We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has everything at a reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28220 Jefferson Ave, Temecula, CA 92590   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This place has everything at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I'd actually rate the place excellent except that the outdoor pool was freezing and filled with bugs. I guess its a bit cold to be swimming, but if it were a heated pool and kept clean I think people would have swam in it, because people were coming and going out of the pool area to see its condition, then leaving when they saw how dirty and cold it was. People were swimming in the indoor pool, including me, but its a small pool and still on the chilly side unless you were able to be near the heating port to the pool. It was only enough to get in, do a couple of short laps, just enjoy being in the pool and then they'd get out after 15 minutes. I stayed in for about 45 minutes, and that was plenty. I thought there would be a jacuzzi, but no luck. They could definitely use it, I think people would enjoy it.

Room was clean and kept up well. The king bed was comfy, and the microwave and frig were a plus. No freezer area for ice or to keep your cooler's ice packs in. I had bought a small pint of ice cream, and thought I could keep it in there, and was disappointed that what I couldn't eat melted. (I tried to keep it cool in some ice - funny thing is it turned into a milkshake consistency then turned bad fast) Anyhow, the room was otherwise nice and the housekeeping staff accommodated small requests I had for extra towels and cleaning it later in day because they always came by early at around 9AM when we'd go downstairs to grab some breakfast stuff. We'd bring food back to the room and find a note saying they had come by, but since we had a "do Not Disturb" sign up, they'd come back later when we called for it. So if you do the same and leave early with the intention of coming back, put your sign up, or they'll be in it when you return and you can't come into the room or they have to leave.

The main gripe I had is that from the handicapped parking, you have to go all the way around through the front door, thru the lobby and around to the elevators, (a big U shape path) when there's a door right next to the handicapped spaces that's almost right in front of the elevators. But its unaccessible because of a fence that encloses it for a small outdoor area. they should make an opening thru the fence so that people can just go straight in. It's a pain to go around when there's a perfectly good door entrance if the low fence weren't there. My husband could jump it, but I have a bad back and use a walker and a cane, so I couldn't. There's a keycard access thru the door, so its a safe way to enter, so I'm not sure why they would put the fence there. Weird and stupid.

Breakfast munchies were good; plenty of different things to eat, eggs and sausages were good quality and tasty, but not anything special to rave about. Its acceptable and convenient, and I enjoyed having this service and made the effort to get up and grab it. You can always put in frig and reheat stuff too, if you're not the type who eats early. Breakfast hours end at 9:30, so you have to get up early to get it. Wish it was till 10, but I won't rate it any less for closing early. I have been to other Springhill suites where it does go to 10 tho, so I just needed to get up a little earlier to get food.

This was a comfortable stay for me and my husband for a quick weekend trip. Would go back to this hotel again. I like this chain of properties and wanted to check this place out for future trips to the area. The hotel is a quick drive to the downtown area where there's antique shops, and lots of great places to eat.

BTW,we tried the front St restaurant run by Baily's winery at the recommendation of the hotel front desk staff. Excellent place. We went upstairs to the fine dining area, rather than eat in the bar area, and it was a wonderful dining experience. I'd go there again in a heartbeat. They have a prix fixe special that for a few dollars more, you can add an appetizer, soup/salad and dessert to any entree. Wow, its great food and service!! It was A LOT of food. Try their butternut squash raviolis and butternut squash soup. I'd rate the dining 10+!!! For the 4-course dinner (we both had a surf & turf special) and a bottle of wine, it cost us about $120 incl tax/tip. So worth the price for a special evening! We almost had the whole dining room to ourselves on a Friday evening at 7:30pm. I'm surprised the place wasn't crammed with people.

It wasn't too far of a drive to the wine area. We explored a few wineries, and we enjoyed Mt Palomar, Wilson Creek and South Coast Wineries, checking out the art/craft fair and wine at Maurice Carrie, and having dinner at Thorton the second night. If you get a chance to go to the area, there's a lot of different wines to try so pace yourself. It can get expensive paying for the tastings and its a lot of wine. Some wineries were definitely more generous pourers than others. South Coast Winery is a resort too and it looked really nice. It looked expensive to stay there, but the bartender there said they give discounts on wine purchases, have a bottle in the room, and other freebies. So if you want a higher class experience than Springhill, check that place out. Otherwise, I thought Springhill was great for the money, and offered a lot to their customers.

Room Tip: Stay on the west side of bldg away from the freeway. We got a little noise in the room from the cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly. The location is easy access to the wine country and San Diego. The price is reasonable with a good breakfast. I have been using this hotel for business purposes for several years.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the side away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryb1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The rooms are very updated and modern at this property. We enjoyed using the "suite" side of the room to watch movie, and the bed was reallly comfortable. We got a terrific night's sleep after a long day of biking and wine-tasting and woke up very refreshed. The complimentary breakfast was OK, but it was *very* crowded at 8:30 on a Sunday morning. We have stayed here twice and look forward to staying here again when we go back to Temecula.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZabierekR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We just spent two nights there for our anniversary to go wine tasting. The location was perfect...walked to old town and close to wineries. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the rooms were very cool! Very happy with this hotel and plan to look for other Springhill locations.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were pleased with the location. I thought the room would be bigger but it was an overall good experience. They closed the indoor pool after the first night with no warning and the outdoor pool wasn't heated. We loved the complimentary breakfast. The mexican restaurant across the parking lot was great for dinner. I probably would try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Bright and cheery lobby with LED lights around front desk and small eating area is in contrast to the small and "unsuite" rooms in this newish hotel. I love Marriotts, but this one just doesn't compare to the other hotels I have frequented. Our Suite, which was noted as suitable for 5 adults was the smallest room I could have reserved. The Suite, is a jammed space of 2 queen beds, and 1 very uncomfortable pull out bed, all wedged in a 300' space. You can barely walk through the room with a small rolling piece of luggage if going from the front door to the window. The pull out bed was so uncomfortable, we had to order extra bedding to make the springs not stick into our skin. The room set up is ridiculous, with sliding glass paned doors for the toilet area, and glass for the shower/bath area. Tight space between edge of bed and the two shower/bathroom spaces. When the lights go on in the bathroom, it illuminates the entire room. But thank goodness for the extra light, as our room was in a odd corner, and extremely dark and cave like. 1 or 2 towel hooks, which is riduculous, and no area for hanging items. Poorly designed for a newish hotel. Breakfast, was fair, they ran out of basic things like Tea. Small pool inside which was warm, and freezing cold small pool outside. Near the freeway and you can certainly hear it all around the hotel. Only good thing was the close proximity to old to town. Not a good choice for more than 2 guests.

Room Tip: If you want a "Suite" go someplace else. Or just have 2 people in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this property... I usually stay at the Hilton brands, but the wife picked this Marriott-family hotel for us. The lobby is kinda funky kitsch, with neon lights, and the rooms a more European style, and spacious. They have two pools, one inside and one out, and they put together a nice hot breakkie (scrambled eggs, waffles, and biscuits are available, plus all the standards). The staff was great, and made a great restaurant recommendation for dinner nearby. We were on the third floor facing the freeway, but the place was wonderfully quiet. We had a great stay, and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusPodgorny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
6.1 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
5.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Temecula
5.9 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country

Address: 28220 Jefferson Ave, Temecula, CA 92590
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#6 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites. A hotel with style and color. Airy spaces. All-suite expansiveness. Complimentary hot breakfast every morning. Fresh amenities and little luxuries. It's enough to make you forget the reason you're there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country Hotel Temecula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing