable; well maintained and shaded.

Room Tip: Some of the dorms don't have windows - get a bure. Water is drinkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Bounty is good top-end backpacker accomodation - it's nowhere near as expensive as a hotel, but offers some amenities (larger rooms, air-con, a pool and massive bar) that you won't find in many of the smaller (and slightly cheaper) backpacking places.

If you are after a "hotel" experience, you will be disappointed - Fiji is not a budget holiday location: you get what you pay for and the Bounty is very reasonably priced - but if you want somewhere with big clean rooms, plenty to do, really great food and decent staff, I'll happily recommend the Bounty. We brought a group of 10 friends there, and enjoyed plenty of snorkelling, kayaking and sunset cocktails. The best bit is that it's just 30 mins from Nadi, so you can have a full tropical vacation without needing to go hours out the island chain if you only have a short amount of time available to you.

The set menu usually offers two choices (plus vegetarian) for each meal - get there reasonably early to make sure they have your choice left. The food was good and plentiful, and after 2 days, no one in our group had any issues with tummy bugs etc. The beach is a lovely white sand one, with some good snorkelling out there, and the staff singing sessions were a highlight of the evening.

Room Tip: The beachfront bures open straight on to the ocean - if your idea of tropical paradise is waking up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bounty Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, Bounty Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Bounty Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bounty Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bounty Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bounty Island Resort 'Jewel of the Mamanucas' One of Fiji's most laid back islands and closest island resorts to the mainland, we are conveniently located 8nm from Denarau or Vuda Marina's in the Mamanuca Group of islands. A short road journey to either marina and a 25 minute boat ride is all that' required before reaching our tropical paradise. Alternatively helicopter transfers are available. The island offers 48 acres of untouched tropical gardens surrounded by golden sandy beaches, clear pristine waters and a marine reserve that provides spectacular snorkelling. We are also home to the largest semi submersible in the world, the 18m long Seaview, which resides off our shores year round providing a fantastic tour around the reef. Tropical WaterSports, our in house water sports provider, are also the only operators in Fiji with the new water sport 'Fly boarding'. Bounty Island Resort offers fantastic, affordable accommodation. Our resort is ideal for every traveller, setting the standard for the Fiji Islands in low cost accommodation guests can choose from a variety of room types from basic dormitories to private bures to suit any budget, all of these set in lush, tropical, landscaped gardens. Lay back, kick your shoes off and chill out at this truly relaxing natural island paradise. The magnificent views across the pristine South Pacific make this the ideal place to relax. The pool area is the popular meeting spot for guests and home to the 'Village Cruiser' bar where our talented bar staff can mix you up an Island cocktail or maybe just a cappuccino. Your stay comes with an island atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. At Bounty Island Resort there is so much to do. Snorkelling equipment is complimentary to our in-house guests and Tropical WaterSports also operate a PADI certified Dive Shop and as well as Scuba diving also offer Fishing, Kayaking, SUPing (Stand Up Paddleboards), Flyboarding, Guided Snorkelling and Water-skiing/Wake-Boarding. Bounty Island is also ideal for conference and other group tours. Our Chiefly 'Bure Kalou' can hold 200 guests theatre style and group/team building activities are our speciality. Of course catering is available and we have 6 covered, open sided bures on the beach where you can admire the views whilst being served your food. Enjoy a warm, friendly, personalized and affordable tropical island experience at Bounty Island Resort!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bounty Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Island Hotel Mamanuca Islands
Bounty Island Mamanuca Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bounty Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.