We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The charm of France but only an hour away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Churon Winery

Save Saved
You added Inn at Churon Winery to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Churon Winery
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33233 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Temecula
Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The charm of France but only an hour away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is the 2nd time at the Inn at Churon Winery. The staff is friendly, a type of family run B & B. A very nice happy hour, though this time cheese and crackers were not offered. There is only 24 rooms on a boutique vineyard, all with a view. Yes, it does need a bit of TLC, but it would not stop me from another visit: a piece of wall paper gone, a dripping faucet. I love the spa tub but ran to the local CVS for my own soap and bubble bath. Gas fireplace in the room which adds a romantic touch. The breakfast is the best I have had at a B & B, I would usually skip breakfast. Cute gift shop with a French and Wine theme. Enjoyed the shopping in Temecula along with the restaurants. A great weekend or during the week 3day/2night get away.

Room Tip: I like the lower level, midway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    47
    29
    15
    17
See reviews for
12
120
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Before I go to any hotel I always look at reviews, past and present! It seems one fact everyone agrees on, THIS PLACE NEEDS ALOT OF MAINTENANCE AND TLC! I ed and spoke to a friendly man who did not avoid my concerns and seemed surprised that anyone could find fault with this resort, loyal employee...But one review after another all saying the same things, the ownership needs to wake up and listen to what guests are saying, or lose alot of future business!
Housekeeping and guest service seems in need of a major tune up!
The property has major potential, and is unique but things do need attention!

Room Tip: walk the property and inspect your room prior to your visit and decide your own review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved the size of our room. View was good, but the grounds need a little help (sickly hedges, peeling paint on outside, outside doors that didn't close, no parking lot lighting--very dark!) Bathroom was excellent, except for lots of webs/dust above head height and a little mold here and there. Everything worked well in our room and bathroom and looked well-maintained. Woman at check in did little more than business-like check-in and nothing else. Upon departure she was a little more friendly. Breakfast was GREAT and so was the wait staff in the dining room. We didn't bother to complain about the ants that invaded our toffee and my husband's vitamins, due to the previous comments about complaints with ants. I know we will look for another place to stay based on the aging of the facility and staff friendliness. It was certainly a great deal with Travel Zoo Voucher, though!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 208, but read here that room 101 was awful. We didn't hear a thing from our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The “Churon Chateau” is on a hill overlooking the vineyards of Temecula. Although it could use some tender loving care including manicuring the gardens and a paint job throughout, I give it 3.5 stars because the rooms were large and comfortable and the Travelzoo price was reasonable. The Travelzoo deal included a bottle of wine, wine tasting, and a full hot breakfast daily. Our rooms were on the bottom floor with a patio, fireplace, and huge marble bathroom boasting a Jacuzzi tub. There was plenty of closet and bureau space to put our clothes, internet access was complimentary (and I must have access to the internet), and there is a very large, empty refrigerator in each room. My bugaboos with hotels are charging for internet and stocking the refrigerator with items we don’t want. Churon received an additional point for not doing either of those irritating things. The Inn at Churon does not have a pool, spa, or fitness center and the lovely water features were not working when we visited to a pipe leak.

Churon is centrally located near all the wineries. Parking is complimentary as it is at all the venues we visited. The staff is welcoming and everything is very clean. We loved having a lawn right outside our doors with the ability to visit our friends next door. We really enjoyed our stay and it didn’t break the bank. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor is great if traveling with other families. Large French doors open to the lawn for easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We wanted to spend one day/night in the SoCal wine country while on a trip to a wedding in San Diego. This town and hotel did not disappoint! It is located about 5 miles outside of the main street action in town, but is worth the short drive. The hotel could use an update, but we figured it may have been part of the "charm" to the vineyard/country like setting. The room/bathroom were large. Our room was on the first floor and had a small porch overlooking the vineyard which was absolutely gorgeous. The evening wine tasting was average and somewhat typical of most wineries with the cheese, crackers. Wines were delish. That afternoon was stopped at another winery nearby for tasting which was also fun. It could be walking distance if you did not mind a small huff to avoid any possibility of DUI. But I think the cops pretty well stay away and do not harrass tourists bringing in and dropping $$$. The breakfast receives a solid B rating. You can also sit on the porch with a view, otherwise the room is kind of tight depending on how many folks are visiting. Service was average.

Room Tip: Vineyard view otherwise you are looking at the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This two night stay was a nearby, quiet getaway for our anniversary & Churon has just what it takes for such a retreat. Nice rooms that open onto a balcony or patio that overlooks the vineyards with beautiful oversized bath amenities & fireplace in the room. Nice breakfasts served & a wine tasting happy hour were included in our stay (which was a special voucher...) I would go again & I recommend it to wine country lovers! Bonus was in the morning, when we opened the drapes, there were a half dozen hot air balloons drifting over the valley! Ahhhh....!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently returned from 2 nights at Inn at Churon on a TravelZoo special.
We spend a least 2 weekends a year in Temecula, usually at South Coast, and were happy to give this place a try.

After reading many of the recent complaints about the hotel we were concerned...but decided to go with a good attitude and "make the best of it" - even though the weather was forecast to be blisteringly hot.

I have to say the Inn at Churon is a complex juxtaposition of good and bad...pretty and ugly...classic and tacky.

The good:
We found the staff to be STELLAR in their customer service...from the registration desk, to the housekeeping staff, to the wait staff. We saw none of the negative issues others have reported.
The Inn is in a gorgeous location with a fabulous view and beautiful landscaping. It is obvious they've recently spent many thousands of dollars on a wedding venue that rivals Disney.
Strangely, the run-down rooms have some high-end upgrades, including a wall-mounted large flat-screen TV and good quality, comfortable mattresses.

The bad:
The Inn was built in 1995. It appears that there is serious deferred maintenance - from cracking plaster to broken doors to water damage to peeling paint and wall-paper. The whole feeling is of a beautiful movie star who has lost her "edge" and is letting herself go.
It is good that the discount with TravelZoo was so substantial - there is no reason to pay the rack rate on this hotel.

The Inn at Churon has stiff competition from South Coast and the new Ponte Winery hotel - and South Coast is now adding a new multi-story hotel complex. Hopefully the Churon owners will see these comments and make a concerted effort to repair this beautiful yet tired gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Churon Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Churon Winery

Address: 33233 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Churon Winery 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Inn at Churon Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Churon Winery Hotel Temecula
Hotel At Churon Winery
At Churon Winery Temecula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Churon Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.