We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What I Needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Hotel to your Saves list
Waters Edge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Main Street, Tiburon, CA 94920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just What I Needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I first learned about this hotel from a SniqueAway email. I am writing a screenplay about a hotel on water and when I saw the Waters Edge, I thought, "This is my hotel." But it was out of my limited price range, and I didn't bite. Then I had a really stressful two weeks, and I decided that on my next trip to the Bay Area, I would stay there. I booked a room for one night and looked forward to the trip all week long. It sustained me -- which is not a good thing for a new place. When you build things up so much in your mind, it is easy for them to disappoint.

My son and I got to the hotel at 3:30 on Saturday and were greeted by a nice, really accommodating young man. We went up to the room and were impressed by the bowl of apples and ice water at the top of the stairs. The room was small but perfectly laid out, and the bed was heaven. The balcony was little and looked out on the ferry dock, but it allowed a view of the City, and I didn't even know there was a balcony, so I was happy.

The deck on the second floor commands a great view of the city, the marina, and the hillside multimillion-dollar homes. There are fire pits with glass that are even pretty unlit during the day.

I did not remotely experience the noise that another reviewer mentioned. We were on the ferry side, and I can see how the Sam's side might get noisy, but it's like people who buy a house by a high school. What did you think was going to happen?

So, I am definitely going back, I am completely pleased with the experience, and if I actually finish this script, it is because I was so inspired by Waters Edge Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Sam's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    71
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
176
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

An outstanding place to stay. With complimentary wine and cheese at 5 PM it is a great way to unwind after a short trip from Sonoma or a ferry trip back from San Francisco. Views from the back deck of SF, boats in the Marina and the Golden Gate were truly relaxing with a glass of wine soaking up the sun. Lots of shopping and restaurants within easy walking distance. We stayed here on our last night and it was one of the highlights of our trip

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Came here during fall break on a mother/daughter trip. Our first visit to San Francisco area. We both LOVED it! The hotel is very clean, staff very helpful. The rooms are large and the beds are so comfortable we woke refreshed everyday. Breakfasts delivered every morning. The drive to SF was easy-or we took the ferry across the bay-much to do-wished we had more time.
Definitely would return and stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for just two nights but I could have stayed much longer. Very large and comfortable rooms with fireplaces and they serve you breakfast in your room. The location is outstanding - on a pier overlooking the bay with views of the marina, the Golden Gate Bridge, Angel Island, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Skyline! They also have a nice deck with a firepit you can sit out during the day or night. They serve wine and cheese in late afternoon. This is a great place for a romantic get away!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Midweek at this time of year is a perfect getaway to the Waters Edge Hotel. Quiet, crystal clear evenings, spectacular views from the large rear deck. Easy walking distance to nearby restaurants. Lots of pluses: comfortable room with Dux bed, friendly workers, good wine and cheese between 5 & 6pm, plenty of food for breakfast, great location.
Our room 212 overlooked Sam's Cafe and boat harbor, might be noisy at other time of year but for our two-night stay was totally quiet. We LOVED sitting out on the back deck with gas firepit watching the sparkling lights of SF, watching pelicans dive for fish right in front of us. In the morning, we carried our breakfast tray to the deck, sat and ate and relished being in this glorious part of the world.

Room Tip: Request an even-numbered room on the second floor. The best 2 rooms are at the end, overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

From maids to breakfast deliverer, to front desk personnel, everyone was friendly (not forced). Front desk personnel didn't even roll their eyes at my dry sense of humor and quips, unlike my family and friends. Room had view of marina with small balcony. Bed was very comfortable and the size of a small battleship, situated in front of a fireplace. Large outside deck had comfortable chairs, loveseats and tables with 'fire pit'. Great view of Richardson Bay, Angel Island and San Francisco.The deluxe continental breakfast was just that. Many choices to suit almost every taste (meat and potatoe lovers can walk to several cafes in the area) and more than enough food to keep you going during your morning or even afternoon travels! Did I mention Peet's coffee available most of the morning? Wine, cheese and crackers 5-6 p.m. Could suggest management consider some soft drinks.Most everything within easy walking distance or take one of their FREE bicycles to go further. If you haven't had enough exercise sightseeing, you can visit a fully equipped gym ~2 blocks away, again included in the price of your stay. Ferry to SF and Angel Island next door. Small and cozy. We will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After spending one very relaxing night here I was about to leave suitcase in hand ,just about to walk out the door when I turned around and asked for another night and stayed . the staff was excellent , friendly , and the room was cozy, fantastic beds, nice fireplace, loved the breakfast .. but the best , the best thing about this hotel is the view on the deck! Even though it was a cloudy day I couldn't get enough of it.. just fantastic, watching the place wake up , hearing the birds and the city skyline .... fantastic! Tiburon midweek is so quiet. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: rooms on west side may have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: 25 Main Street, Tiburon, CA 94920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.