We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria San Miguel

Taqueria San Miguel
72450 Ramon Rd, Thousand Palms, CA 92276
(760) 343-7340
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Thousand Palms, California
1 review
“great food and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

we have been eating here for several season now - the food is always fresh and good and the same friendly staff season after season

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    5
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A locals favorite ... it will be one of yours, too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Every so often, you find a place that is truly a gem ... and this restaurant is that. The menu is large and varied and the staff is willing to 'do it your way', so just ask. The complimentary salsa and chips are really great and are a good way to start off your meal.
We have been going there for years, but this last time finally ordered their (rightly) famous shrimp cocktail ... it is huge, comes in one of those old fashioned sundae glasses ... loaded with shrimp and avocado and wonderful tastes ... it is not cheap at $13.95, but is worth every cent.
The entire waitstaff is so accommodating ... and keep their cool when the place is loaded with families and noise and confusion. But it is a happy noise that just seems right.
It is very busy, especially on weekends, when large families come in from church or as a special occasion. The outdoor, covered patio is filled to capacity most weekends. I would recommend going first on a weekday, possibly in the afternoon ... then, once you get the 'hang' of it, go on a weekend night and join in the fun.
The food has always been just what we wanted ... whether it is a taco salad or an enchilada .. their burritos are perfect! Everything is cooked from scratch and it worth the wait. Small, small kitchen .. how they turn out such fabulous food is beyond me ..
Give this wonderful, non chain, locals place a try ... you won't be sorry ... and you will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“My husband & I are not going back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

On our way back from the vet., we stopped to eat at this locale. I ordered the #17- Chicken Enchilada, Chile Relleno combination plate with a side of Albondiga soup. I had to order the only size soup because they don't do side orders of Albondigas. I asked for the soup first. 1) It smelled bad, 2) It tasted bitter, and 3) the Albondiga (meatball) itself was dry. I took it home to inspect it, because I had never tasted such a horrible Albondiga soup. Upon dissecting I realized the problem!! Instead of Yerba Buena (fresh diced mint) they loaded it with big chunks of oregano!! Guacala!! Now, let's talk about the Chicken Enchilada; 1) the chicken inside was cold and dry and wasn't even sauted separately with onion nor any spice, and 2) It tasted like refrigerator!! The Chile Relleno; 1) smelled and tasted like old cooking oil. The beans tasted like they had burned and I got the ones at the bottom of the barrel. The rice; wasn't cooked A La Mexicana, it tasted like it was made out of pre-cooked dry rice and they were slimy. My husband ordered Bistec Ranchero and that dish was edible, so I picked out of his plate. I was hungry but so disappointed!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stop for sure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were visiting the Palm Springs area with some friends and they recommended we go here for lunch. What a great meal! The food was fantastic, the service great and the margaritas tasty! It is located in a strip mall but don't be fooled...it is well worth your time and money!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Maybe a local only place but the word is getting out. Mexico in Southern California and very reasonable. The place is small and crowded but worth the wait. You will rave about the place and go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria San Miguel also viewed

Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Thousand Palms, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Thousand Palms, California Desert
 

Been to Taqueria San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.