We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temecula Wine Charm @ Churon Winery & Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Churon Winery

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Churon Winery to your Saves list
Inn at Churon Winery
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33233 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Temecula Wine Charm @ Churon Winery & Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. This was our first adventure to Temecula and wine tasting in the area. Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff. They let us know of the special daily wine tasting for Inn guests from 5:00 – 6:00 (Saturday 5:30 – 6:30) and of the complimentary breakfast for guests. We reached our room and were impressed at the size. High vaulted ceilings (on the 2nd floor), gas fireplace, and a large balcony to enjoy the view. The oversized bathrooms were also a treat; 2 sinks separated by a shower and a large triangular jetted-tub. The room also came with a complimentary bottle of Churon wine. We found out that if you don’t like the kind they put in your room, you can exchange it for any variety they are serving during the wine tasting.

The wine tasting consisted of 7 varieties (not all of the samples they have, but a decent selection for our novice palettes). The tastings lasted for 1 hour and you were allowed to try them over and over as time permitted. The first day, crackers were available; Day 2 we only had the wine (good thing we had dinner before the tasting!). Friendly servers were available to answer questions about the wine and/or Inn; even recommendations about places to get dinner.

By reading some of the reviews, we had assumed that the breakfasts would be typical continental style. Way wrong! A menu with 4 choices of eggs and French toast were available. We had omelets and eggs benedict and eggs Florentine. All plates were very good and fixed to order.

Wine club is available @ Churon. Bottles of wine are discounted for those who stay at the Inn.

Would we go back again…? Yep! We’re thinking of making it our annual retreat before the Christmas holidays.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the road & have the best view. Those rooms on the back side view the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    54
    41
    18
    18
See reviews for
13
147
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is the 2nd time at the Inn at Churon Winery. The staff is friendly, a type of family run B & B. A very nice happy hour, though this time cheese and crackers were not offered. There is only 24 rooms on a boutique vineyard, all with a view. Yes, it does need a bit of TLC, but it would not stop me from another visit: a piece of wall paper gone, a dripping faucet. I love the spa tub but ran to the local CVS for my own soap and bubble bath. Gas fireplace in the room which adds a romantic touch. The breakfast is the best I have had at a B & B, I would usually skip breakfast. Cute gift shop with a French and Wine theme. Enjoyed the shopping in Temecula along with the restaurants. A great weekend or during the week 3day/2night get away.

Room Tip: I like the lower level, midway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Before I go to any hotel I always look at reviews, past and present! It seems one fact everyone agrees on, THIS PLACE NEEDS ALOT OF MAINTENANCE AND TLC! I ed and spoke to a friendly man who did not avoid my concerns and seemed surprised that anyone could find fault with this resort, loyal employee...But one review after another all saying the same things, the ownership needs to wake up and listen to what guests are saying, or lose alot of future business!
Housekeeping and guest service seems in need of a major tune up!
The property has major potential, and is unique but things do need attention!

Room Tip: walk the property and inspect your room prior to your visit and decide your own review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved the size of our room. View was good, but the grounds need a little help (sickly hedges, peeling paint on outside, outside doors that didn't close, no parking lot lighting--very dark!) Bathroom was excellent, except for lots of webs/dust above head height and a little mold here and there. Everything worked well in our room and bathroom and looked well-maintained. Woman at check in did little more than business-like check-in and nothing else. Upon departure she was a little more friendly. Breakfast was GREAT and so was the wait staff in the dining room. We didn't bother to complain about the ants that invaded our toffee and my husband's vitamins, due to the previous comments about complaints with ants. I know we will look for another place to stay based on the aging of the facility and staff friendliness. It was certainly a great deal with Travel Zoo Voucher, though!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 208, but read here that room 101 was awful. We didn't hear a thing from our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
335 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The “Churon Chateau” is on a hill overlooking the vineyards of Temecula. Although it could use some tender loving care including manicuring the gardens and a paint job throughout, I give it 3.5 stars because the rooms were large and comfortable and the Travelzoo price was reasonable. The Travelzoo deal included a bottle of wine, wine tasting, and a full hot breakfast daily. Our rooms were on the bottom floor with a patio, fireplace, and huge marble bathroom boasting a Jacuzzi tub. There was plenty of closet and bureau space to put our clothes, internet access was complimentary (and I must have access to the internet), and there is a very large, empty refrigerator in each room. My bugaboos with hotels are charging for internet and stocking the refrigerator with items we don’t want. Churon received an additional point for not doing either of those irritating things. The Inn at Churon does not have a pool, spa, or fitness center and the lovely water features were not working when we visited to a pipe leak.

Churon is centrally located near all the wineries. Parking is complimentary as it is at all the venues we visited. The staff is welcoming and everything is very clean. We loved having a lawn right outside our doors with the ability to visit our friends next door. We really enjoyed our stay and it didn’t break the bank. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor is great if traveling with other families. Large French doors open to the lawn for easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We wanted to spend one day/night in the SoCal wine country while on a trip to a wedding in San Diego. This town and hotel did not disappoint! It is located about 5 miles outside of the main street action in town, but is worth the short drive. The hotel could use an update, but we figured it may have been part of the "charm" to the vineyard/country like setting. The room/bathroom were large. Our room was on the first floor and had a small porch overlooking the vineyard which was absolutely gorgeous. The evening wine tasting was average and somewhat typical of most wineries with the cheese, crackers. Wines were delish. That afternoon was stopped at another winery nearby for tasting which was also fun. It could be walking distance if you did not mind a small huff to avoid any possibility of DUI. But I think the cops pretty well stay away and do not harrass tourists bringing in and dropping $$$. The breakfast receives a solid B rating. You can also sit on the porch with a view, otherwise the room is kind of tight depending on how many folks are visiting. Service was average.

Room Tip: Vineyard view otherwise you are looking at the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This two night stay was a nearby, quiet getaway for our anniversary & Churon has just what it takes for such a retreat. Nice rooms that open onto a balcony or patio that overlooks the vineyards with beautiful oversized bath amenities & fireplace in the room. Nice breakfasts served & a wine tasting happy hour were included in our stay (which was a special voucher...) I would go again & I recommend it to wine country lovers! Bonus was in the morning, when we opened the drapes, there were a half dozen hot air balloons drifting over the valley! Ahhhh....!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
1.6 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
5.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#6 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Churon Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Churon Winery

Address: 33233 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Churon Winery 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn at Churon Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Churon Winery Hotel Temecula
Hotel At Churon Winery
At Churon Winery Temecula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Churon Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.