We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Tiburon

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Tiburon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Tiburon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1651 Tiburon Blvd., Tiburon, CA 94920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Tiburon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tiburon, California
2 reviews
“Worthwhile Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was a stay that will go down as a definite favorite. The staff was fabulous, and are the reason I decided on this gift to myself. The last room available (as I booked my last minute getaway at 5pm on a Saturday) was a "spa room." I was a bit skeptical about taking it because of the extra cost, but boy am I happy I did! The tub was huge, surrounded with stone and very luxurious. I created a mini spa treatment for myself that was splended. By night I roasted marshmallows at the outdoor fireplace on the second floor, and by day enjoyed the same location for reading in the sun. Centrally located in beautiful Tiburon, I walked everywhere. So relaxing and so close to the water! The only thing I wish is that breakfast came with the room. But the Boathouse for breakfast was close by and so delicious! Overall, two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Bring candles, bath salts and a little bubbly for some extra fun! Oh and there's a fridge too fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    156
    61
    29
    18
See reviews for
104
205
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I went for a weekend away from our young children for some much needed R&R. The hotel was nice and our room was clean. However, when we checked in we were informed parts of the hotel were under construction and when we got to our room found complimentary ear plugs. We were out most of the day so it wasn't a huge issue, even though the sawing was right below us. My issue is that I would have preferred some kind of notification ahead of our arrival to have the option of changing hotels. If we had had our families with us (kids needing naps) it would have been a major problem!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear LFerr1,

Thank you very much for the review here on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate your feedback. My apologies if the renovation activities have inconvenienced your stay. The areas that we are renovating are reasonably isolated from our guest rooms that are in use, but I do apologize if this still affected your stay with us. Please do reach out to me directly if you are looking to return to The Lodge for another stay, and I am more than happy to make arrangements for you personally.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Lodge continues to upgrade both the property and the experience. Our latest stay brought us to Tiburon for business and pleasure and once again proved to be an excellent choice for visits in the city as well as the North Bay. Walking distance to the Ferry gets you to the city in an unhurried fashion, avoiding the traffic and parking...right into the Ferry Building and all things SF!

Our room was well appointed, spacious, clean and a very comfy bed. We also had an in-room jacuzzi, perfect for relaxing in private after a day of urban hiking (walking meeting to meeting!!).

The heated pool was a welcome respite from the cool mornings and post-jog along Richardson bay.

Combine this with a very friendly and helpful staff, relaxing lounge area and a great indoor/outdoor bar/dining area and it makes for a near perfect stay.

Rates vary, so keep an eye out on deals!

Room Tip: Choose upper rooms off the street for the ultimate in quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
444 helpful votes 444 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Here for family event. Check-in had one desk person, ant took a half an hour. First room had closet in bathroom and musty smell. Then front desk discovered a larger room with jacuzzi. Okay until 7:30 a.m. When two women were heard in loud conversation. This turned out to be voices from the hot tub in the pool area. Their voices continued for a long time. A well run hotel would not have let this go on.i am sure many guests were disturbed by these voices.this motel is a hodge-podgeof rooms that do not exude a lodge luxury feel. Our king size bed was great, and our robes were appreciated, but restaurant was also poorly run with a long wait for service.

Room Tip: Ask,ask,ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear golem67,

We truly appreciate you taking the time and efforts to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us, and would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while at The Lodge. We are upgrading our guest rooms at this time to be on par with your expectations, and have invested also in pool upgrades as well as a new restaurant concept. Please do let us know if we have the chance to re-gain your trust and show you our renovated guest rooms.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We always start or end our Californian road trip here as it is convenient for the airport, given that we have a rental car. We have stayed here several times, preferring this hotel and location to Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco, both of which we have stayed in the past. However, we were slightly concerned prior to our recent visit to note that that the lodge had changed hands and other reviews mentioned construction taking place. We need not have worried and we had a wonderful stay. As always, the rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the staff very obliging. We did not use the lodge restaurant for either breakfast or dinner although the menu looked very acceptable. There are so many other good restaurants to eat in Tiburon which we wanted to try. We prefer Tiburon as a location to stay in because it is more quiet than San Francisco and we use the ferry to get across the bay to the city. It is often less/not foggy here too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The room was clean and the location was good (very close to nice restaurants, cafés and the port), but let's face it, it's a motel. And breakfast isn't even included. No major complaints, it was just underwhelming in general.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Stanford E,

We truly appreciate your response on TripAdvisor, and your recognition of our room cleanliness, although we are disappointed that you were underwhelmed with the experience. Please accept my apologies on this. Although we are not selling our standard rates with breakfats included, we are working on a breakfast package that might meet your needs in the future. Please visit us at www.lodgeattiburon.com for more updates.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at our hotel sometime in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Lodge is located so that you can easily walk to restaurants and shopping. The room was kinda cool, we had vaulted ceilings and a king room. The bath was just a bath, nothing special.

There is no bellman here to help you get your luggage to your room so I recommend you pack light.

There is a restaurant on site, although we did not eat there so I cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Debbie R,

Thank you very much for the feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at The Lodge at Tiburon. My apologies if you felt that our employees were not present to assist you with your luggage, since we do have staff on site to assist you with this. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our spacious 3rd floor rooms with the vaulted ceilings, and do hope that you will return to our property to enjoy your next visit in Tiburon or Marin County.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Tiburon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tiburon

Address: 1651 Tiburon Blvd., Tiburon, CA 94920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tiburon 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Nestled. Across the spectacular San Francisco Bay, The Lodge at Tiburon is an easy, sublime escape from the noise of the city. Only steps away from the Bay docks, the hotel provides a quaint retreat nestled among the cafes, boutiques and galleries of Tiburon and is adorned with relaxing décor and an inviting ambiance. The Lodge at Tiburon offers quintessential Northern California living at its best, striving to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from the complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program, including the I-pad wall. Gilchrist and Soames bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The on-property restaurant, Tiburon Tavern, serves a delicious selection of locally farmed elevated comfort cuisine. With two outdoor patios and two indoor fireplaces, Tiburon Tavern is the ideal place to relax and enjoy an evening with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TIG Global, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Tiburon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tiburon Hotel Tiburon
Larkspur Collection Tiburon
Hotel Tiburon Larkspur Collection
Tiburon Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Tiburon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.