We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing change from large-chain hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waters Edge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Main Street, Tiburon, CA 94920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Tiburon
Munster, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Refreshing change from large-chain hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Came here during fall break on a mother/daughter trip. Our first visit to San Francisco area. We both LOVED it! The hotel is very clean, staff very helpful. The rooms are large and the beds are so comfortable we woke refreshed everyday. Breakfasts delivered every morning. The drive to SF was easy-or we took the ferry across the bay-much to do-wished we had more time.
Definitely would return and stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    68
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
169
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for just two nights but I could have stayed much longer. Very large and comfortable rooms with fireplaces and they serve you breakfast in your room. The location is outstanding - on a pier overlooking the bay with views of the marina, the Golden Gate Bridge, Angel Island, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Skyline! They also have a nice deck with a firepit you can sit out during the day or night. They serve wine and cheese in late afternoon. This is a great place for a romantic get away!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Midweek at this time of year is a perfect getaway to the Waters Edge Hotel. Quiet, crystal clear evenings, spectacular views from the large rear deck. Easy walking distance to nearby restaurants. Lots of pluses: comfortable room with Dux bed, friendly workers, good wine and cheese between 5 & 6pm, plenty of food for breakfast, great location.
Our room 212 overlooked Sam's Cafe and boat harbor, might be noisy at other time of year but for our two-night stay was totally quiet. We LOVED sitting out on the back deck with gas firepit watching the sparkling lights of SF, watching pelicans dive for fish right in front of us. In the morning, we carried our breakfast tray to the deck, sat and ate and relished being in this glorious part of the world.

Room Tip: Request an even-numbered room on the second floor. The best 2 rooms are at the end, overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

From maids to breakfast deliverer, to front desk personnel, everyone was friendly (not forced). Front desk personnel didn't even roll their eyes at my dry sense of humor and quips, unlike my family and friends. Room had view of marina with small balcony. Bed was very comfortable and the size of a small battleship, situated in front of a fireplace. Large outside deck had comfortable chairs, loveseats and tables with 'fire pit'. Great view of Richardson Bay, Angel Island and San Francisco.The deluxe continental breakfast was just that. Many choices to suit almost every taste (meat and potatoe lovers can walk to several cafes in the area) and more than enough food to keep you going during your morning or even afternoon travels! Did I mention Peet's coffee available most of the morning? Wine, cheese and crackers 5-6 p.m. Could suggest management consider some soft drinks.Most everything within easy walking distance or take one of their FREE bicycles to go further. If you haven't had enough exercise sightseeing, you can visit a fully equipped gym ~2 blocks away, again included in the price of your stay. Ferry to SF and Angel Island next door. Small and cozy. We will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After spending one very relaxing night here I was about to leave suitcase in hand ,just about to walk out the door when I turned around and asked for another night and stayed . the staff was excellent , friendly , and the room was cozy, fantastic beds, nice fireplace, loved the breakfast .. but the best , the best thing about this hotel is the view on the deck! Even though it was a cloudy day I couldn't get enough of it.. just fantastic, watching the place wake up , hearing the birds and the city skyline .... fantastic! Tiburon midweek is so quiet. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: rooms on west side may have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a beautiful small hotel in a beautiful setting in one of the iconic small towns of Marin County. The hotel is aptly-named, situated right on the San Francisco Bay with a lovely view of the San Francisco skyline about five miles away as the crow flies. Each room has a gas-fired fireplace with wood beam ceilings and quiet, understated service.

We particularly enjoyed walking around the little town of Tiburon. I would also highly recommend dinner at The Caprice restaurant, which is about a half mile walk away or a very short drive.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on the south side of the hotel, facing the San Francisco Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I just spent five relaxing days here. Would DEFINITELY return. Location fabulous for touring Marin County (Tiburon, Mill Valley, and Sausalito, Muir Woods, beaches, etc), Angel Island, and San Francisco (ferries to both run right alongside the hotel). And the rear deck overlooking SF Bay is a lovely spot for breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening. Excellent service from the charming young staff. Immaculately clean. Ample breakfast. Parking lot just down the street -- a minor inconvenience in an area known for good weather.

Note: Because of the outstanding views, room location is important here, so ask for a room on the second floor, as near the rear deck as possible.

A few minor tweeks would make this the five-star hotel it should be: Lighting alongside the beds is poor, so reading is difficult, especially at night. Similarly, the in-room clocks are impossible to read in the dark. (What were they thinking?) The decor is quite elegant but has some minor scuffing and should be upgraded soon. Finally, there is the question of where to eat the excellent breakfast provided: On a fine day, the main deck is lovely, but when it's foggy or chilly, there should be a small table in the rooms for this purpose. Or a cart could be rolled in. Or part of the main floor could be converted to a breakfast room. There are several good options, but the current system is uncomfortable for anyone over 30 years of age.

All in all, though, it's a great little place and represents good value for travelers hoping to get better acquainted with this lovely corner of the US.

Room Tip: Because of the outstanding views, room location is important here, so ask for a room on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: 25 Main Street, Tiburon, CA 94920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.