We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit. The property was very clean and the staff very helpful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added South Coast Winery Resort & Spa to your Saves list
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Enjoyed our visit. The property was very clean and the staff very helpful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It would be nice to have more available amenities over a 24 hour period... not just during the hours of the restaurant . Meaning...the capability to get some hot water for some tea...my wife hates coffee and was told to run hot water through the in-room Kerig machine. We were just looking for some hot water to try and settle an upset stomach. This was not of course very ideal. We also noticed that the Spa amenities seemed to be lacking a bit. My wife had a Spa day planned during our stay...Facial, Manicure and then a Pedicure followed up later in the day with a couples massage. She woke up late that morning prior to her 10 am Spa appointment and when she checked in she asked for a menu to order some food or perhaps a smoothie. The response she received form the Spa staff was that they could not find the menu...no additional follow up or anything like that was ever offered to her again throughout the day. I also heard someone request for a cup of coffee in the Spa but that was not an option either. Again, these are small little things but to me... its the small things that determine whether you come back or recommend it to someone else. My review on the hotel and wine tasting 8/10. My review on the Spa and amenities 7/10. If you are used to an up scale Spa experience like a Burke Williams...potential to possibly be a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean and pretty quiet. We did have some issues with the A/C.
See more room tips
Green Features: The room key was used to turn on the lights...great idea!
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    224
    82
    36
    40
See reviews for
57
616
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this location many times over the years but their customer service has always been marginal at best.
1. We typically request a specific room when we make reservations and are always told that they cannot guarantee the room or that it will be available. It would seem that they should know if the room will be available on a specific date or not. They say that if the party in the room wants to extend then it would not be available. Why not book the room to a new party who wants it instead of not doing so just in case the party in the room might want to extend? Other hotels have told us that we cannot extend because the room we are in has already been booked for the next night.
2. The reservation staff is always, at best, indifferent. They project an attitude that they are almost doing us a favor by allowing us to stay there. I recently had to cancel a reservation and the reservation rep on the phone asked for the reason for the cancellation. I said that my wife was ill. It would have been courteous for the rep to at least say that she was sorry to hear that. She did not. She simply cancelled the reservation and the call ended without her saying that they hoped they'd see us in the future or that they hoped we would consider staying with them in the future.
3. On a previous stay, we took what we thought was a complimentary plastic cork screw with their logo on it from the room. We packed it in our suitcase as a remembrance from the trip. As we were checking out, we told them that we took the cork screw just to make sure it was complimentary. To our surprise, they said it was not complimentary and they charged us $7 for it. They were insistent and we paid it rather than dig the corkscrew out of our suitcase. This was after just paying them hundreds of dollars to stay at their hotel. That was years ago and I still remember it.
All things considered, we will look elsewhere for accommodations the next time we are in Temecula.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The rooms are clean and luxurious, as are the bathrooms with the jacuzzi tub and the shower. So far we have only stayed in the villas, not in the hotel tower. The staff is extremely professional and always pleasant and helpful.
It is so relaxing and we just love coming here! I cannot wait for the next time!

Room Tip: I haven't had a
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice, clean, quiet rooms. Gigantic bathroom. Wine tour informative and just the right length of time. Wine tasting room nice. Prime rib dinner very good. Great overall value. Highly recommend. Would do it again.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Diane B,
Thank you for taking the time to post a five-star review of your recent stay at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed the fun, yet informative Behind the Scenes wine tour and the Prime Rib Dinner at the Vineyard Rose-two favorites here at South Coast! Your compliments and recommendations are truly appreciated by each and every one of our staff members. We look forward to introducing you to more of what South Coast has to offer on your return visit. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated my dad's 85th birthday with a delicious dinner in the restaurant, wine tasting and an overnight stay in the private bungalows.
The property is easily located in the middle of Temecula wine country.
We enjoyed walking through old town's antique shops right off the freeway exit and easy entrance to the vineyards.
It was a relaxing get away in this beautiful, rolling hill community!

Room Tip: We prefer to stay in the bungalows. They are quiet, spacious with a private patio and close to the p...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very eco friendly! Recycling, water conservation, lighting, energy efficient windows are among their kind earth practices!
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Jennifer S,
Thank you for choosing South Coast Winery Resort & Spa for your dad’s 85th birthday celebration, and for taking the time to post a fantastic five-star review of your experience! We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed dinner, wine tasting and a comfortable Villa at our property, and that you were able to explore the unique shops in Old Town Temecula during your stay as well. The beautiful rolling vineyards of Wine Country make the perfect setting for a relaxing getaway, all the more complete with a private patio to enjoy the view! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to South Coast in the near future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

words can not express how amazing this place is. Beautiful, peace, fabulous wine, amazing food. This is in wine country of temecula, so its very secluded and peacefull over looks all of wine country. This place is also great for photoshoots

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Beth K,
Thank you for your wonderful five-star review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa! Our team strives to create a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere for our each and every guest to enjoy, and we thank you for your recognition and compliments! The rolling vineyards, in our opinion, are some of the best views in Southern California, and make a gorgeous photo backdrop. We look forward to welcoming you back to South Coast on your next visit to Temecula Valley Wine Country. Until then, cheers to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Save your money, this place is not at all worthy of a 4 star rating. The rates are double what they should be for what you get here. We spent three days visiting the pool each day and not one single time were we able to get any drinks or food at the pool, there is zero service provided for this, only a phone to call room service, for which you only get voicemail and no one comes to help or take an order. I couldn't believe it for the overblown rates at this place. I had to trek a 15 minute walk to a closed wine shop before I finally found the restaurant and bought bottles of wine at the bar to take back to the pool, it was ridiculous. There are almost no employees around anywhere on the site to help guests. We found ONE who shockingly worked in three different capacities and locations, talk about low staffed. I tried to buy some items at the spa shop and was informed they had been mispriced on each item and they wouldn't honor the prices on each tag of 5 items. What?! But the worst part of this experience was getting the bill and finding out the rate we were told we had booked when making the reservation wasn't what we got charged. Since then I have spoken to various people at the hotel trying to get reimbursed for getting overcharged and they are basically just stealing our money. Apparently they get away with this because the reservation confirmation letters they send out don't even show the rates you're being charged. I called the hotel prior to my stay to verbally re-confirm my rates and was told again it was the rate I had expected. Meanwhile it's not what I've been charged. NIGHTMARE. Spend your money elsewhere or you'll be disappointed, and cheated! We got suckered into staying here by a glamorous sounding travelzoo deal we read (but purchased from the hotel directly, SUPPOSEDLY, then not honored) and no joke the travelzoo deal rates are no savings at all- no wonder this place has resorted to "discount" deals on travelzoo to lure in suckers like us and then overcharge them. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR SANITY and stay anywhere else but here.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
Green Features: I was too busy stewing about the lack of overall service to notice
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bambidextr0us:
Thank you for taking the time to provide your input regarding your stay. We value all input as it is helpful in mapping out areas where more attention to detail may need to be given. We have reviewed our records and cannot determine where the breakdown in communications occurred, but we are delighted to see that our Front Desk Manager has honored a discounted rate which is the lowest offered for the July 4th holiday. Because your experience is so atypical of others, we trust you will give us another opportunity to wow you with the South Coast style for which we take great pride. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
6.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#8 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
0.1 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.