We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast around.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broken Yolk Cafe

Broken Yolk Cafe
26495 Ynez Rd, Temecula, CA 92591
+1 855-229-9655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 337 Restaurants in Temecula
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Private Dining
Description: Hungry? Then Get In Here! Serving home-style food since 1979, the Broken Yolk Cafe is a favorite among locals and hungry visitors alike. With a strong dedication to good food and equally good service, the Broken Yolk has built a reputation for its large menu, ample portions and freshly-made flavor. Real shredded hash browns - not dehydrated potatoes. Salsa made fresh daily - never from a can or jar. With over thirteen different omelets plus a large variety of breakfast favorites including pancakes, waffles and French toast, Broken Yolk satisfies even the heartiest of diners - all in a clean, comfortable and casual atmoshpere. Breakfast is served all day long, but if it's lunch you're craving, try one of our signature salads, juicy half-pound burgers or street taco plates. Whenever you're hungry, Broken Yolk is your place for fresh food served everyday of the week. Call or e-mail us about our private meeting room!
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best breakfast around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Smiles from everyone who work there. Food is always hot and good. Coffee never stops flowing. Relaxed atmosphere. Staff top notch, from the bus boy to the managers. Great place to go to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun City, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast, but.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've been to the Broken Yolk for breakfast twice and for lunch once. I highly recommend the breakfast but would suggest you avoid the Reuben sandwhich if you go for lunch. The breakfast menu is extensive, the portions are large, and the food is great.

Unfortunately, when we went for lunch we both decided to have the Reuben sandwhich. What little bit we could eat of the sandwhich was tasty but the corned beef was so tough we couldn't even tear it with our teeth. We picked through both sandwhiches to eat the few tender pieces that were in it. Good thing there were a lot of fries to fill up on!

They don't have enough parking so the regular parking situation is a nightmare and handicap parking is impossible. My husband is handicapped and getting a handicap spot is impossible so I have to unload him and his wheelchair up by the restaurant and then drive around waiting for a spot to open up.

If I could break up the star rating I'd give the breakfast menu and service a 5 star and the lunch and parking a 1 star!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We loved all the choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great place with tons of choices.They have regular menu and lighter menu for health conscious people.I love that they include # of calories per dish.I ordered omelette with egg whites called "The Mom" and it was delicious.Modern decor,friendly staff,fresh ingredients. would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“A ton of good food but you have to come early to be seated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Broken Yolk Cafe is a chain restaurant primarily known for their great breakfasts. This one recently opened in Temecula and I knew it would be a hit the minute it opened. I have had three breakfasts here since they opened and have given the management time to adjust before I wrote this review to be fair, so now it's time.

The Broken Yolk took over the space formerly occupied by Ruby's and the Manhattan Deli which were both good restaurants. The restaurant is centrally located on Ynez Road across from COSTCO and between Winchester and Overland overpasses on the east side of Hwy 15. Parking is ample, but usually filled with diners in the AM.

Ambience - Nice and completely redesigned interior with booths, tables and good counter space for diners. Clean bathrooms. Flat screen TVs on walls with news and sports. Has an upgraded diner and pleasant but busy feel to it.

Service - Service counts where I am concerned and despite the usually crowded surroundings, the servers do a good job of getting your coffee and food to you on time and checking to see if you have coffee and other things you might need. High points here.

Food - Good menu, good food and lots of it. This is the type of place you come to if you are starved and want to fill up. Be careful what you order because the portions are big and unless you are a big eater, you will be bringing home a doggie bag.

On a diet? Well, be careful to check the menu for low-cal meals. They are there, but again you get a lot of food. I would suggest that you might want to share a meal with your partner because there is enough to go around.

Summary - This is a great place to eat. Good food with huge portions. Good service, pleasant atmosphere. Decent prices. One of the best breakfast places in town, but they also serve lunch and I did not check out the dinner menu. Sorry.

Important tip! This place is VERY popular, so you have to get there early if you want to be seated, or else you'll be waiting a looooong time. Bon apetite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food! The service is not so great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've been here for breakfast and for lunch. The food is great. Had the Cobb Salad and asked for it mixed in the back...they didn't...had to send it back, and finally got it right. The omletes are great. A person in my party there said his omlete was the best ever....bacon, chees and artichokes! But...the service. Had to ask for water refills EVERY time...never "automatic" like most places. Had to ask for fork and napkin. Had to ask for straws. Each separatly as we only saw the waitrees once again on her own. We were there at the end of the lunch time, like 1:30-2pm on a Thursday afternoon. They were busy when we got there but by the time we got our food, the restaurant was pretty quiet. Not too sure if I'll return to this one. There are many breakfast/lunch restaurants in this town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broken Yolk Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Broken Yolk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broken Yolk Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.