We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surroundings and friendly proprietor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast
4337 South El Pomar, Templeton, CA 93465   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Templeton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bowie, MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful surroundings and friendly proprietor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Carriage House. There are great walks around the property, through the vineyard and over the hills. Larry the proprietor was most helpful and friendly and has a tremendous collection of vintage horse-drawn carriages in a museum next to the house. Breakfasts were very tasty and our room was clean and most comfortable. It was a home from home. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anybody visiting the Paso Robles area and will certainly visit again ourselves. It's a good idea to have a GPS navigation system to find the place, however.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
It was a pleasure having you share the ranch with us! Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My sister and I (middle-aged women) spent 2 days in Paso Robles, staying at Templeton, a short drive south. I chose Carriage Vineyards based on the reviews here and they couldn't have been more correct! The property is lovely (a tad hard to spot the sign on the road at first, but Larry tells you that in his welcoming e-mail/confirmation), sitting back off the road some ways. Altho it was rainy/misty most of the time we were there, there was enough break in the clouds the first night to see incredible stars with no light pollution! Breakfasts were all you could want from a B&B: wonderful quiche with fresh fruit, fresh OJ, and muffins. Larry recommended several wineries (with discount coupons, thank you!) which were not on our list, but we added them and could not have been happier with them. We had the vis-a-vis suite, a 2 room suite with a bathroom. Perfect for singles who want their own bed (or travelling couples). Larry was a wonderful host with great knowledge of history of his family and a keen interest in carriages (hence, the name). If you like rosemary bushes, the property abounds with them--I had to sweep my hand across them for that wonderful fragrance every day. My next visit to the area will include a return stay!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks! Nice talking with the ladies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Staying at the Carriage Vineyards B&B is like having your own private home in the country. The house is comfortable, clean, and attractive - with plenty of privacy. Breakfast is served to the house at 8:30AM and you can mingle and share your adventures with the other guests. Larry Smyth is the owner of the vineyard and is always available with suggestions about restaurants and wineries. Join Larry's Brix Society and you will have a row of grapes tagged with your family name. Walk the property, watch the harvest, visit the adjacent carriage collection, relax on the front porch, and come and go to visit local wineries. It has been our choice on where to stay in the Paso area for the past 7 years!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for staying again and the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We read most of the reviews before staying in the Victoria Suite and found them to be true. What we would add is a strong recommendation to allow time for walking around the property to see the vineyards, olive orchard, horses, carriages, etc. - otherwise you'll miss the most unique part of a stay at this B&B. We're looking forward to a return visit especially as Larry, the owner is so hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
You were such nice people. Your history from growing up in Chili is interesting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very delightful experience. We stayed in the Victoria Suite. Gorgeous room decorated with antiques and featuring a jacuzzi. We thoroughly enjoyed the grounds. Hilly 1.3 mile driveway through vineyard and olive trees makes for a physically challenging, yet visually stunning run at sunrise. Larry was very hospitable and spot on with his recommendations for restaurants and wineries. We would visit again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
It was a pleasure having the two of you here for four days week before last. You had so much energy running around the vineyards we should have put you to work with Harvest! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very enjoyable stay. The home is comfortable, clean and attractive. Good bed. Plenty of privacy. Beautiful property. Relaxing patio. Kitchen, dining, family rooms open to quests. Owner, Larry, is cordial and available for help or suggestions about restaurants and wineries. Beautiful weather. We would like to return and stay longer. We are Sr. citizens. There were two other very nice couples of various ages. We all seemed to enjoy the B and B. Not handicap accessable.

Room Tip: We were in the Phaeton Suite on the ground floor. Very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for your kind words! Glad you brought up the question of disability limitations. I am very sensitive to that with handling my lovely wife who was in a wheelchair for over three years. As a B&B with five rooms or less, we do not need to comply with ADA requirements. However we have hosted several in the Phaeton suite. There is one small step and the entrance is concrete. The other rooms all have stairs to gain access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

House - very nice
Bedroom - very nice
Grounds - very nice
Proprietor - Larry welcoming but busy. Little interaction with guests.
Breakfast: disappointing
1st day: egg quiche tasty with side of fruit, store-bought muffins, canned orange juice, coffee
2nd day: repeat of 1st day
I always look forward to great breakfasts at B&Bs - fresh juice, assortment of baked items, main dish that changes from day to day. Didn't find that here and for that reason, have to strike it off my list for return visits. Felt sorry for another couple that was there four days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
First of all thanks for the comments that were kind!

We appreciate input from guests that can help us improve. There are some things that need to be clarified. We have over eight different recipes that are used that do have a variety guests say they like. If this guest was served the same thing for the second day that was a mistake. (I think it was one of our veggie dishes) We try to vary and provide a selection. The OJ is fresh bottled and not canned. The pastries were made by Esmeralda here on the ranch. The other guests had a great time and indicated to me they liked the breakfasts.

We feel we offer a good product at a reasonable price and will keep trying to improve. Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4337 South El Pomar, Templeton, CA 93465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Templeton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Templeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.