We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad, The Ugly, & The Uglier” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Churon Winery

Save Saved
You added Inn at Churon Winery to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inn at Churon Winery
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33233 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Temecula
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad, The Ugly, & The Uglier”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We are very experienced "B & B" travelers, and we were very disappointed in this property. THE GOOD: Staff in the dining room and wine tasting was quite friendly; (however, staff behind the front desk was awful); THE BAD: The breakfast menu did not offer anything "healthy" like fruit bowls, yogurts, etc. The wine tasting room/shop had very limited items-no cheeses, chocolates, etc. to buy to go with the wine tasting. The Inn offered nothing but the wine (However, it was very good wine); both vending machines were out of beverages and a request to buy some to the front desk was answered: "Well, guess we'll have to go to the store sometime"; THE UGLY: All hallway and stairwell windows were beyond filthy-looked like they had not been cleaned for months; THE UGLIER: When we checked in, there were long dark hairs on the floor in the bathroom. 2 days later, when we checked out, they were still there; there were potatoe chips and empty peanut wrappers on the stairs when we checked in-2 days later they were still there along with empty water bottles. Also, the TV guide provided had no correlation to the actual channels. It is as if nobody really cares about this property. Sad, cause the setting and location are great.

NOTE: The rooms themselves were quite nice, but very dated. Lots of deferred maintenance. The employee who rally shined: A young lady named Brittney-she was gracious, helpful, did not hurry us along (she waited on us at wine tasting, and the next day in the breakfast room). She deserves a promotion and a raise.

Room Tip: TIP: Go to the South Coast Resort/Winery/Spa and stay there. If you do go to Churon, do not park u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    43
    24
    15
    16
See reviews for
10
110
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife purchased two nights via TravelZoo and after reading some of the reviews I was some what curious on what we were getting in too. We had a fantastic time. You could not beat the location and the views from the room were fantastic. My wife and I spent both nights on the balcony watching the sun set and just enjoying the peacefulness.
The room was great and the bed was comfortable. We both slept in later than we normally do.
Though the breakfast choices were limited (5 or 6 different choices) it was very good. The wine tasting each evening was also very good.
All in all we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place is falling apart. Our room had a piece of plastic nailed to the ceiling to cover a crack or leak or something. When I complained, the Innkeeper (Enid?) gave me attitude about it “well we had to do that this morning otherwise there would have been water dripping down” and offered no discounts. The wait service in the breakfast room was awful… we waited 15 minutes for coffee & they got our entree order wrong. The rooms are totally overpriced for the out-of-date wallpaper, cracked molding & dirty windows you get. Also, there was a dirty wine glass in our room. All in all, this place was really gross.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We purchased a travelzoo discount offer for two nights here and stayed in June 2012.

Pros:  

1) Pretty grounds

2) Easy to find, parking plentiful

3) Rooms nicely appointed, views from most rooms

4) Sheets were soft and beds comfy, fireplace in each room. Tile floors and glass shower doors are nice.

5) Food is presented well

6) Staff is friendly and helpful

7) The special dinner offered only on Friday nights is elegantly presented with paired wine per course. It is served in their front lobby, not a separate dining room, however, but it is nice. 



Cons:


1) No swimming pool, no lounge chairs for sunbathing or relaxing

2) No computer/business room or complimentary internet

3) No coffee pots in rooms, or coffee available in lobby at any time

4) No fruit bowl or lemoned water in the lobby

5) No pastries offered. We've never been to a B&B that doesn't offer pastries, and since this is a French-themed B&B we kinda expected to get some :( 

6) Breakast is limited choices, no cereal, yogurt, (or pastries, lol)

7) TV reception was poor on our flat screen tv, not HD

8) No private stall for toilet commode/ just one big room with the commode open

9) No chairs for sitting during happy hour/wine tasting. You must stand or browse the gift shop. Cheese and crackers are offered with the wine. 

10) The $65/pp dinner comes with paired wine for each course. Our prime rib was overcooked and very "winey" tasting, overpowering the beef flavor.



Summary: For the price is is not a bad choice. There are other places to stay on Winery Row, but all are more expensive. This is a quiet kick-back-do-nothing type place. I would've liked a lounge chair for the patio/lawn area to lay back and read in the sun. Weather was perfect.  Vines were nice and green. Come in spring or early summer when everything is green.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floors for better views of winery
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Saw an amazing promotion for this property on Travelzoo: $239 for 2 nights, with daily breakfast, bottle of wine, and nightly wine and cheese hour. I was impressed with how close this place was to many of the great tasting wineries in Temecula so we gave it a go. We made a great decision, as this place was a nice surprise. It has a great location and provided the serenity that we were looking for, all for under $250 for two nights.

We had a huge room. The bathroom had 2 person jacuzzi tub, large shower and double vanity, which was nice. The breakfast was surprisingly good. The menu was simple, but the hot entrees were quite tasty, and very good after a long day wine tasting. The decor could use a bit of updating, but the bed was really nice and we had plenty of space in our room and bathroom. The place wasn’t the Four Seasons, but it was more than comfortable, especially given the amount of time we were in the room.

The evening wine hours were fun too. The Inn had a great tasting room downstairs and it was nice to chat with other guests about the different wineries that they had visited or planned on visiting etc. As part of our package, we also got a bottle of wine that we took home.

All in all, we had a great time, and enjoyed The Inn at Churon Winery. We had never heard of this place until we saw it on Travelzoo, and I am glad that we found it. My wife and I have been to Temecula several times over the past few years, and we typically spend more money on our accommodations. It is not a corporate hotel, which we found charming, and they provide a great experience, especially with the breakfast and wine hour that is included.

We will more than likely return to this place based on charm, value and location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Visited the Churon via TravelZoo (2 nites for $239), which was a great bargain, all things considered. The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful (contrary to previous reports), and she doubled as the (very eager) server at our happy hour (from 5 to 6). Our room was large with a nice northern view of the valley; the marbled bathroom enormous. There were a few water stains on the ceiling and here/there, but we didn't spend much time looking up, just out at the rolling hills and numerous vineyards. I agree with other reviewers about the 737 jet engine I mean lawn mower I mean air conditioning that was loud indeed. Started out the evening with the system off (we first cooled things off to 70 degrees), but by about 5am it was 78 and we had to turn the air on. The morning breakfast was fine, in a quaint, cafe-like room, and service was good. We had the Fri nite dinner ($65 each), which was good until the prime rib came...thin, well-done and gristly. We're hard-core robust, full-body, dry red-wine drinkers, so we could hardly handle the very sweet whites served; even the ruby cab served with the main meal was pretty bad (for us). Wouldn't do that again. During the day we toured several wineries and had no difficulty with the tour bus competition...that happens on weekends. We should have printed out 2 for 1 tasting passes; it can get pricey at $15 per. Churon has a top quality Syrah and Barbera. We'd go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Charming. Absolutely charming. Arrived to a spacious, lovely room. Two big queen beds, fireplace, balcony overlooking the garden and the valley. We always carry a bag of necessities when we travel which include : a corkscrew, munchies, and music. Our complimentary bottle of wine was happily sipped on the balcony as we filled our tummies and took in the view. We left to go tasting at several wineries, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We hadn't made reservations for dinner (totally a mistake on our part) and sadly the inn was full. Went down the road to Thornton Winery's Cafe champagne. Yum, yum, and yum. So good. Back to our lovely room, balcony doors open, full moon, fireplace blazing while we read. Super comfy beds. Up the next morning. Hot air balloons drifted by. Five choices for breakfast. Talked to folks around us. Everyone had something different that they thought was delicious. Will we be back? Yes. Definitely, yes.

Room Tip: Loved the 2nd floor balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Churon Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Churon Winery

Also Known As:
Inn At Churon Winery Hotel
Inn At Churon Winery Hotel Temecula
Hotel At Churon Winery
At Churon Winery Temecula
Address: 33233 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Churon Winery 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Churon Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Churon Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.