We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added South Coast Winery Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Getaway Special
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Temecula
fullerton,ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The rooms at this resort are great for a romantic weekend getaway. Fireplace, oversized tub, music and a bottle of wine await you. Staff was friendly, helpful and concerned in making your staff good. Will definately be back. Wine tour and tasting was very informative and definately helped one experience how wine can taste differently depending on what food you pair it with.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi seah0rse_29,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are glad to hear that your romantic weekend getaway at our winery resort exceeded your expectations and that you loved your villa accommodations and upscale amenities. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great time during your Behind the Scenes wine tour and found it so informative. We invite you to come back soon perhaps for vine based spa treatments at the GrapeSeed Spa or an amazing dinner at the Vineyard Rose restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    172
    59
    30
    34
See reviews for
33
451
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked this last minute on a great Travelzoo deal. My sister came from out of state and we drove down from the OC to stay one night in a villa. We thought the villas were beautiful, spacious and loved the fireplace and jacuzzi tub (although it would be more romantic with a husband than a sister!). We thought the grounds were beautiful (although probably nicer when everything is in bloom later in the year) and the hotel itself is quite nice. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast - which was wonderful. Very generous and tasty entrees (the egg white omelet was impressive!) and the prices were quite reasonable, especially for a hotel restaurant. We wanted to book a massage but they were pretty full for the times we wanted. Will definitely go back with hubby for a quick romantic getaway soon.

Room Tip: Note that they are doing some construction now, so when you book you might want to ask to be as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi embie,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are glad to hear that your last minute weekend getaway at our winery resort exceeded your expectations and that you loved your beautiful and spacious villa accommodations with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. We are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience at the Vineyard Rose restaurant and enjoyed your delicious breakfast.. We invite you to come back soon perhaps for vine based spa treatments at the GrapeSeed Spa, an amazing dinner at the Vineyard Rose restaurant or a romantic weekend getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Arrived last Monday, February 18th, and stayed through Thursday morning. We had 2 different villas, as we booked rather late so we had to move rooms. No big deal--we had the King Villa on nights one and two, and were a little worried about 'downgrading,' but were not only surprised at how smooth the transition was (they had our room ready at 10am), but surprised at how nice the second room was! The view was not nearly as nice, but the room was--in the winter, it didn't seem to matter.

Ate at the Vineyard Rose for both lunches (excellent), and ordered room service for dinners. Very good as well, although we just ordered simple stuff. The wine tastings were great (Jennifer rules). I am a member, so it was easy to just print our tasting tickets and start the day. Had a good time at the other wineries, but this is my favorite. Great wines, good staff, great food, and great rooms. I will be coming back for a fourth time, hopefully soon.

Cheers from Minnesota!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The wife and I enjoyed a 2 night getaway at the South Coast Winery on a Travelzoo deal. When we arrived on Sunday it was more crowded than I've ever seen it there, the wine business in Temecula is doing well. Our room was ready at 4pm and we got to the pool before we would loose sun, but a group of women all went in mass into the jaquzi so we just went back into our room to use our own jaquzi tub. The villas are very nice, though looking a bit worn now. We ate in the Vintage Rose restaurant on property that night, the food and service were excellent. Overall we enjoyed our time here very much....would recommend coming here. The "behind the scenes" wine tour was fantastic.....do that as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The villa room we stayed in was beautiful, the service great (rose petals scattered before we arrived), and the bathroom jacuzzi was excellent (large, good jets, no shortage of hot water).

We also ate at the restaurant for breakfast and it was gourmet, but with a large portion. We were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Go in the summer so the vines are blooming. February it is barren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEMECULA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We enjoy eating here, the food is good and prices surprisingly reasonable. We have spent a night in their villas and they are very cozy and comfortable.
If only the owner would do something about the terrible smell as you walk in and out of the wine tasting area. Whenever we take friends it is awful.
They have been told about the problem but??????!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel and services very good. However, they did not mention that major construction was going on either at time of reservation or at check-in. Due to the construction noise,I asked for another room.They tried to up-sell to a more expensive room or move to an inferior room. At the suggestion of the check out clerk, I wrote to management and did not receive an acknowledgement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Team Member at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi JAD624,

Thank you for taking the time to review South Coast Winery Resort & Spa after your recent visit. We are so glad you enjoyed your Villa suite and experienced great service during your stay. Please know we appreciate your feedback and value each and every comment received from our guests, as this provides us with direction for continued improvement. While our team of dedicated professionals makes every effort to alleviate the inconvenience associated with construction to ensure each guests’ stay is pleasurable and uninterrupted, we sometimes miss the mark and apologize. The good news is our new hotel is slated to be opened by March 1, 2013! Please send us your email address to allow resort management to personally send you a special invitation to enjoy our new all suite addition. We would love the opportunity to demonstrate to you our famous South Coast hospitality the next time you are in Temecula.

Cheers,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
#4 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.