We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blackbird Tavern
41958 5th St., Temecula, CA 92590
951-699-9150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 336 Restaurants in Temecula
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
Restaurant details
Temecula, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is the most eclectic place. It is covered but somehow outdoors. There is an uncovered garden area that has firepits and beautiful grass. The menu is very small but they do those items very well. The chicken sandwich, fish and chips, and hamburger with gouda cheese were all excellent. Each had something that made it unique in flavor. Nothing was run of the mill. It has a full bar. The ambiance is pure fun. The prices are very low. This is a great place for having a good time with good food, good drinks, and good prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Backyard fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I did enjoy the food. My favorite was the flat bread pizza appetizer. My best part of this restaurant is the "backyard"! Fire pits, bean bag toss, picnic tables set the tone for a cool atmosphere. Yummy cocktails as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Happy with the Blackbird”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This review is a little different because the only time we have been here to eat is for a rehearsal dinner. We had been looking for a cool place in Temecula for our son's rehearsal dinner and we found it at the Blackbird Tavern and booked it for summer. Great atmosphere! It has a good-sized outdoor backyard patio, although our dinner was in the covered area. The manager was easy to work with, and the servers did a nice job. Overall, the food was good for the most part. Appetizers were good. The Moroccan chick pea soup was very tasty. The flat iron steak got good reviews ; it came with 2 large buttered croutons, which got an A +. I had a taste of someone's vegetarian pasta dish. The sever said the pasta was homemade. I thought it was good. I had the chicken in the trench dish- it was huge, but not a lot of flavor. We had a choice of 2 desserts- a fruit cobbler, and a small chocolate ganache cake with a peanut butter sauce. The cake was excellent. And of course wine and beer was consumed! We really enjoyed our experience at the Blackbird, and would return in the future if we find ourselves in Temecula.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Reminded me of an English pub garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Popped in a for a beer and was impressed with the staff knowledge of the ales so much I stayed for a few! Sat in their beer garden which apart from the fire pits reminded of an English pub garden. A quirky place in side too, worth a visit as it is different to most bars

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Blackbird is in a Cool building and has horse shoes out back. As well as a pretty chill Patio area. The Menus are on old Album covers. (Which I personally think is wrong. I collect Vinyl.) The menu selections are bit different. Food is good. Bar has a good selection

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Blackbird Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.