We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naturally Perfect. Simply Beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sea Ranch Lodge to your Saves list
Sea Ranch Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Sea Walk Dr., The Sea Ranch, CA 95497   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Naturally Perfect. Simply Beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We got married at The Sea Ranch Lodge in September 2011. And if we could do our wedding weekend all over again, we wouldn't change a single thing. Everything was perfect. The lodge itself is straight out the pages of DWELL magazine. Rustic modern style with amazing architecture that effortlessly blends in with the rugged landscape of the Sonoma Coast. The setting couldn't have been more ideal for what we were after. As for the staff, they were outstanding. Asuza is an exceptional talent with an impressive resume. She was remarkably responsive throughout the months leading up to our event. Patient with all our questions, quick to offer recommendations, and always eager to help us bring our vision to life. On the day of our event, Azusa, Greg, and their entire team surpassed our already high expectations. Our guests constantly commented on their great service, warm hospitality and attention to detail. The whole day and night flowed perfectly - ceremony on the bluff, champagne by the barn, cocktails in the solarium, and dinner and dancing in the Fireside Room. Dinner was delicious. The restaurant is all about local sourcing. Seriously local - like no wines from Napa, Sonoma only. We served rack of lamb and halibut - both were exceptional. The chef even prepared a custom dessert just for our menu. It was truly a wonderful weekend for everyone - not just the bride and groom. Even a month after our wedding we're still getting gushing calls and e-mails from our guests. The Sea Ranch may not be for everyone, but if you're a locavore after a laid back vibe, with a bit of mid-century modernity, tucked in one of the most beautiful corners of California - I can't imagine more perfect place to make memories that will surely last a lifetime.

Room Tip: Room 20 is the only room without a view. All others have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    99
    19
    18
    4
See reviews for
49
201
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was pleasantly suprised by my stay at The Sea Ranch Lodge. I had read reviews of the rooms being dated and frayed. Our room (deluxe queen) was large and had been cosmetically updated with new paint, linens and flooring. It also had 2 reclining chairs that made watching the sunset out of our window comfortable and enjoyable. We had delicious, made-to-order breakfasts in the dining room.

A couple complaints would be how we were greeted at check-in, we arrived 15 minutes to the check-in time and our room was not ready. The clerk was curt and treated us like we were imposing on her. The when we returned almost an hour later, she was nowhere to be found. This was prime check-in time. Another thing is that the wi-fi is spotty. We were only able to access it in the bar and lobby and then it was hit and miss. AT&T cellphone reception was not available, but there was a massive cellphone tower across the road from the lodge. Oh well, we were there for a romantic getaway, not to conduct business.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I chose Sea Ranch Lodge because of the location and reports on the view. Since my expectations were based on these two factors I was not disappointed. The view is spectacular and peaceful. We got lucky on the weather and the sunset was probably one of the best I have ever seen over the Pacific. We stayed in room #2 and it was lackluster. The bed was small (a queen that felt like a double), the carpet was 1980 brown pile that was worn, there was a wood burning stove with a ambiance log you could light - we didn't, and there was one chair facing the large window to the ocean. The best feature of the room was the window -- we could lay in bed and see the ocean through this very large window. It was strange to have only one chair in the room, I mean, the resort should spend a buck and get an extra one since it must be nearly 100% couples who stay there. There were some old beat-up adirondack chairs (6 of them, only) on the lawn just off the restaurant/bar where you could sit and look at the ocean. There was no community hot tub ... in our minds a significant missing attribute that would be an easy and relatively inexpensive add. The stars at night were spectacular because there is really nothing around this place. You can walk the paths on the grounds, which were pretty, and get down to the beach. It is a really pretty location (the drive is beautiful, but if you get car sick watch out because it is VERY curvy). My advice is to go here for one night of seclusion, but maybe rent a house/condo nearby for better accommodations. There are no TVs in the rooms and the wireless did not work, despite them telling us it did. If you have AT&T cell phones you are out of luck here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushyeyebrows, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for this thoughtful and well written review. Not only do we agree with your assessment, but I can proudly report that renovations are well underway for both the rooms and the restaurant and main building. All of the areas of concern you mentioned are being upgraded, including internet reliability, beds, bathrooms, chairs, fireplaces, and much more. I should note to readers that we do sometimes have issues with internet that are beyond our control - usually due to high winds which disrupt the ISP services - but that we do recognize the need to increase reliability in the guest rooms within our current upgrade plan.

I also agree wholeheartedly that an outdoor hot-tub would be a great feature, but alas this is neither simple or inexpensive due to very strict design guidelines on our pristine site, and I cannot promise this any time soon. There are no TVs in the rooms, nor will there be, as the main attraction here is to unplug and disconnect (despite the apparent contradiction in improving the WiFi). And yes, all phones that do not have Verizon are not functional here.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. Best wishes in future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Sea Ranch is about peaceful getaways. Come here for the coastal trail walks, the sound of waves, colorful wildflowers, welcoming staff, and lots of quiet time. Do not come here to catch up on work, watch tv, or experience "resort life". This is my yearly retreat and it restores my spirit. The rooms are simple with 1-2 recliners and no desks; they're designed for reading and resting, not working. Some have fireplaces - a wonderful treat on foggy evenings and window seats - perfect for looking out at the ocean. Breakfast (try the eggs benedict) is included. The restaurant and lounge are part of the lodge buildings, have beautiful views and the servers are very friendly. Visit the Sea Ranch chapel and then head to Gualala for shopping (Four Eyed Frog Books is a delight) and lunch - or pick up a sandwich to bring back. Best of all, just take advantage of Sea Ranch's beauty and peace.

Room Tip: With one exception, all rooms have ocean views - north coast rooms have corner views. I would choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I find it very peacefull place. Not a lot of bystander walking around. You want to come in here to clear up your minds and think deep within yourself.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We planned to stay there because we had heard and innovative architecture. Maybe for 1968 when it was established but not today. The rooms were huge, but poorly laid out, the were huge beds but one chair and no table in the room. This was compounded by a lack of comfortable common areas, No a place to be on a rainy or foggy day. Our room had a large loft and you could tell where the access had been but it had been taken out.
The overall upkeep was average to poor giving the place a dilapidated rather then a quaint feel.
For $70 we got 2 glasses or wine and 2 snacks. Breakfast hikers? Wait until 8am.
Outdoors? Yes the ocean is beautiful it is just as nice often nicer along miles of the coast.

Worst value for money I have ever experienced. Yes the emperor has no clothes. Certainly not in August 2011, as I lie here at 2am I am lulled by the distant siurf and someone's snores somewhere. I should have read the reviews (about the thin walls etc).
Be forewarned
The worst value for money ever in my travels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

first the positive-view was beautiful and the staff was friendly. Now for the negatives which outweigh the positives-rooms in terrible need of updating. accomodations more like a Motel 6. Way overpriced. Paper thin walls- had 2 yippy dogs below us that you could hear clearly. shampoo came in cardboard containers that were not replaced the next day. Food was marginal-my filet mignon was dry and overcooked and the meals were heavily salted. The last irritation was the political stuff shoved in your face from the peace symbols to the forced contribution which was added to your bill unless you remembered to "opt out". Would not stay here again especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Lodge

Address: 60 Sea Walk Dr., The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > The Sea Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY NATURAL SERENITY, UNSURPASSED. A small, secluded property on Northern California’s rugged Sonoma Coast, Sea Ranch Lodge is a serene destination that embraces the beauty and bounty of nature in myriad expressions. A getaway here features nature untamed – ocean vistas, pristine bluffs, dramatic landscapes, abundant wildlife – with miles of hiking trails to enjoy it just steps from your door. This sublime natural setting melds with man’s mindful efforts to live lightly on the land. We respect an ethos of sustainability in lodging, dining, activities, service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sea Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel The Sea Ranch
Sea Hotel The Ranch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.