We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added South Coast Winery Resort & Spa to your Saves list
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Label Package
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Anaheim Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went to Temecula wine country & stayed @ Southcoast Winery. This is a nice beautiful resort in the country. The vineyard is pretty nice and its fairly close to I-15. Their tasting room is huge & very crowded. We had lots of fun and enjoyed our wine tasting vacation.
Some members of our group thought this place is a little pricey but it is a top notch resort.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    199
    69
    32
    36
See reviews for
40
513
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had high hopes for this resort, but unfortunately they were a bit too high. We stayed in a villa overlooking the grape fields. The view was beautiful, but the room was very out dated. The furniture, décor, bathroom, and bedding seemed like it all should have been replaced about 10 years ago.
That being said, we also used the spa which was very nice. The pool and locker rooms are very nice and provided just about any amenity you could want or need. It is a little awkward that you have to walk through the main waiting room in your robe and get in an elevator with strangers to get up to your massage, but that's just how it's set up. My husband and I got a couples massage which was nice. The room was way too bright, however. It was a little difficult to relax when I could see the sun shining in.

We took a tour of the winery which we were both looking forward to. My only advice about this is to skip it.. it's boring.

The restaurant got my food order wrong, and when I brought it to the server's attention the manager was sent over. The manager had a very snide, sarcastic attitude about the whole thing which left a bad taste in my mouth... literally. Because the service in the restaurant was so bad the first night, we decided to only dine by room service. The room service was probably my favorite part of this trip. The food arrived hot and fast each time we ordered. The bananas foster pancake is a MUST in the morning!

Overall, it was a nice little getaway, I guess I just had higher expectations for one of my favorite wineries.

Room Tip: Try the bananas foster pancake in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Kids bought us a night at the Resort.. It is very beautiful, we enjoyed a King Villa, beautiful, furniture looked great, but was actually really discount, bed was comfy, bring your on pillow, theirs are large, do not scrunch up. On arrival we received a gift bag with goodies, port wine, cookies, cups, and a really cool sweatshirt blanket.
Checked prices here and at the resort next door. Both way, way overpriced..

Room Tip: Ask for a Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went wine tasting with bunch of friends & stayed @ Southcoast. They have nice cabana type rooms beautifully decorated with a huge tasting room. Its a beautiful winery & their Wine was okay. Staff are friendly & overall everything was fine but we felt it was maybe too expesive.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking for a place to take my wonderful girlfriend for our 1st anniversary(Dating) and a co-worker had told me about the winery, which we love to drink wine and eat! Lol. In the process of planning our trip friends of ours were celebrating there 18th year of marriage so we all made the road trip together. I had very little knowledge of that area and certainly didn't think we had good wineries in the local area(Less than 3 hours); needless to say it was an absolute amazing two days, with a beautiful King Villa with beautiful rose pedals throughout the Villa, Amazing foods and outstanding wines! Our wine server for the two days was a gal name Pam and she made our trip in so many ways!! The carriage driver Mark was another amazing experience and a true gentleman! I don't think ever in my life I've experienced such kindness and professionalism and South coast winery is now our #1 destination for our needed getaways. Thank you to ALL that helped make our anniversary incredibly awesome! Cheers

Room Tip: King Villas were great!
See more room tips
Green Features: Amazing throughout the Winery! Pam the wine server was our absolute favorite
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a suite at South Coast for three days during early Febuary. It was a beautiful resort in the middle of some of South Coast Winery"s vineyards. Fantastic location, great views of the hills and mountains around Temecula. Very clean and spacious suite, electronic fireplace, huge bathroom with jetted tub, double sinks, large walk in shower and separate water closet. Comfortable king bed along with a couch and chair facing a large flat screen tv and fireplace and a sliding glass door opened to a patio with a table and chairs completed the suite. The room also had a mini fridge and Kuerig coffee maker with pods. The staff was friendly and attentive and the pool and hot tub were excellent. I will stay here again and would recommend this resort. They also have private villas that we saw from the outside that looked great.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the South Coast Winery Resort. It was centrally located, nice rooms, nice pool (in spite of some real wackos about, but hey, it's SoCal), and a lovely restaurant. My only complaints are small: the restaurant is too dark, especially in the morning; not enough furniture in the sitting area in our room; and the hotel itself looks like a new LaQuinta on the outside. (Not exactly inspiring.) However, the staff was accommodating, and the rooms were really spacious. And, of course the wines were excellent, especially the Rhone blends (both white and red). In the restaurant, the Osso Bucco was very good, but if you're from the Northwest, steer clear of the salmon (it will be disappointing).

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Temecula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#4 Family Hotel in Temecula
#7 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.