We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Callaway Vineyard & Winery

Callaway Vineyard & Winery
32720 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591
800-472-2377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 79 things to do in Temecula
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Callaway Vineyard & Winery currently grows seven different varietals. The winery property now has 20 acres of Estate vineyards planted with Viognier, Syrah, Dolcetto, Zinfandel, Sangiovese and Cabernet Sauvignon grapes. The Lin family owns an additional 200 acres of property at the corner of De Portola Road and Monte de Oro, of which approximately 50 acres are currently planted with Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon grapes. Callaway Winery & Nature...At Callaway, we believe we are merely stewards of our land. The vineyards are farmed with the philosophy that seeks to sustain, for the long term, the viability of the land. From the winery, one can see the many specially constructed nesting boxes and perches nestled throughout the vineyards, which encourage a stable population of hawks and owls. Cover crops are encouraged to grow between the vineyard rows to provide habitat for beneficial insects. These are but a few ways we encourage nature to be nature!Callaway Winery & Winemaking...Approachable, flavorful and extremely well-balanced wines are synonymous with the Callaway name. The time honored, Callaway tradition of using unusually cold temperatures during fermentation to slow and prolong the process, allows our wines to retain their natural fruit flavors and aromas. And the result - wines that are fruit forward, food friendly and the perfect complement to today's eclectic lifestyles. Wines made to be enjoyed. From our vineyards to your table.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A modern structure, with views of the valley, enhance the grounds of this winery. A restaurant and wedding grounds also adorn this place. Staff for wine tasting were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    10
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A cool spot on a hot day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Friendly, cool and open atmosphere from a long established winery in Temecula. Consistently good wine.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“afternoon out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Food, is very good, location is beautiful, with great views, wine is good. The food is a little pricey, but most of the vineyards that serve food are. The waiters are a bit snobish.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relax with a glass of wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Temecula is a fun place to go and visit the many wineries on the path! Offering wine tasting to people over 21. However, you really should take a driver that is not gonna drink! Or take a limo.
With so many samples of wines and all tasting excellent, you forget how many you've tasted. The location, scenery is unforgettable. Beautiful place to have a wedding! I think it will take you a full weekend to view as many wineries as possible if searching for that perfect place for your wedding. But a fun way to enjoy yourself and make it a day, is the limo and the safest ....

Callaway Vineyard & Winery wines are only available at the winery and are offered for tasting and purchase in our Visitor’s Center Tasting Room. Guests are encouraged to select six Special Selection or Winemaker’s Reserve wines to taste. Our Tasting Room representatives are available to answer questions and help suggest the wines that might be enjoyed the most by each individual guest!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've been in this valley for over 20 years and if I want to take friends coming in from out of town to a winery with a good tour I take them to Calloway. Calloway has been here since the beginning and they still have what makes a wine tour great - knowlegable guides and good wines. Their prices are also very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callaway Vineyard & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Callaway Vineyard & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callaway Vineyard & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.