We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery

Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery
34843 Rancho California Road, South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, Temecula, CA 92591
9515879463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 330 restaurants in Temecula
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anza
Description: One taste and it's immediately evident why the Vineyard Rose restaurant located at Temecula Valley's South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, holds the title of Best Restaurant in the Inland Empire. Of course, housed at a real working winery, The Vineyard Rose Restaurant's fine-dining menus created by our expert chefs perfectly complement the award winning wines produced by Master Winemaker Jon McPherson. Open 7 days/week. Located at 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This restaurant is huge! You walk in and it feels like you're going to an all-you-can-eat buffet in Vegas. Atmosphere could use some work.

I ordered scallops with risotto, hubby ordered filet. My risotto was not prepared right, and it was crunchy and runny at the same time. Scallops were pretty and fairly yummy. Filet was fine.

We went here to celebrate our anniversary, since we were staying at the South Coast. It is fine food, but considering there wasn't really ambiance and the costs were over $30/plate, I wouldn't return. It was fine, just not anything special.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi AmyMCLA,

Thank you for your review of the Vineyard Rose restaurant. Hearing that you elected to celebrate your anniversary at our winery resort is a complement to all of us, and we truly appreciate that you took the time to provide us with your comments. While it’s true, the Vineyard Rose’s Tuscan inspired dining room and veranda overlooking the vineyards is one of the largest in the region, it is the restaurant’s warm and friendly atmosphere that makes us a number one choice for special celebrations and intimate getaways. We are disappointed to learn that you were left feeling that the food service and ambiance were less than special on your special evening. Please know we take each comment seriously as we continue to take strides in providing the utmost in quality service and ensuring every dining experience is a memorable event. Your feedback is appreciated, and we sincerely hope you give us the opportunity to earn your business in the future.

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa / Vineyard Rose Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    135
    69
    35
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME...LITERALLY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The winery is amazing... the restaurant....ugh! We waited over an hour for our meal of a pizza, omlette, sandwich, and ceviche. Unacceptable. A glass broke on my mom's lap and the bartender didn't offer to comp her drink or anything. FINALLY, after a LONG wait, I went to find the manager, who made ME wait for another 5-10 minutes. When she arrived, she told me she had to stand back because she was fighting a cold! NOT what you want to hear from someone serving or touching your food. She had no good excuse and told me that she would LOOK at our check to see what she could do. I TOLD her that she would be comping our entire meal. Period. FINALLY, when the food came, it was cold, pizza raw, and my mom, who doesn't like mushrooms, received a sandwich covered in mushrooms (after requesting no mushrooms of course). There are LOTS of restaurants in Temecula...don't waste your time or money at this place. They really don't care about their customers.... we need to send them a clear message. Don't go there! Ponte is next door and has a great restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi TravelingGal_69,

Thank you for your review of the Vineyard Rose restaurant. We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your dining experience. We make every effort to ensure our guests enjoy an excellent meal, top notch service and great ambiance so we were saddened to hear that you felt the service was slow and that the food did not meet your expectations. Our chefs use only the freshest locally grown ingredients to prepare each one of our savory menu items, and our expert winemakers pair each entrée with an award-winning wine recommendation. I appears as though we missed the mark on your last visit; and we thank you for the feedback. As a proud recipient of the 2013 OpenTable.com Diners’ Choice Award, 2013 Wine Spectator Award, and voted the Best Restaurant of 2013 by Inland Empire Magazine, we invite you to give us another try the next time you are in the area visiting. Because so many of our guests leave our Vineyard Rose Restaurant with an excellent experience we hope that you will give us another try and come back again.

Sincerely,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa / Vineyard Rose Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great service. Lots of coffee refills by polite waiters. Bacon and poached eggs perfectly cooked. My husband loved the biscuits and gravy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi miathecat,

Thank you for your review of the Vineyard Rose restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your Vineyard Breakfast and Country Biscuits & Sausage Gravy in our elegant Tuscan-inspired dining room. It will certainly be a great pleasure to serve you on your next visit, perhaps to try some of our #1 best seller signature menu items -- like the Banana Pancakes off the breakfast menu, the Artisan Grilled Cheese with Roasted Tomato Soup off the lunch menu or the Land and Sea off the dinner menu.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a lovely "all in one" lodging/restaurant/spa/wine tasting resort. The service was outstanding, to state the least. The restaurant menu superb. Did not stay there or do spa. Wines are good, not great, but good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi MsBunny2011,

Thank you for your review of the Vineyard Rose restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience in our elegant Tuscan-inspired dining room with amazing vineyard and mountain views. In addition to breakfast, lunch and dinner services, we also offer Behind the Scenes Wine Tours, spa services, private villas for overnight stays and so much more. We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon, perhaps for a longer stay.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent place to dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had an excellent meal, great wine and a wonderful view of the grounds! We would recommend the outdoor seating for sure. Our server Sean was GREAT! As we were ordering our wine the owner of the winery stopped at our table and chatted with us for a moment! The next time we are in the Temecula area we will definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery also viewed

 

Been to Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.