We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, disappointing wines.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added South Coast Winery Resort & Spa to your Saves list
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Timeless Escape
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, disappointing wines.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at South Coast for 3 nights this past weekend for my husband's birthday. We booked a room in the new hotel tower after reading about how that wing was brand new, and we were not disappointed. The new rooms are GORGEOUS!! The hotel tower itself isn't very impressive . . . from the outside, it really reminded us of an old Days Inn building or something - especially sitting right next to the gorgeous spa building and villas. I don't know why they didn't put a little more into making the exterious of their new building look more in tune with the rest of the resort, but it looks very odd. Thankfully, once inside our room, all was good. The bed was super comfortable, all of the furnishings were very nice and brand new, and we got a kick out of the little electric fireplace built into the TV credenza. We were in one of the primrose suites with a partial vineyard view (room 217). There is a gigantic 2 person bathtub - although not jetted - I'd think they would spring for that, when installing such a beautiful tub in a brand new suite. The bathroom is decked out in pretty granite, but be forewarned - the shower head is the worst ever. I don't even think you could consider it low-flow. It was nearly non-existent flow. But anyway - that's a minor complaint in the grand scheme of things. The pool and jacuzzi were awesome. We had breakfast at the restaurant, and it was pretty good, and we really enjoyed shopping in their cute gift shop. The only thing that I couldn't get myself to like was their wines - and I REALLY wanted to like them! When we visit wineries, I always purchase wine as a souvenir from our trip, as well as a delicious beverage to enjoy later. We went through 2 full tastings each in the (crazy insane busy) tasting room at SCW, and simply could not bring ourselves to purchase anything but a bottle of the Daybreak. Oh - and one more weird thing, for some reason, during our 3-day stay there, the hotel "authorized" my credit card for not only the $125 per night fee they advised us that they would, but also an additional over $1200 - 2 days before we checked out! I have no idea why they did that, but it really confused my credit card company and messed up our check out procedure when they then tried to charge the total of our stay on that card. UGH - I have to get this figured out today. So just a tip - keep an eye on your credit cards while you're staying at SCW.

Room Tip: Ask for a penrose suite with a vineyard view, but try to get one on the sides of the building away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi DeniseAZ,

Thank you for your recent review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our all new hotel tower suites and had a great time enjoying our salt water pool and Jacuzzi as well as shopping in our one of a kind Gift Boutique. Although we offer a wide selection of award-winning wines in our Tasting Room we understand that we are not always the right fit for everyone. We thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback of your visit and we hope you enjoyed your time exploring what South Coast Resort & Winery is all about. We invite you to visit us again sometime in the future for a nice getaway, an evening of elegant dining at the Vineyard Rose restaurant or perhaps a relaxing spa treatment at the GrapeSeed Spa.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    237
    84
    36
    41
See reviews for
62
635
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've never stayed at a hotel before where room service ended at 9pm. Most at least have some kind of snacks available till late at night. They do provide a fridge, so make sure you bring food if you want a late night snack. Also, my husband was told he could not wear his Speedos in the pool because it's a "family resort." What do they think? All men in Speedos are pervy? This is outrageous and insulting. We are from Australia (where, incidentally, wine tasting is free and much better - the chardonnay was not even recognisable as one) and Speedos are an Australian brand - even worn in public by the leader of the conservative political party. Also, most overseas men wear Speedos. And, if you watch swim meets, what do many men wear? Speedos! The food, however, is very good and the room and service (when it was available) was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa near the pool. We arrived early and failed to do this, so it was quite a walk. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi LAHitch,

Thank you for your recent review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful winery resort for your stay while enjoying Temecula Valley wine country. Although we understand your frustration regarding the room service hours, we make every effort to ensure that information regarding hours of operation for all facilities, including Room Service, are provided to each guest in their Passports/Key Card Holders as well as the in-room Guest Service Directory. In regards to pool attire, for your safety and health, we respectfully ask that all of our guests adhere to the rules regarding proper pool attire such as swim trunks and swimsuits that ensure our resort remains family friendly. That said, we value every comment received from our guests, as this provides us with direction for continued improvement. Customer feedback, such as yours, continues to play a contributing factor in the many room upgrades and resort improvements we are implementing today. We hope you'll visit us again soon to enjoy another stay in Southern California's Temecula Valley Wine Country.

Sincerely,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Greetings Readers! As a last minute decision we stayed overnight in Temecula for Father's Day. My Honey played golf at Journey and I went to the spa. South Coast is definitely a needle in a haystack!

We stayed in one of their villas, which was wonderfully appointed, and woke up to the orchards and vineyards outside our patio...extremely romantic!

The spa was Fab as was the restaurant. You have to try the Salmon. Yummmmy! This is another gem Family so add it to your "Get-a-way" list!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmagon, Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Good afternoon, GolfinDiva:

Thank you for your 5-star review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful villas and had a chance to experience everything that our wonderful winery resort has to offer such as spa services at the GrapeSeed spa and delicious wine-inspired cuisine at the Vineyard Rose Restaurant. We definitely think South Coast is a unique resort with a lot to offer, and we are glad we stand out from the crowd! Please come visit us again soon.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the villas. These are normally very expensive but you can get a great rate through Groupon, internet specials on their website or by joining their wine club. Our villas was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Huge double-sink bathroom with great tub spa. We brought cheese and meats to eat picnic style while out wine tasting. At night these were kept in our in-room refrigerator. When you check-in they give you a "passport book" which describes various discounts at the resort, spa and restaurant. If you are a wine club member you get even better discounts. Due to their large selection of wines, this is one of the better wine clubs. We had breakfast and dinner at their Vineyard Rose restaurant. All meals were delicious. Weather permitting, ask to sit outside on the balcony. The wine tasting room gets extremely crowded, so go early. We went Sunday afternoon and could not get to the wine bar because of the crowd (6 people deep all along the bar area). Wine club members have separate tasting area. Check out my photos of the property attached to this review. Have fun! The hot air balloons are close to property, so even if you don't take a ride, you can enjoy watching them take off (if you are up at 6am).

Room Tip: Villas #24 through 31 offer great views of the vineyards and hills beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmagon, Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi Amanda V:

Thank you for your 5-star review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa! We are happy to hear you had such a great experience during your stay in one of our beautiful villas and took the time to experience a lot of the fine amenities our wonderful winery resort has to offer: breakfast and dinner at the Vineyard Rose and visiting our Tasting Room for some wine tasting. We look forward to welcoming you back to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa soon, perhaps next time as a Club member, for a relaxing spa service at the GrapeSeed Spa or a hot air balloon ride! Until then...

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at this amazing property.Selected it based on reviews on trip advisor and no wonder it has a hight rating. We travel with a 3 year old so having access to a pool was nice.We stayed in the villa for 2 nights and wish we could stay longer.I feel like the villas is the way to go (I didn't stay at the hotel),clean crispy high quality sheets,comfortable bed and pillows,jacuzzi tub,fridge,patio, fireplace,TV and bottle of wine included with a stay. Grounds are breathtaking with amazing flowers,bushes,trees almost feels like botanic garden.Bring a camera many great spots to take pictures.We enjoyed very informative tour with Laura who was awesome,worth paying $35 per person. I also like the fact that we were able to bring our 3 year old with us-she was free.Since wine country doesn't typically cater to little ones it was a nice surprise.
We had a dinner and a breakfast at the property and it's a MUST, very very good food.I ordered Frutti de Mare-seafood stew with linguini and it was the best I ever had.My husband got a white fish with rice pilaf and it was also fantastic.Wines are great too, no wonder they won 1600 awards in the last 10 years. We met people by the pool who love it here so much that they have been coming to this property for years, bringing their families and friends and celebrating birthdays, anniversaries etc.That says a lot, they said that they have always been well taking care of and had no complains.I love their passport to excellence idea that you get upon your check in. It has coupons and discounts for variety of things around the property. I also loved their spa, got a express pedicure $ 25 for 25 minutes but Mon-friendly lady who was taking care of me spend more like 40 minutes and was super sweet and kind.We will be coming back here for sure,feels relaxing, quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Stay in a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmagon, Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Good afternoon, Evie631:

Thank you for your 5-star review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa! We are so pleased to hear you had such an excellent stay with us. We are glad you chose our winery resort for your family getaway and are happy that you enjoyed your beautiful villa room overlooking the vineyard, the comfy custom made king-sized bed, spacious spa tub, luxurious sheets and that special bottle of South Coast Winery wine.

We're delighted to learn here too that you took the extra time to enjoy some of the other fine amenities our resort has to offer: Vineyard Rose Restaurant, our GrapeSeed Spa, the breathtaking vineyard views, Wine Tasting Room, plus the Behind the Scenes wine tour.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort again soon!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the reception at the front desk to the beautifully landscaped and appointed villa this was a wonderful experience for our anniversary. Everything went well and sometimes above what I expected. The tasting was awesome with Greg sharing his knowledge and expertise. We had a wonderful dinner with average food. Our waiter Noir made the evening memorable with his service. The villa was special with everything you needed for a romantic stay including rose pedals leading to the spacious bed. A definite must for a return and only positive things to say on recommending the spa because I know that anyone that comes here will experience the same as We did. I'll save my money and come back.

Room Tip: Get a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Luis D,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful winery resort for celebrating your anniversary. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations from your wonderful dinner at the Vineyard Rose Restaurant, wine tasting in our Tasting Room and enjoying vine-based spa treatments at the GrapeSeed Spa. We pride ourselves on delivering the best customer service to our guests and we appreciate you for recognizing our great staff member Greg and Noir! We hope to welcome you back to our winery resort soon!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for the first couple of nights of our honeymoon and had a really nice stay. We decided to stay in the hotel itself rather than the villas as we had checked reviews on Tripadvisor before going. We were really happy we did as the room had recently been decorated and was really spacious, clean and tidy. The bathroom was huge and very nicely done. There was also a nice bottle of wine to welcome us. It felt very luxurious.
The gym, pool and hot tub were a nice bonus and were all really quiet when we visited.
We also took advantage of the hot air ballon ride from the hotel, which was amazing. Very expensive but worth it as a one off treat.
The only thing I found was the adjoining restaurant was very expensive. The food was lovely but main courses averaged $30 and wine was pretty expensive too. I found it a bit restrictive as the hotel is a bit of a drive to anywhere else to eat so you are a bit stuck with these prices.
The hotel would be better if it had a few other bars and restaurants close by, but this is fine for a couple of nights. I wouldn't want to stay here much longer though as there is not much to do.
Also, for the price, breakfast should really be included. But this seems to be a common theme in the more expensive hotels in California.

Room Tip: Stay in the new rooms in the hotel itself rather than the villas, they are cheaper and much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Bethan81,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful winery resort for celebrating your honeymoon. We are so glad that you had a great experience during your stay with us and that you loved your beautiful hotel suite with balcony view of the vineyard, luxurious spa tub, complimentary bottle of South Coast wine and your hot air balloon ride overlooking Temecula Valley Wine Country. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for a Behind the Scenes wine tour or wine tasting in our Tasting Room.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
0.1 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#7 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.