We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Friendly Staff & will do everything if you arrive without booking"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Eastern Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Great Eastern Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Great Eastern Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   81 Great Eastern Hwy, Rivervale, Belmont, Western Australia 6103, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rivervale
KARRATHA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“"Friendly Staff & will do everything if you arrive without booking"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Being from the northwest I called to make a booking just 100mtrs away but was refused because I put a couple of reviews about the motel being rubbish and a particular staff member treating staff and clients rudely but I am so glad I was not able to stay there because I stayed at the Great Eastern Motor Lodge and 2 other great establishment's. I arrived un- announced & The Great Eastern Motor Lodge went out of their way to help me. They could see I had recent spinal surgery & so put me in a ground floor room, they even bought my luggage to my room and helped me with any request. Unfortunately I was not able to stay there any longer than I did as they were booked out but to fit me in un-announced was fantastic! Even the Malaysian Navy who was staying there were very, very happy with The Great Eastern Motor Lodge! I would definately recommend them and stay there again. The staff were friendly and helpful. Well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear and on the ground floor if you want a quiet room. Should you have medical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    22
    6
    12
See reviews for
12
16
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed overnight before flying out from Perth. Expensive for the very generic facilities. Room was large but very small shower. Bedcover looked worn and tired. It is much further than I realised from the airport. Only real asset is being close to the river- very pretty walk with numerous birds to be seen. Wouldn't stay again- would even go into the city if need be. That said, it served a basic purpose for somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Not sure if any would be better- not sure there are any worthwhile views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Wonderful place to stay, staff try very hard to help and no question is too silly, clean tidy rooms, surprisingly quiet being on a highway, from their basic room to their superior room to their spa suites all great value for money, easy car parking, it also has a lift for those who may struggle with stairs, I'm lucky enough to stay there roughly every six weeks and have done for over ten years, Its not fancy but its decorated nicely, having a balcony is great in the warmer months, nothing like a cold drink at sunset, small shopping centre a block away, a very convenient location for Perth City, Burswood Casino, Perth Airport

Room Tip: A superior room with a balcony on the fourth floor or higher offers a good view and you can see over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived un- announced as had been staying at another motel nearby which was crap! The Great Eastern Motor Lodge went out of their way to help us. They even upgraded us to a 2 bedroom fully self contained unit for the same price as a motel room! We had an oven, saucepans, plates, cups, cutlery, full sized fridge, air con and we overlooked the pool which was great as we had kids with us wanting to swim so we could see them from our balcony!
I could not fault this hotel, would definately recommend them and stay there again. The staff were friendly and helpful with any questions we had.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool, not too high up, preferably with kitchen facilities if you want to dine in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was surprised we booked 2 spa units self contained clean and comfortable small balcony traffic views , but as I said 1 night.
staff at reception friendly plenty of car park lovely powerful spa, cant complain, all in all a good stay.

Room Tip: close to airport stay here better than most
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Fourth floor, balcony, and 10min from Perth or the airport.

We booked a superior room which made it easier when friends came over for drinks. Good value for money and doesn't try to be more than it is.

Stayed there a few times over the decade.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This one was a last minute booking because of travel changes. Just $14 taxi ride from the Perth airport and the only one that answered its phone, the reception fellow was informative, kind and cheerful. I was happy to find the accommodation and hotel in good shape, clean and surprisingly quiet. No restaurant but cooked breakfast to my room was generous and nice. Late eve to early morning no experience to speak of but I would stay there again when passing through.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Eastern Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Eastern Motor Lodge

Address: 81 Great Eastern Hwy, Rivervale, Belmont, Western Australia 6103, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Belmont > Rivervale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rivervale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Eastern Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Eastern Motor Lodge offers luxurious, value for money, accommodation to families, business people, transit visitors and the holiday maker. We are situated for maximum convenience, midway between the city and the domestic airport, within close proximity of every service. There are 200 rooms in all, ranging from motel suites and bed-sitters to one-bedroom suites and two-bedroom suites for families, plus rooms with spas. Children are welcome with cots and high chairs being available on request. One feature of the complex is that most of the beautifully appointed suites have a fully equipped kitchen, including crockery and cutlery so guests may do their own cooking in preference to dining in restaurants, an expensive addition to any holiday. However for the business person, there are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance of the lodge - the city centre is only minutes away. Fully cooked breakfasts are available on request. Each fully furnished and fully serviced suite is equipped with remote controlled television, radio and reverse cycle air-conditioning. The complex has full laundry facilities available, same day dry-cleaning and ample free parking for cars. Twenty four hour reception is available seven days a week. Free wireless Internet and free FOXTEL is available in our rooms and there is internet and printing facilities available in our Business Centre in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Great Eastern Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Eastern Motor Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Eastern Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.