We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added South Coast Winery Resort & Spa to your Saves list
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Label Package
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Temecula
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked a group at the resort for a business trip and was thrilled with the accomodations and the staff. The staff in every area of the resort were attentive, friendly, remembered details about you beyond your name and villa number and were very accomodating of even the smallest request. We had a king villa with a premium view and it was amazing! Totally private, you can't even see anyone elses windows or villas from your patio. The patio was surrounded by vines full of grapes and in the morning we watched hot air balloons float softly by our private patio while we enjoyed coffee and grapes.

We had a private wine tasting and dinner in the Carter Reserve Room and the service and quality of the food were top notch! The staff is knowledgeable about the wine and provided excellent recommendations for pairing the food and wine. We felt like we were the only people at the resort that evening despite there being at least two other rehearsal dinners going on. The resort has beautiful spaces both indoors and out.

I would recommend this resort to anyone visiting the area. The Villas are unique, tastefully decorated and give you a sense of privacy you won't get at a hotel. The cost was reasonable given the accomodations and ammenities provided.

Room Tip: The extra cost of the premium view rooms are worth it! Try to avoid rooms too near the pool, others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    188
    64
    31
    35
See reviews for
38
480
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

South Coast has beautiful villas, really nice wines, a great restaurant. The tasting room is always lively & festive.They also have a beautiful pool and spa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena ,CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A large winery,inn and spa with a great wine tasting bar and fabulous ,knowledgable, servers. Also had a great gift shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Thanks to the South Coast winery resort and Spa...for a wonderful birthday. We booked 2 nights for a get away and enjoyed a beautiful suite upgrade (via Trip advisor) , a lovely room overlooking the grape vineyards immediately adjacent to the fabulous spa and salt water pool.

We loved all the "extras" with our package including discounts on wine tasting, free entrees with breakfast and lovely wine in the room. Service was excellent, the hotel staff just charming and willing to share their favorite wineries and places to visit in Temecula. The balloons came over our patio each morning while we enjoyed the coffee provided. The on premise restaurant was great as well as the lovely gift shop. The spa tub was really relaxing... and added to the luxury.
One of our sinks got stopped up and maintenance was out in a flash to fix it.

We would highly recommend the resort to friends and plan to come back in the near future with other couples.
Steve and Laurie from Anaheim Hills

Room Tip: We enjoyed the rooms across from the spa with a vineyard view. Watch for spa package deals on living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We can't say enough. It is a beautiful resort and we found every staff member to be as accomodating to our needs as they could be. Registration was a snap & lots of information was given. When we got to our "villa" we found that it was luxuriously appointed...gorgeous bedding, a fireplace, a fabulous bathroom with jaguzzi tub & large separate shower, lovely bathrobes & french doors leading to our private patio with vineyard view. A bottle of wine was even waiting for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful pool, had a happy hour in the bar area of the restaurant, dined on the outdoor patio...and as we woke up, we enjoyed our coffee on our patio watching the hot air balloons float by. We did not want to leave & we will absolutely come back to this resort. Truly, it is wonderful.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "bad" villas here. Each is separate from the next...all s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have been coming to South Coast for years and have always loved the experience. The villas are wonderful and quiet in a perfect atmosphere. You have your own private vinard in your back yard, jacuzzi tub, etc. It is very romantic. The pool and SPA are equally excellent. The resteraunt is totally excellent. Best place to eat in the area. I highly recommend the wine as well. I will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Any villa will work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I didn't stay in the villas. I visited the spa. I took advantage of the relax and revive spa package. It was the first time I had a massage, but it was one of the best experiences I have had. Everything was clean, and there were so many toiletries provided that made you feel comfortable. The staff was very professional, and it was a great gift for my birthday. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#6 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.