We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has pluses and minuses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Temecula Creek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Temecula Creek Inn to your Saves list
Temecula Creek Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44501 Rainbow Canyon Road, Temecula, CA 92592   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Temecula
Washington DC & San Diego CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Has pluses and minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

The pluses: The room I stayed in was nice, large and spacious and well-appointed. The bed was comfortable. The pool area was well-attended and well-kept, and you could get a limited range of snacks delivered to the pool. The food in the restaurant and the event I attended was terrific (but overpriced).

The minuses: The major drawback is that the staff seems disorganized and not very eager to help guests. Since this is an independent hotel in an out-of-the-way location, I believe they're simply not motivated to try winning repeat business. I tried first to make my reservations via their website: the reservation tool never worked properly. Then I sent two emails, neither of which was acknowledged (much less responded to). Finally, I called the hotel and was able to make reservations. (Why bother having a website and listing an email address ifor reservations if they're completely useless? ) It's a great strategy to ignore and frustrate your clients right from the very first contact, because then they will have lower expectations when they arrive and will already be getting using to the treatment they can expect while guests.

For the price of the room ($169 one night, $179 the next), I expected the service to be much better. It's true that if you hit the front desk at just the wrong time, there will be a big line. Do not expect to be allowed to check in early, either. Also, there is an expensive charge if you want to use their in-room internet (and my Sprint wireless card got service there, but barely.) This is a hotel I want to like, because the grounds are lovely, but it shows a "bad attitude". What a shame, because with a little more effort this could be a terrific resort-type stay.

One other drawback is that it is near NOTHING (the wineries are about a 15-minute drive away---skip Thornton, which is a tourist trap and the wine is swill). If you want breakfast, be prepared to spend around $15 per person at the hotel. Most of the wineries will charge about $10 per person for wine tasting, too.

  • Liked — Lovely grounds and comfortable room
  • Disliked — Indifferent service and expensive food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    141
    55
    45
    46
See reviews for
72
218
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san marcos, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

We just had a large corporate event at the golf course. The course itself was in great condition and was definitely a challenge worth the money. However, the staff were generally rude and completely unprepared for our group other than the tee times (all the "included" tournament pieces were omitted - closest to the pin, longest drive, lunch voucher at the turn, etc.) I wish I could at least say the rudeness was an isolated event, but several of our employees noted the same treatment. Unfortunately, I'd stay away from this place unless you absolutely must play the Stonehouse nine.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed for one night to go wine tasting. I can't believe how much they charge for those rooms simply because they are on a golf course!! We paid extra to get what was supposed to be an "executive view" and were on the bottom level right in front of a green with not much of a view. When we checked in we had to wait in line forever because there was only one person working at the front desk. When we got to the room we opened the fridge and there were EMPTY bottles in it, as if someone had drank some of the items and put them back hoping they wouldn't be charged. How gross... Not to mention there were such random items there that it seemed the staff hadn't replaced all the items. when I called the front desk they just said "oh we won't charge you for that", no apology, no offer to come and replace the missing items. The sink was actually full of dirty water when we got there as if the drain were clogged. The beds were lumpy and not very comfortable. The pool area is old and run down. I've seen much newer and nicer pools at Best Westerns. The grounds are covered with weeds and spiky brush unless you're on the course. By the way, we originally booked 9 holes and ended up cancelling because they wouldn't honor the price on their website...they actually wouldn't give any better price because we were staying at the hotel. I am really mad that I paid full price for that room but we were in a hurry to leave otherwise I would have spoken with management. The quality of it was more like a motel. I would not stay here again and would tell everyone I know they shouldn't either.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

I got married in Temecula in April and the entire wedding party and numerous guests stayed at the Temecula Creek Inn. It was the perfect choice for lodging. The prices were fair, and the rooms large and comfortable. The rooms were very nicely updated and I was pleasantly surprised with the bathrooms, furnishings, ipod compatible clock radios, and plasma televisions in everyroom. I agree that prior to the remodel of the rooms they were a little outdated, but they have definitely turned that around. I have nothing but pleasant memories of my stay there. The surroundings were very nice and quiet, and had a nice rustic feel to it. The balconies had nice views of the golf course. We were greeted warmly by all staff, from the front desk, housekeeping, and engineering when they came to fix a lightbulb. We booked about 20 rooms and a nice feature was the adjoining lounge room that we booked that connected to four guest rooms. It was a comfortable and convenient place for family to get together and hang out, and included a sofa, a couple arm chairs, a plasma tv, bar/sink, full bathroom, and patio. The only negative I can think of is that the pool could use some sprucing up, but it's not too bad.

I would highly recommend Temecula Creek Inn for group bookings such as a wedding party or if you just want a nice quiet place to stay in Temecula. I hope your stay will be as pleasant as mine. And don't forget to bring your Ipod!

  • Liked — The updated room and outdoor surroundings
  • Disliked — the pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

This wonderful inn was the perfect place to be based for our wine country weekend. The lodge-like accommodations had all the creature comforts (including a large flatscreen TV) we desired but had a lovely rustic flair that melded beautifully into the setting. The term "inn" doesn't really do it justice - this is a resort with a golf course, pool and a beautiful upscale restaurant. The wineries and local attractions were all nearby, but each time we returned to the Inn we felt as if we were transported away from all the hustle and bustle. This is a great place to unwind. Our guestroom was very large by today's standards and we had a nice patio that gave us a view of the grounds. We enjoyed a lovely dinner and two breakfasts at the restaurant. The servivce was very professional but genuinely warm and friendly. We found all the food to be outstanding.

  • Liked — Luxurious amenities without being too formal - great bed and TV
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLORIK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

This hotel is rare. The property is spread out, but it is not as updated as you would expect from a hotel that is in a growing town like Temecula. We love to request a room at the opposite end from the lobby, restaurant a pool BECAUSE they are very quiet and have beautiful views of the grounds, but you are away from the action of the early morning tees (we learned this the hard way). I would skip eating at the restaurant for dinner, the food is so-so and prices too high. We opt for drinks and apps in the bar at sunset overlooking the course. Breakfast was good although still not too cheap. We always look forward to eating a burger poolside for lunch. As of our last visit they offered poolside food service. Just pick up the courtesy phone. We return each year and always enjoy our stay.

CAUTION: The staff is inexperienced, not friendly or helpful and they have been known to misplace reservations. If you're prepared for this and confirm, confirm, confirm you should have a nice stay anyway.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting back in the canyon.
  • Disliked — The staff.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

We had a lovely night at the Temecula Creek Inn, and look forward to future trips to this golf resort. Our room was not large, or sumptuously-appointed, but it was quite comfortable. Located in the building adjacent to the Temet Grill, the room was decorated in neutral earth tones, and overlooked the golf course. The large bathroom featured Aveda products, as well as a perfect showerhead (a rarity in my experience!). Another definite plus was the extremely comfortable (firm) mattress.

When we arrived at the resort in the late afternoon, we were captivated by the golden sunset, which lit up the oak trees and eucalyptus. This place is terrific for bird watchers and lovers of wildlife! The stream that meanders through the golf course, over boulders and small waterfalls, attracts a variety of wildlife.

Dining at the Temet Grill was another happy surprise. We enjoyed a truly excellent 5-star meal at both dinner and breakfast, and service was attentive. The dining room has the feel of a Park Lodge. Decorated in a rustic motif reminiscent of Native American art, most tables have an unobstructed view of the golf course (especially magical at night, when the water features are illuminated).

We hope to return someday for a golfing vacation!

  • Liked — Excellent dining experience, quiet and peaceful setting
  • Disliked — Housekeeping could have been better
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temecula Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temecula Creek Inn

Address: 44501 Rainbow Canyon Road, Temecula, CA 92592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#7 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Temecula Creek Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temecula Creek Inn is located in the heart of Southern California’s wine country. Our 130 Guest Rooms and Guest Suites are warm and beautifully appointed with custom furniture, rich colors and luxury amenities. Dining at Cork|Fre Kitchen offers breakfast, lunch and dinner menus highlighting the best ingredients the Temecula Valley has to offer. Our 27-Hole Championship Golf Course is just steps from our lobby and is the best Golf Experience in Temecula. Weddings are a special day for everyone. The picturesque setting of Temecula Creek Inn and our experienced Wedding Planners ensure your Wedding will be a truly memorable experience. Temecula Creek Inn features over 8,300 square feet of Meeting Space to accommodate an intimate gathering or a larger Social Event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Temecula Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temecula Creek Hotel Temecula
Creek Inn Temecula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temecula Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.