We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Tiburon

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Tiburon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Tiburon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1651 Tiburon Blvd., Tiburon, CA 94920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Tiburon
GreenLeadersSilver level
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I don't know what the negative reviewers are complaining about. I guess if you look hard enough you'll find things wrong. We had a great stay at the hotel and will definitely be back. Yes, the place is under construction but we never heard noise from the rooms being worked on. The staff was outstanding in all respects and couldn't have been friendlier or more concerned. When the guy on the floor above us constantly moved around like an elephant, they immediately moved us to another room. My wife was sick and staff found us the closest urgent care and printed directions. This was a big anniversary and they left us an excellent champagne in our room. The place is gorgeous, it's close to the ferries and the Golden Gate, room size is fine and most have been upgraded, and there were plenty of towels and toiletries for two, the rooms are comfortable. Next time we're in the area, we're back for sure.

Room Tip: I might ask for a third floor room next time, though the rooms over the lobby face out to a gorgeous...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Robinadam,

it is with pleasure to read about your latest experience at our hotel. We are pleased to see that our improvement plan is translating into better guests satisfaction reviews, and would like to thank you for contributing to that. Please do let us know if your travels bring you back to San Francisco or Bay area, and we look forward seeing you again.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    152
    61
    29
    16
See reviews for
102
203
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We pulled up, and we felt at home. The lobby was cheerful and warm, with complimentary apples and coffee, but as we neared our room the feeling went from warm to cold. We waited about 5 minutes for the elevator, and when we stepped off we were surprised by the dusty, construction area. The corridor was at a awkward and uncomfortable slant. The rooms decor was pretty with light blues and whites, but what a shame the materials used in the remodel were so poor quality. It wont be long before the newly remodeled rooms will look shabby (we already saw stained carpets and furniture). This could all have been overlooked if it weren't for the annoyance of PAPER THIN WALLS. Nothing prepared us to hear EVERY detail of the amorous exploits of the 2 couples on either side of us, plus the people running around upstairs. To be fair the desk clerk, upon checkout asked us how our night was, and we explained it. He apologized and took a % off the bill, which was nice. (We should have known when we saw the ear plugs in the room it was going to be noisy). The beds were comfy though.

More attention could have been directed at the room renovation instead of the restaurant and other public spaces.

Room Tip: Ask for a *floor three* room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear puddingjar2,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, and deeply apologize for the uncomfortable situation you were in during your last stay. As you commented, we are in the process of improving our property and guest rooms, and regret that this had a negative affect on your experience as well. Please do let me know if your travels bring you back to the Bay area, to show to you that we can do much better than your recent stay.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

To be fair, this hotel appears to be making a positive transition. The desk staff was friendly, professional and helpful in every way. We were in one of the remodeled rooms on the third floor. It was large, bright, and nicely decorated. Beds, pillows, and sheets were all high-quality and very, very comfortable. The hair dryer was also better than what one usually finds in hotels, as was the coffee machine. The lobby offered very nice coffee in the morning, and ice water in the afternoon. The public areas of the hotel provided ample comfortable seating many with fireplaces. And the location was great - within walking distance of shops, ferries, and walking paths in this charming and scenic area.

This is what needs to be improved:
Housekeeping supervision:
1. There were simply not enough soaps, towels, shower gel, etc. etc. for the two couples who were sharing this deluxe room - only four medium sized bath towels, three hand towels, one bar of soap, and one travel-sized tube of shower gel. We had to request additional supplies. There were only two wine glasses and no water glasses for the four of us. We've never been to a hotel that was so frugal with amenities like this.
2. On our first morning, the room was made up but wet towels were not replaced. Again, we had to request them.
In summary, we think that the head of housekeeping may need to train the staff better and provide more supervision. They also need to remember that such frugality with soap, shampoo, etc. may be a misplaced economy in terms of guest satisfaction.

Restaurant: We were told that they served breakfast until 10 a.m. We arrived at about 9:50 and were greeted by a woman who took out her cell phone, looked at the time, and told us that we were too late. If the restaurant is not serving after 9:30, that should be clearly stated. But to turn guests away when they arrive within the stated time is consummately rude. In general, the staff of the restaurant and bar gave us the impression that they were doing us a favor by serving us at all. We never went back, choosing instead to give our business to local establishments where we felt more welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Singingbridge,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your latest stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about your negative housekeeping and restaurant experience, and can assure you that these service issues have been addressed with my respective teams. If you feel that we deserve another chance to show you that we can do much better than the 3 stars you gave us, please do reach out to me directly, and I will personally take care of your reservation and needs.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
415 435 6895
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My family was in town and we booked two rooms 216 & 219 at The Lodge for three nights. I love it here and never miss the chance staying here when friends and family are in town. The staff are always welcoming and accomodating whenever I have a special request. The hotel was going thru a renovation but you never knew it. Our rooms were spacious and got a great pre-paid rate online. The location is perfect! I love the open space, the fireplaces and hot tub. I highly recommend staying here. A short drive to Corte Madera shopping center, Stitson Beach, Muir Woods and Sausalito.We loved taking the Ferry into the city a short distance away and seeing the shops in Tiberon. I will always stay here whenever I come to San Francisco.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 216 & 219. My Mother had requested a bath tub as most rooms just have a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear sactrav66,

It is a true pleasure reading your 5 star review here on TripAdvisor! We are truly pleased that you have embraced our hotel as a great place to be with family and friends, as well as the recognition of our staff efforts to make you feel special. Please do look us up again when the next opportunity comes up to spend time in Tiburon.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here 2 days last week and loved it! The rooms were nicely decorated and cozy. Beautiful view of the homes on the hill. Shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and shower gel provided, as well as an ironing board, good sized closet. The ice machine is on the second floor, so if you don't feel like walking up or down a floor, they will deliver a bucket of ice to your room for no fee. Tiburon is a charming town and if you have a chance be sure to walk down to the water and see the beautiful views of the City and the Bay.

Room Tip: Try the beef sliders at the restaurant downstairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at the Lodge a few years ago and lot of things have changed for the better. Staff is still and always been very nice and always friendly from desk/check in person to bartenders to service staff overall. Asked for a 3rd floor room (renovated = deluxe) for the view facing north to hills (and they accomodated nicely and kindly). The bar/restaurant has changed alot for the better w/ new staff/management and servers (lot hired recently in past weeks). Great stop at nite by the outside patio of the restaurant with firepit (for visitors and Locals of tiburon). There was a Great band at night, but they ended early 10pm but went to the other fireplace by the pool or sundeck to hang out after (with wine). Newly renovated rooms are nice, quality amenities. Only problem was the hot water took about 20min to warm up but eventually did. Quaint pool heated and jacuzzi. Ate breakfast there, food was good. Bar menu is extensive (wine, mixed drinks and beer w/ a lot of local brewery offerings) Overall hotel is reflective of tiburon, "quaint and charming" would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for Deluxe which means renovated.. Ask for 3rd floor facing north to hills (overlooking sundeck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Saradelmar,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback in regards to your last stay with us. It is great to see our loyal returning guests recognizing the efforts that we have been making to improve The Lodge. Our restaurant has indeed become quite the destination, and our new room designs have received great reviews as well. Again, thank you for the time spent on letting us know your experience and we do look forward having you back at The Lodge.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

On booking in ridiculously allocated a room right next door to major building works could not cope with the noise so asked for a room change immediately & asked Receptionist why he gave us a room next to major renovations & he said well someone has to stay there! We were moved but we still heard the noise from approximately 08:00hrs-18:00hrs each day and there was dust all over the place. I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear travelexpert 186338,

Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor, and I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. As our renovation project is excluding our public spaces, but is mainly focused on our guest room interiors, we regret that this has still affected your stay. Although I am very proud of my staff and their efforts to provide excellent service, I will address the response that was given to you upon your room location inquiry.
If there is a chance that you consider giving us a second chance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Tiburon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tiburon

Address: 1651 Tiburon Blvd., Tiburon, CA 94920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tiburon 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Nestled. Across the spectacular San Francisco Bay, The Lodge at Tiburon is an easy, sublime escape from the noise of the city. Only steps away from the Bay docks, the hotel provides a quaint retreat nestled among the cafes, boutiques and galleries of Tiburon and is adorned with relaxing décor and an inviting ambiance. The Lodge at Tiburon offers quintessential Northern California living at its best, striving to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from the complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program, including the I-pad wall. Gilchrist and Soames bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The on-property restaurant, Tiburon Tavern, serves a delicious selection of locally farmed elevated comfort cuisine. With two outdoor patios and two indoor fireplaces, Tiburon Tavern is the ideal place to relax and enjoy an evening with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Tiburon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tiburon Hotel Tiburon
Larkspur Collection Tiburon
Hotel Tiburon Larkspur Collection
Tiburon Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Tiburon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.