We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront, relaxing, & comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Hotel to your Saves list
Waters Edge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Main Street, Tiburon, CA 94920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Waterfront, relaxing, & comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here after getting the hotel for a great price off a hotels.com. We were extremely pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderful boutique hotel! The staff is attentive and there are nice "extras" such as the wine and cheese every day at 5pm. Our room was very nice albeit not extravagant. We had a beautiful view of the harbor with our own private balcony. Tiburon itself is very nice and a cute town to stay in to experience Northern California, and we felt that Waters Edge Hotel was perfectly located to do just that. We had some nice meals in town and were also able to drive easily to the Redwoods, Golden Gate, beaches, etc. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    71
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
176
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I were in need of a very relaxing weekend and were also attending a wedding in Tiburon. We came to the Bay Area often but tend to stay in San Francisco. This time we opted for Marin county and chose The Water's Edge after reading reviews of several hotels. The hotel is really well located in the very small down town Tiburon and absolutely lovely.
On arrival we were greeted by Umar at the front desk who was exceptionally friendly, helped us with our luggage and even brought a small fridge to our room. We were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a room on the second floor with a small view although having a huge deck just up the hallway makes the room view unnecessary since the deck has the most glorious view.
The room we stayed in ( room 211) was not huge but very comfortable. The bed was heavenly , there was a small desk, dresser with drawers and a closet large enough for our clothing. The room also has a fireplace which we did not use.
The bathroom has lots of towels and nice amenities although I could have used more space in the vanity for all my toiletries but I do bring lots of things.
Having outlets more accessible would have been a plus, we had to crawl under the desk to plug our charges. This is a problem with older hotels and my hope is that as they update their rooms more outlets will be configured in the space.
Breakfast is complementary and brought on a tray to the room every morning, it is a continental breakfast with a few nice choices like oatmeal, granola or toasted bagels.
The ferry to San Francisco is literally downstairs and it is a much easier way to get to the city then driving.
There is a huge parking lot just up the street for $15 a day through the hotel which is way less then you would pay m the city.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We purchased our stay here through a Hotwire deal for $140/night. The room was HUGE and beautiful and the deck is indeed fantastic, with views out onto San Francisco. Super comfy bed and Tiburon itself is a lovely town. The only hesitation I have in recommending this hotel is that our room was very noisy. Starting at around 7:30 in the morning, we heard something constantly rolling underneath us (probably cars going into a garage?) and lots of kids coming to school. The noise from the rolling was so loud that it shook the room. And, during the day, we could hear everything going on outside the window. For $140, I still thought it was a good deal but I wouldn't want to pay rack rates to stay in that room.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We found the best kept secret. Right on the bay directly across from San Fran, this great little spot is on the quiet Tiburon Main Street , easily accessible to a couple great restaurants and shops. Well worth a few extra minute drive from the hullabaloo of San Fran metro. Great wine and cheese happy hour!! Comfy room.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great hotel ! The attention was superb. Martin, Rebeca, Michael and the entire staff are always ready to help you and make your stay super comfortable
Incredible location, great place to relax and be in the outdoors

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms due to the length of our stay Room with a King size bed, room 105 la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

There's no restaurant or room service here, nor a fridge in the room: but what there is is an amazing roof deck with views of the pacific, charming eager to please staff - who got us all the complimentary wine we could drink on said roof deck - and lovely touches like the wine and cheese happy hour and complimentary bikes to tour this absurdly bucolic and beautiful little town. Kudos to Sunny the night manager who was particularly helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was our 3rd time staying at the Water’s Edge Hotel in Tiburon and, WOW!! If you like being right on the water than stay in room #221. This is the last room before you step onto the Hotel Back Deck where cozy couches, chairs, tables, umbrellas, fire-pit, seagulls, sailboats and VIEWS await you! In the distance you can see Angel Island and San Francisco. Make sure you ask for "Mike D.". From the time we arrived until the time we left, Mike was always right there to either poor us more wine or find some wonderful way to make us feel like honored guests in his private home! Happy Hour is delivered with the full array of cheeses, wine, and more! Continental Breakfast is your choice of many items and delivered to your room. Iced water with lemon is ALWAYS ready and available on each floor. Rooms are lovely...and the best part is the famous SAM'S HARBOR CAFE is right next door. Boats come in all day long to anchor and allow all aboard to enjoy the delicious food and libations! And lastly, this Beautiful, Boutique Hotel sits right in the heart of Main Street, Tiburon. Great shopping, Movie Theater, and restaurants abound. HAVE FUN!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back near the water have fabulous views. I like Room #221
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: 25 Main Street, Tiburon, CA 94920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.