We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Time in Tiburon at Water's Edge Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Hotel to your Saves list
Waters Edge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Main Street, Tiburon, CA 94920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Woodbridge, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Time in Tiburon at Water's Edge Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My girlfriend decided to suprise me with a trip to Tiburon. We both love the San Francisco bay area, but wanted someplace quiet and quaint. We weren't disappointed.

We arrived at the Hotel on Sun Feb 26th 2012 on a beautiful and unusually sunny / warm day. We parked at the end of main street (its about 100 yards long) and walked to the hotel (we have rolling luggage). We checked in at the lobby (early) and were told our room wasn't ready so we checked our luggage and went to look around. We came back to inquire about using one of the hotel's four mountain bikes, and were told our room was ready early ... so we went up. The room was charming, overlooking the restaurant to the west of the hotel. It was fairly crowded, but the room was quiet (due to dual pane windows and solid construction). We thought it might be noisy, but it never was. There was a small common patio that overlooked the harbor, restaurant, and has a partial view of the SF Skyline.

We changed then went down stairs to borrow the hotel's mountain bikes and proceeded to ride the bike trail for several hours - stopping for lunch on the lawn overlooking San Francisco Bay and the SF Skyline. We rode the bikes around Tiburon for about three hours before returning to our hotel. We decided to take a drive up Highway 1 and drove to Muir Beach and spent about 20 minutes there (very windy, very cold) before heading back. We arrived at the hotel just in time to enjoy the evening wine and cheese (complimentary). Then we decided to get ready for dinner.

The restaurant we chose was two doors down from our hotel - Servino. I called ahead and made a reservation, letting the receptionist know that we would be coming for an anniversary dinner .. and requested patio seating with heater. We were told the patio was closed (even though we could see from our hotel veranda that there were several people enjoying the patio). I then requested an inside window seat, and was told they could accomodate. The food was good, the service was average, but about 1/3 of the way in to our meal .. very loud music began blaring upstairs, followed by the sounds of marching feet. our waitress stopped by a few minutes later to tell us the noise was due to a wedding party upstairs .. one of the waitresses had gotten married that day and was having her party upstairs. I inquired as to why we were not informed, nor given an option of sitting elsewhere. Got an apology. We basically finished our meal as quickly as we could, and left. We were planning on dessert, so we went down the street to a small cafe for desert (it was quiet there). Can't remember the restaurant name, but it was across the street and to the right. Struck up a conversation with the chef there .. he ended up comping us desert after we told him of our bad experience at Servino. Ended up being a nice evening despite that fact.

We returned to the hotel and asked them if they could light the gas fire on the 2nd story veranda that overlooks SF Bay and the SF Skyline. The person at the desk said they couldn't light the fire pit because it was too "windy" outside. We went out and it was about as calm as could be. I went back down to the lobby and asked him to reconsider. He did, and we got our fire. We had the veranda to ourselves, overlooking the night skyline of SF .. enjoying each other and the remnants of our wine. A fantastically romantic evening.

The next day we were served breakfast in our room (ordered the day before) .. oatmeal, fruit, boiled egg, bagel, and garnishments. It was very substantial and we both agreed that it was very good, and very filling. We then drove to Muir Woods and hiked for several hours, had lunch, and headed back home into the valley..

We had a FABULOUS TIME and the hotel was very nice - and service very good (sans the gut that didn't want to light the fire pit). Would highly recommend if you are looking for a romantic hideaway that is away from the bustle of san francisco

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the 2nd floor veranda, and consider having breakfast out there in the morning (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    71
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
176
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twain Harte, CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Thanks to other trip advisor folks, we decided to stay here at Waters Edge. Very nice comfortable room with nice amenities. Outdoor deck is a great place to enjoy your wine and cheese from your free late afternoon tasting. View of San Francisco at sunset and in the evening is incredible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

During our trip North from Big Sur we decided to spend a nite in Tiburon on our way up to Mendocino. The king room was perfect-clean and spacious. The location along the water was terrific. The staff was delightful. We had planned on staying only 1 nite but after a wonderful continental breakfast delivered to your room, taking a long morning walk along the water and having a late lunch in Saulsalito we decided to head back for another nite. The 2nd morning we borrowed the Hotel supplied mountain bikes and enjoyed a fantastic ride through the neighborhoods and took in the spectacular views. The back deck overlooking the ferry terminal gets a great morning sun and is a great spot to relax during breakfast or in the ealy evening when the hotel serves wine from 5-7pm. There's only 2 Hotels/Lodges in the town and it's a no brainer-this is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: Ask to see your foom before you sign in-the views are definately worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just spent a wonderful long weekend at Water's Edge and was so impressed by the customer service, value, and amazing location. Definitely one of the best travel experiences I have had. The location is stunning and incredibly convenient to fantastic shopping, dining and jumping on the ferry to the city. I will be back and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one Friday night in late January to give our daughter's family in San Francisco some respite from us in the middle of a 10-day visit. We took the ferry from SF in the afternoon and they picked us up the next day to continue on to a weekend in Sonoma. We enjoyed it very much and found it very restful and well-appointed. Everyone was very helpful and polite. Our room (212) faced out over the large outdoor deck of the neighboring bar. That was not an issue, since the evening was very chilly and no one sat out there -- I wonder how it would be in the warmer months?

We had a room with a "balcony" which was only big enough for one chair -- or at least only one was provided, so we didn't spend any time there. The back deck more than made up for that, with its view of the City, the water, Angel Island, and very agressive hungry sea gulls. We were swooped on two times -- and a wine glass broken and cheese stolen before we learned to be more vigilant. However, they did not spoil the experience, which was very nice, both morning and evening.

Our room had a fireplace which I asked for; however it burned an artificial log which unfortunately filled the room with a long lingering chemical smell. My husband didn't notice it
so maybe I'm over-sensitive, having asthma. However, truth be told, he doesn't have a very good sense of smell, so be warned.
We did some walking around Tiburon and Belvedere, which was very enjoyable, with a nice street of shops (Ark Row, I believe), interesting houses, and bay views. However, after a bit of shopping and a bit of walking, the delights of Tiburon were pretty much done with. Looked like a few good cozy bars, but as it was a beautiful day, we weren't tempted in, so cannot speak to their aspect. If we had been there longer, we would have investigated the walks in natural areas and beside the Bay which were indicated on some maps and also a trip to Angel Island.

The breakfast was as others described -- a fairly lavish one, for a basically continental-type -- and delivered to the room, which was a very nice touch. The "happy hour wine & cheese" was advertised as between 5:00 & 6:00 PM, but was still available at 10:00 PM. I don't know if that would be true if the hotel was more full in season, but it was also a nice touch.

All in all, I'd forgo the balcony & fireplace next time, and splurge and try to get one of the two rooms on the Bay end of the building. The curtains were open and they looked quite spacious, with good views of the Bay. However, they also looked out over the back deck, so may have lacked some privacy with the curtains open.

We liked this little hotel very much and will go back when we get a chance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

After the high SF hotel prices for low quality this was a relief! In every vacation you have a great suprise. This was it! The setting at the port is rustic, the rooms romantic, the boutique style of the hotel luxurious. Great even including the information about restaurants in town.

I would also recommend this hotel during a couple of days stay in SF. The ferry is next to it so you can reach SF easily. Great gem! Don't hesitate to book this hotel it will not dissapoint you.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We did too and never heard anyting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The people at the Waters Edge have to be the nicest, friendliest, most helpful people we have ever met in our traveling experience in California. The hotel is meticulously maintained. It does literally sit on the water, with a fabulous deck for all in the hotel to use. We used the deck to just sit and soak up the sunshine, to just enjoy the view of the water, to read and to enjoy our family. Right next door are several lovely restaurants, shops and a movie theatre. The best thing is that we felt so safe and secure and away from the hustle bustle of the usual city hotels.
It is a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: 25 Main Street, Tiburon, CA 94920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.