We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Churon Winery

Save Saved
You added Inn at Churon Winery to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Churon Winery
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33233 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Temecula
Ft lauderdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I visited the area a few months ago and stayed at the Southcoast winary. We tried to rebook there again buty they were sold out. We found this place online and it looked ok. We were so wroung. As soon as we arrived we wished we could canceled. However they have a 2 day cancelation policy and since we did not know until we arrived we were out of luck. Lets start with the hotel itself. It was poorly maintained. When we arrived we learned there was no bar, NO RESTAURANT at the hotel so eating or drinking required a drive to another winery. The hotel had no pool, no gym, no spa, the internet in our room was intermitent at best. The rooms were outdated and the AC in our room would cycle on and off every 45 seconds with a big thud then it would strain to get going and then click off in another 45 seconds all night. The wine tasting area was small and the lady that helped us was rude and seemed bothered by us. We met another couple that was staying there and they had all the same problems. So we shared a cab and went to eat and drink together at another winery. I also learned that we were suposed to get a free bottle of wine in our room. The other couple did we did not. When we asked about it we were told that the bottle "was" in our room. My wife said it was like a bad movie! My wife booked some Spa services at a different winery so we could use the pool and grounds at that location.When we we driving away we we relived to be leaving and my wife turns and says to me as we oull out of the driveway "we have escaped"

Room Tip: the price was about the same as the nicer winerys I would not go back here ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    27
    15
    17
See reviews for
12
115
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband surprised me for our anniversary to a romantic weekend in Temecula. The Inn at Churon Winery was wonderful. We had the Merlot Suite which had 3 fireplaces in it! It was truly beautiful. The bathroom was HUGE with a marble encased jacuzzi tub that would easily fit 3. A separate shower and so much room. On to the living room. Another fireplace, a full bar and sitting area with a couch and two chairs. Now the bedroom. A big king bed that was so comfortable with a patio overlooking the vineyard. We sat outside in the evening and watched the bunnies hop around and listened to a neighboring winery having a party with a real good band.

We spent the day wine tasting visiting Cougar, Leonese and Longshadow Ranch winery. When we returned Churon offers it guest a special free wine and cheese tasting in their tasting room. Since Churon is a B&B, the breakfast that they offered in the breakfast room was very good. My husband had the omelet and I had the egg croissant with red roasted potatoes. We packed up and headed to Escondido to try our hand at beer tasting at Stone Brewery. I had never heard of this place but I was so surprised at how nice it was. When we got there we got in line for tickets to the tour. Since we had a couple of hours to kill we had lunch in the their beautiful restaurant. My husband had a buffalo steak and I had a marvlous citrus salad. This was not a cheap lunch, but the food was devine. Then we took the tour which was a lot of fun and I learned about brewing beer, we headed to the free tasting area for 4 samples. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Here are the basics that were bad
1. bottle of white in room but no bottle opener
2. very poor front desk service
3. no cheese or any snacks at wine tasting
4. internet terrible
5. no cable
6. NO RESTAURANT except on weekends
7. No Spa but got an in-room massage that was terrible
8. No materials about what to do when you get there...no book on restaurants, no info on guides, cars, etc. If you have no restaurant or anything to do at your place and no internet...you should definitely provide some info on where to go and what to see.
9. out of champagne for mimosas in the morning
10. DO NOT USE GPS TO GET HERE. it will take you somewhere else which maybe the person could have mentioned when I booked room.

Good:
1. Staff at wine tasting was very sweet
2. enjoyed the wines and got 20% off
3. The hotel property is lovely.
4. Room was spacious and it is great to have a patio.
5. Breakfast was good
6. Met owner and she was wonderful
7. Great deal

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We are very experienced "B & B" travelers, and we were very disappointed in this property. THE GOOD: Staff in the dining room and wine tasting was quite friendly; (however, staff behind the front desk was awful); THE BAD: The breakfast menu did not offer anything "healthy" like fruit bowls, yogurts, etc. The wine tasting room/shop had very limited items-no cheeses, chocolates, etc. to buy to go with the wine tasting. The Inn offered nothing but the wine (However, it was very good wine); both vending machines were out of beverages and a request to buy some to the front desk was answered: "Well, guess we'll have to go to the store sometime"; THE UGLY: All hallway and stairwell windows were beyond filthy-looked like they had not been cleaned for months; THE UGLIER: When we checked in, there were long dark hairs on the floor in the bathroom. 2 days later, when we checked out, they were still there; there were potatoe chips and empty peanut wrappers on the stairs when we checked in-2 days later they were still there along with empty water bottles. Also, the TV guide provided had no correlation to the actual channels. It is as if nobody really cares about this property. Sad, cause the setting and location are great.

NOTE: The rooms themselves were quite nice, but very dated. Lots of deferred maintenance. The employee who rally shined: A young lady named Brittney-she was gracious, helpful, did not hurry us along (she waited on us at wine tasting, and the next day in the breakfast room). She deserves a promotion and a raise.

Room Tip: TIP: Go to the South Coast Resort/Winery/Spa and stay there. If you do go to Churon, do not park u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife purchased two nights via TravelZoo and after reading some of the reviews I was some what curious on what we were getting in too. We had a fantastic time. You could not beat the location and the views from the room were fantastic. My wife and I spent both nights on the balcony watching the sun set and just enjoying the peacefulness.
The room was great and the bed was comfortable. We both slept in later than we normally do.
Though the breakfast choices were limited (5 or 6 different choices) it was very good. The wine tasting each evening was also very good.
All in all we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place is falling apart. Our room had a piece of plastic nailed to the ceiling to cover a crack or leak or something. When I complained, the Innkeeper (Enid?) gave me attitude about it “well we had to do that this morning otherwise there would have been water dripping down” and offered no discounts. The wait service in the breakfast room was awful… we waited 15 minutes for coffee & they got our entree order wrong. The rooms are totally overpriced for the out-of-date wallpaper, cracked molding & dirty windows you get. Also, there was a dirty wine glass in our room. All in all, this place was really gross.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We purchased a travelzoo discount offer for two nights here and stayed in June 2012.

Pros:  

1) Pretty grounds

2) Easy to find, parking plentiful

3) Rooms nicely appointed, views from most rooms

4) Sheets were soft and beds comfy, fireplace in each room. Tile floors and glass shower doors are nice.

5) Food is presented well

6) Staff is friendly and helpful

7) The special dinner offered only on Friday nights is elegantly presented with paired wine per course. It is served in their front lobby, not a separate dining room, however, but it is nice. 



Cons:


1) No swimming pool, no lounge chairs for sunbathing or relaxing

2) No computer/business room or complimentary internet

3) No coffee pots in rooms, or coffee available in lobby at any time

4) No fruit bowl or lemoned water in the lobby

5) No pastries offered. We've never been to a B&B that doesn't offer pastries, and since this is a French-themed B&B we kinda expected to get some :( 

6) Breakast is limited choices, no cereal, yogurt, (or pastries, lol)

7) TV reception was poor on our flat screen tv, not HD

8) No private stall for toilet commode/ just one big room with the commode open

9) No chairs for sitting during happy hour/wine tasting. You must stand or browse the gift shop. Cheese and crackers are offered with the wine. 

10) The $65/pp dinner comes with paired wine for each course. Our prime rib was overcooked and very "winey" tasting, overpowering the beef flavor.



Summary: For the price is is not a bad choice. There are other places to stay on Winery Row, but all are more expensive. This is a quiet kick-back-do-nothing type place. I would've liked a lounge chair for the patio/lawn area to lay back and read in the sun. Weather was perfect.  Vines were nice and green. Come in spring or early summer when everything is green.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floors for better views of winery
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
Boutique, Pool...
Show More
1.8 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Boutique, Luxur...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 18 in Temecula
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
4.8 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#6 of 18 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Churon Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Churon Winery

Address: 33233 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Churon Winery 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Inn at Churon Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Churon Winery Hotel Temecula
Hotel At Churon Winery
At Churon Winery Temecula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Churon Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.