We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at South Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added South Coast Winery Resort & Spa to your Saves list
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dine & Stay Package
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Temecula
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Another great stay at South Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at South Coast since they opened and have enjoyed the villas very much. This time we stayed in the new suites in the hotel and we loved it. The suite was very large with a lovely, private patio looking out to the vineyards. A nice bottle of wine with wine glasses was already in the suite upon arrival which is a nice touch. I thought that I might feel a slight disconnect from the pool; restaurant and wine tasting room by staying in the hotel but the opposite is true. You are right in the midst of everything that South Coast offers. My husband booked the spa special that was offered in the amenity book that we received upon check in and he said it was certainly worth the $99. We enjoyed a nice breakfast outside on their terrace in the morning. Free parking is available. I really enjoyed the suites and will book again in the hotel section on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    193
    67
    31
    36
See reviews for
40
494
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our first visit to South Coast and I was very pleased with the resort. Our vineyard facing villa was gorgeous, and the spa was very relaxing. The tasting room is a little more crowded than some of the other nearby vineyards, but the staff (looking at you Jennifer) was absolutely amazing! The one criticism I have is I found the food to be underwhelming, and the night we ordered room service we got dinner ice cold. I would come back here for a weekend getaway in a heartbeat, but I would probably eat dinner next door.

Room Tip: Get the interior vineyard facing villa if you can, the valley views were not as nice as you would th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We really enjoy our suite at South Coast Winery. The suite was large and very comfortable with a nice balcony and great views of the mountains and vineyards. We enjoyed the pool and spa. They give you a small sample wine tastes when you stay. We had dinner at their winery and it was good, although the atmosphere feels like your in a huge lodge in the mountains. Not the best atmosphere but that is individual, food is good but rather expensive. The elevator had problems which puzzled staff and made it difficult to get to your room since they lock the doors to the stairs for security. Overall it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice new and spacious suites right next to the vineyards, a great pool and spa area, and top notch cuisine at their restaurant -- well worth a weekend trip to Temecula. You can also visit the any nearby wineries in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is my second visit to this establishment. The first time we ran into a few hurdles and were asked to return. The second visit will probably be my last. First they booked me into the wrong suite, I asked for same room which I had previous which was the connecting room suite with vineyard mountain views and was given two connecting rooms that reeked of mold and body odor with views of some bushes and the check-in building. Fortunately this was quickly resolved when I demanded to speak to a supervisor. Next was having to ask on 3 separate occasions for the sofa bed to be made, and even then the operator was unapologetic and asked "was there anything else I needed?" and thereafter hung up on me when I said no. Only one telephone in the entire suite was operable, and that was barely working as well. To top it off, there were no parking spaces to park in front of the suite, which were occupied by our ungodly neighbors howling at all hours in the evening. Apparently on the weekends parking is free for all! I don't understand why they even bother with parking passes. The staff from the front desk to the restaurant are definitely in much need of hospitality training, especially for the rates charged by this establishment.

Room Tip: Make sure to demand to speak to a supervisor if you want to get any where with the front desk.
See more room tips
Green Features: There is no environmentally friendly practices at this place, especially with the noise level given the tranquility of the villa option.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The rooms are amazing! The bathroom was like a spa. The cost is high, so you will pay for the comfort. The pool is great. We stayed for my Cousins bridal shower weekend. It was the perfect spot. They do a nice "girls weekend" package. I would give it 5 stars if not for the overly high price for the room.

Room Tip: Any room is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was my second visit in past year. Both stays were in the villas. I love the concept of the villas, however, the carpets in both villas were more than disgusting. (I was assured they were clean, just stained, and plans for the carpets to be replaced is in the making. The sofa bed, too needs replacing due to broken springs. Felt like sleeping on ROCKS. Forget the TV, lots of problems with the cable provider making it impossible to view. The pool area needs lots of attention. Have a group planned for September but would like assurance the villas have been redone.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel section are newer and may be more appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Sandy D:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your second stay at our winery resort. We welcome any and all feedback regarding our valued guests’ experiences, as it allows us to hone in on areas where we are not meeting our guest expectations. Please know your comments have been carefully reviewed and an investigation is underway to identify and provide an appropriate remedy. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#5 Family Hotel in Temecula
#6 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.