We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chips & Salsa in Old Town Temecula!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa's Cantina

Rosa's Cantina
28636 Front St., Suite 109, Temecula, CA 92590-2720
(909) 695-2428
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 336 Restaurants in Temecula
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Hinsdale, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Chips & Salsa in Old Town Temecula!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I had a hankering for chips and salsa while visiting Old Town Temecula and Rosa's did not disappoint! It's not a fancy place, but it's a comfortable environment. You have to place your order at the counter and then they call your name when it's ready, but the dining room is spacious and they also have quaint outside seating. We ordered the "Everyday/All day" special- grilled chicken plate, and I must say it was way better than we thought it would be. It included generous portions of rice, beans, chips and salsa, and your choice of tortilla's. (We couldn't finish it) They also have a "Cantina" where you can order a tasty alcoholic beverage to wash down your lunch or dinner. Rosa's definitely on the "must try" if your in your Old Town Temecula.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“El Blandos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We go to Rosa's Cantina often because it is easy and quick when we are in Old Town for live music in the evening. However, we call it "El Blandos" because the food is very average. Lots of cheese, not much taste. Now that we are older and our tummies can't handle lots of spice, Rosa's is safe. If you are looking for large portions to fill you up, it's a good place. Prices are average, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of Temecula's Delights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Definitely my family's favorite spot for Mexican cuisine, Rosa's Cantina is always a treat. The décor is bright and festive, and they feature an extensive menu with delicious choices. Prices are kept low by having guests order and pick-up their meals at a counter. They always provide an excellent salsa bar (but it would be helpful if they labeled some of their various choices, e.g. "hot", "mild", etc.). The kids will have fun at the window to the kitchen which allows them to watch the tortillas being made fresh. The restaurant is located on the west side of the freeway, away from the crowds of the mall, wine country and casino, but still near Old Town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California, United States
1 review
“Off the hook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

During every visit they deliever the best food in a very timely manner. I have never had a bad experance and I highly recommend Rosa's Cantina to everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“beautiful entrance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

the building is historic...that is about where it ended for me, as not a big Mexican food person I would say it was alright. the other parties love the food so it must be good...more of a fast food setup than fine dining. the others liked the fish tacos and the chicken fajita. i had the steak fajita and felt it was loaded with too many peppers and not enough beef. if you like Mexican this is your place...if not oh well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosa's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosa's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.