We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockafellas

Rockafellas
40335 Winchester rd ste K, Temecula, CA
19517193354
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 330 restaurants in Temecula
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The food was great! The service was even better! My wife and I will definitely be back! Come hungry because the food portions are way more than enough!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    12
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“OMG! It's awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

You'll swear you're in New York (except the staff is much friendlier. It is the best Pastrami sandwich I've had in years. Could only eat half but that made my wife happy because she got the other half when I got home. The sandwich was served on a varied choice of breads (I ordered rye) and accompanied with a side of cold slaw, Italian pasta salad, etc. Along with the beverages (I had water) they brought a tray of really good pickles, sauerkraut and green tomatoes. They have an incredibly varied menu and a wonderful dessert offering. Staff was very attentive, prompt and courteous. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“NYC Comes to Temecula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I recently ate at Rockafellas with a friend for lunch. We were greeted and seated promptly. We quickly got a bowl of real kosher dill pickles and pickled cabbage brought to the table while we perused the menu. It is huge... from deli sandwiches to pizza to matzo ball soup and knishes. I ordered the cup of beef barley soup and half sandwich combo (rare roast beef on rye), and my friend ordered half a reuben with sweet and sour cabbage soup. These were $9.99 each, but they were huge. The meat was piled 2" high like you expect from a true deli. The "cups" of soup were truly bowl-sized, and there was a generous cup of good cole slaw on the side. Whole sandwiches would easily serve two. Beer and wine are available. One cannot overlook the fact that they have a large bakery inside as well. Cannolis, strudel, cookies, etc. LOTS to choose from! And perfect to take home if you are too full from the meal itself. They also serve breakfast on weekends. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Real NY Deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The food was fantastic but I only gave them four stars because the service left something to be desired.

First let me tell you about the food. The sandwiches are HUGE. I ordered the # 2 corned beef, pastrami & turkey on rye, the corned beef was tender and tasty and the pastrami was lean as I had ordered it, the turkey was perfect, the rye bread was the freshest I've ever had. I wound up taking 1/2 of it home and I can't wait to dig into it again.

My husband had the # 9, corned beef and coleslaw on an onion roll. It is served open faced which made it a bit messy to eat but he said it was delicious.

We took home a huge brownie to have later for dessert, it was a bit dry and tasted like it had been made with cocoa or maybe dark chocolate, it was good but by far not one of the best I'd ever had.

As for their prices. There are definitely in line with other deli's and for what you get it's well worth the price.

Now, regarding the service. They were quick to bring us a menu and take our order but then it seemed to take forever to get our food. It appeared that they were preparing a large take out order, but we waited probably close to 1/2 an hour for our food to appear which I thought was a bit ridiculous. When we were served a waiter (or bus boy?) brought it over set it down and ran. I needed my drink refilled and my husbands potato salad sat up there on the serving window. I had to get up and go to the counter to get my drink refilled and my husband had to ask her to bring his salad. There seemed to be a lot of standing around behind the counter and most of the waitpersons seemed to be working the other end of the restaurant. Since we were there before the place became at all crowded I couldn't see any reason for the semi bad service.

The moral of this review is......definitely go there, eat there, and really enjoy and love the food...but don't go if you are on a time constraint, have a short fuse, or a short lunch hour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place is the real deal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

So nice to have a real New York style Deli here in Temecula..great food .. Great service .. They offer a huge deli menu and also an extensive Italian menu.. A MUST try !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockafellas also viewed

 

Been to Rockafellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockafellas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.