We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ponte Vineyard Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponte Vineyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ponte Vineyard Inn to your Saves list
Ponte Vineyard Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35001 Rancho California Rd, Temecula, CA 92591   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$176 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Temecula
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ponte Vineyard Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Fabulous place to relax!! My daughter and I stayed at Ponte for two nights while visiting Temecula. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Temecula after our visit here! Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The grounds were beautiful and well kept, but not overly manicured, (do not like to stay in a Disneyland atmosphere). We had a room at the back facing the vineyards and in the morning we walked through fields of grapevines and orange groves. The food was expensive but very good(this was true of all restaurants located at Temecula Wineries). We enjoyed visiting different wineries but both my daughter and I agreed that if we came back, we would spend most of our time at the Ponte Inn. Sitting on our patio we enjoyed the vista, seeing ducks, and rabbits, and listening to the frogs in the nearby pond.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy L, Manager at Ponte Vineyard Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi BGildea,
We are so glad you were able to have a relaxing stay at the hotel. This time of year is the prettiest for our gardens and it also brings out the rabbits and ducks, which can be quite entertaining. We hope you'll stay with us the next time you come for an escape to the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    51
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
64
258
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We loved the hotel; open, spacious, upscale yet comfortable. It had an overall European ambiance. The suite was very well appointed and absolutely huge. We enjoyed the courtyard and views of the vineyard We had a great outdoor lunch . We did some wine tasting in the area and deemed Ponte our overall favorite. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Suite was great. For a regular room, ask for the front corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy L, Manager at Ponte Vineyard Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi KathyS64,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed the wine. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay as pleasant as your next please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Although we had a wonderful time in Temecula during the long Easter Weekend, and enjoyed some things about the Ponte Vineyard Inn, the experience was not what was expected. After reading other Trip Advisor reviews prior to booking, one would conclude that the Ponte was an upscale venue, especially considering the price point. Not so much.

Upon arriving, you are greeted with a dirt (yes, dirt) entry into a dirt drive with a dirt parking lot. Do not bring your best vehicle, as it will trashed with dust. The staff was very friendly and greeted us warmly with a glass of Ponte bubbly to celebrate the weekend and we were taken to our Premier King on the second floor overlooking the vineyards. It was quite a small room for a "Premier" status, with a small single sink bathroom (I can't remember the last time we had a single sink bathroom) and very cheap furnishings.

The resturant was excellent however, serving an eclectic variety of dishes that were well prepared and well presented. Dinner for two with 2 glasses of wine each was about $150 with tip. We retired to the "Cellar Bar" after dinner, which was properly dark, but loud, that night featuring a sax player acompanied by an electronic band track. A three piece Jaz band might have been more appropriate for the ambiance of a vineyard inn setting. A short walk through the vineyards to the Ponte Winery the next day allowed us to sample some of their offerings, as well as have the opportunity to eat lunch in an informal outdoor setting.

In summary, the Ponte Vineyard Inn seems to be trying very hard in a very competitive marketplace. But, upscale? Not exactly.

Room Tip: Be certain to book a room on the second (top) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy L, Manager at Ponte Vineyard Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Michael B,
We are sorry that you did not find that Ponte Vineyard Inn delivered on it's promise of luxury accommodations. Please allow me to address a few of your concerns.
Yes, our parking lot is "dirt" or rather, decomposed granite. We have had concerns about dusty cars but we promise, there is a method to our madness. Because our hotel is surrounded by working vineyards, and the hotel brings in more road traffic, we use the dg lot as a part of our sustainability initiative; dg captures and filters oils, fluids and other liquid emissions and keeps them out of the water shed as well as capturing runoff from rain so it can be properly filtered back into the vineyard. We are sorry that you found your room to be small, our premier rooms feature premium views but are not a suite so there is only one sink.
We are glad that you enjoyed the food and wine on your stay. Our guests are the number one driver of change at the hotel so we truly appreciate your comments. We will look into music in the Cellar Lounge and keep your recommendation in mind. If you would like to further discuss your stay, please feel free to email us at info@pontevineyardinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed recently for two nights at Ponte Vineyard. The property was beautiful and situated among the vineyards which is a unique concept. The property has a beautiful spanish hacienda style with a large courtyard great for sitting out by the firepits or just viewing the mountains and vineyards. Our room was exceptionally clean, updated and had a nice balcony over the vineyards. The service at the hotel and restaurants was exceptional. You can tell they were eager to make you comfortable and went out of their way to accomodate some dinner reservations we had and changed. Dinner at Bouquet one night was delicious from appetizers to the main course and our second night we ate at the Winery Restaurant, also very good food and service. I would definitely recommend to others, in particular to couples and groups of friends. This is the type of place to just soak in the atmosphere and slow down a bit. We would be happy to stay here again in our travels to the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are in good position and views. Our room had an exterior balcony (king premium), bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy L, Manager at Ponte Vineyard Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Eric301,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the inn and for visiting us all the way from Arlington. We are so glad you were able to experience Bouquet Restaurant. It's a must-do when staying here and it can be tricky to get in without reservations. The next time you need a break from the hustle and bustle, give us a call. We would love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I just stayed here last week and our expectations were high. The PVI was so much more then what we expected; from check in to check out the staff at the Inn were always kind and genuinely pleasant.
We had a very nice ground floor room with a patio that overlooked the vineyards, it was so peaceful to sit out there to catch the sunrise and see the hot air balloons float bye. Outside our front door was a gorgeous fountain and fire pit; at night you can sit out there and listen to the crickets and frogs while enjoying a nice glass of port.
The Bouquet restaurant and Cellar Lounge were also spectacular. We had drinks and sliders at the cellar lounge one the first night and everything was great, They have happy hour M-Th and its all top shelf stuff. Friday we had a white linen dinner at Bouquet and our food was on par if not better than some Michelin starred restaurants I have dined at.
The Ponte Vineyard Inn charmed its way into my Top 5 hotel stays of all time. I will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy L, Manager at Ponte Vineyard Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi robertmm1,
I have to say, you've charmed your way into our Top 5 reviewers of all time! Thank you for the great comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll be back soon. We'll make sure to pass your compliments onto the Chef at Bouquet Restaurant as well. If there is anything we can do to better accommodate you on your next stay, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Myself and three girlfriends had a great getaway at the Ponte Vineyard Inn. The rooms were beautiful with a view of the vineyards. The staff was extremely friendly. We had an excellent lunch at the adjoining restaurant. We went during the week and also wine tasted at two local wineries. i would recommend going during the week if possible

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy L, Manager at Ponte Vineyard Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi sflanagan320,
Thank you for visiting us all the way from Bend! You live in a lovely place, so we know you have excellent judgement. We appreciate your positive comments and hope you'll come back to visit us again soon, please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your next experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was NOT impressed with the Ponte Vineyard Inn, nor was my husband. For $339 I expected high quality furnishings, not the squeaky pine wardrobe with a bad stain job. I honestly thought the bed, wardrobe, desk and chairs were pressboard with a veneer finish at first - then my husband examined them more carefully. The bed mattress, pillows and linens (all white) were nice though, and so was the bathroom - although I really would have liked a bathtub instead of the large shower. If you are a large person you may find the water closet a bit tight. The room overall was small and really did not impress. I expected much more, especially as there were no other facilities (pools, jacuzzi, etc.).

I was also frustrated with the way you are nickled and dimed - like on a cruise ship. For example, we ordered two "breakfast baskets" after I was told they cost $25. However, that $25 did not include taxes, a $5 "delivery fee" or the tips for the TWO delivery people bringing them up (and they sent yet a 3rd delivery person with our missing spoons!). The total cost was nearly $40. $40 versus $25 would have tipped the scales in favor of going to a restaurant instead.

The bellhop made a big deal about the security feature in the elevator (needing room key cards) which was a joke as a large unmonitored staircase in front of the elevators provides easy access to the second floor to anyone not intimidated by the solitary wall sign stating "guests only."

We were not able to eat at the restaurant as it was "fully booked" although every time I walked by I saw many empty tables. Instead we were directed to the Cellar Lounge for snacks (as we declined their offer to make a reservation for us elsewhere). We did not want to drive after tasting numerous wines - that was why we booked at the winery in the first place. The staff raved about the "great live band" playing that evening. It was a Mexican Mariachi type band which played only Spanish-language songs. We bought a drink and waited hoping for a bit of variety - but it never came. We watched MANY groups/couples come and go quickly - they were probably like us - hoping for some nice jazz, soft rock or similar music. Very disappointing.

I do think the staff was good, but they did not justify the cost of the room or the overall experience. Perhaps young 20-somethings would feel more comfortable here. As a couple in our 50's we did not feel the Inn was directed to what we cared about. And the music made us actually feel unwelcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy L, Manager at Ponte Vineyard Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Valerie J,
We are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Ponte Vineyard Inn but we thank you for bringing your complaints to our attention. Please allow me to address them.
We took great care in selecting furnishings and design for each of our guest rooms and we went with showers instead of bathtubs to save water as part of our sustainability initiative. As for the breakfast baskets, you should have been informed of the delivery fee and we apologize for the confusion. We are working with our front desk associates to make sure pricing and delivery information for all room service items is transparent.
We understand your confusion on the security feature in the elevator. Mostly, this feature is in place to ensure guests in The Cellar Lounge do not accidentally go to the third floor when they are attempting to leave the bar, potentially bothering guests on that level. Of course, someone who wanted to go up could always take the stairs, but we do have security in the lobby area on busy nights to prevent this. The music in the bar is carefully selected and primarily includes soft rock, jazz and Spanish guitar (the music you experienced). Overall, our guests compliment us on the music choices, but of course preferences vary and we are sorry that it did not create an enjoyable environment for you and your husband. It sounds like dining at Bouquet would have been more suited to your liking, and we are sorry we could not get you in. Bouquet Restaurant fills up quickly on weekends which is why we ask every hotel guest to make a reservation before their stay if they plan to enjoy dinner there.
If you would like to further discuss your experience at the hotel, we would love to hear from you. Please feel free to call or email us at info@pontevineyardinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponte Vineyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponte Vineyard Inn

Address: 35001 Rancho California Rd, Temecula, CA 92591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponte Vineyard Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by over 300 acres of vineyard, Ponte Vineyard Inn is a four-diamond, mission-style boutique hotel located next to Ponte Winery and within walking distance to several neighboring wineries. Each of the Inn’s 60 finely-appointed rooms offer vineyard views from a private patio or balcony, and include complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat screen HDTV and other upscale amenities. Two spectacular Grand Suites boast 1,360 square-feet of space, including a fireplace, living room, dining room, fully-stocked wine and beverage refrigerator, butler’s pantry, master bath and built-in closet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ponte Vineyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponte Vineyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.