We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added South Coast Winery Resort & Spa to your Saves list
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Clemente, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excelent Experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here the other day. Wow!!! Beautiful!!! We loved our Villa by the pool. It was very large, and so romantic with the fireplace and jacuzzi tub and a wonderful bottle of wine. They thought of everything from coffee in the room to q-tips and bath salts. The bed was also very comforable. The grounds are very nice too.
We did go to the wine tasting room and yes it was crowded but that is to be expected this time of year. The woman who helped us was great!
We had a wonderful time and will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    213
    79
    35
    39
See reviews for
51
581
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The wine tasting is not cheap, and they were decent. I would not say awesome, just decent. The tasting room was crowded, and the servers were not interested in chatting. I would not recommend buying the wine at the shop - i found MANY of the same for cheaper at the grocery stores in the area. The outside area is quite beautiful, but inside was like a zoo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The reason this winery is running a great deal on Groupon is because they are under construction. My vineyard view villa faces an ugly unfinished 7 story building. And that view comes with the sound of a grinding cement mixer outside my window (Villa 2303). I don't deny anyone the right to better their property or expand, but 1) Don't run a groupon during this time, it's just cheap and mean and 2) Tell me when I book so I have the option not to be subjected to this. I called and complained and got a free breakfast, but would rather have peace and quiet. I wish I could attach an audio file so you all could hear how loud it is.

Room Tip: Don't believe the "vineyard view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a lovely place to spend a weekend. Our king villa was cozy and quiet, the grounds were beautiful and the service was excellent. Even if you're not a big wine taster, it's worth a trip for the hotel itself. We were able to walk through the vineyards and orange groves with a beautiful scenic vista of Temecula. The stay includes a free bottle of wine in your room. We're not big red wine drinkers, so we asked to have ours exchanged for white. No problem! A busboy delivered a new bottle within half an hour. The hot water could have been hotter and the bath towels a little bigger, but those were my only complaints, and minor ones at that!

Room Tip: All the rooms have private patios with hedges surrounding them. We had a vineyard view; it was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed Friday through Sunday and had an incredible time. The resort is beautiful, the wine tasting was great. We did a private tour of the facility, got to meet one of the wine makers and tasted some really good wine. (They really do a nice job on the Red Wine) we bought close to two cases. Our room or Villa was spacious with a private patio that overlooked a small vineyard. My wife was having coffee out on the patio on Saturday morning and was delighted to see the Hot Air Balloons floating over the patio. The room it self, was nicely apppointed, roman style jacuzzi tub for two and separate shower, comfortable king size bed, refrigeration, and a bottle of their Syrah compliments of the hotel. Dining was just as good at the Vineyard Rose, We ate dinner their two nights in a row, and breakfast before we left Sunday. Highly recommended, and we shall return.

Room Tip: They are called Villas, nicely appointed, private patio and within walking distance to the wine tast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Resort in 11/2012 and the hotel is the best in Temecula. The Villas are spacious and the food at the hotel is wonderful. The wine there is also very good and they have won several awards for there wines. We also went to a few winery tours in the area which was also very informative. Temecula Old Town is always a good way to walk around and have a bite to eat. This was a great weekend trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

South Coast Winery is a great way to relax and spend a few days. Just got back from a sales retreat there and the property is very nice. All of the rooms are "villa" style so you don't have to worry about noisy neighbors above you. Grounds are well kept and there is a nice pool and a fitness center. If there is a downside, it is that you are inTemecula. Temecula is nice but it is not the same as Santa Barbara or Nappa. That being said, you can still find some nice wine tasting (make sure to visit Brier Winery. The menu at the restaurant is a bit limiting and when I asked for a burger they couldn't do it. But there is an In-n-Out right down the street. All in all I would bring the wife there for a weekend getaway in the future. Probably not the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Temecula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
#4 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.