We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Great Meal!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Italia

Gourmet Italia
27499 Ynez Road, Temecula, CA 92591
+1 951-676-9194
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gourmet Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 337 Restaurants in Temecula
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
SAN DIEGO,CA
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Always A Great Meal!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Recently enjoyed a wine tasteing event held by Alex and his great staff. The meal consisted of 6 courses and six plus wines for each of the courses from the northern region of Italy Piedmont. The food was served with flair introduced by Alex and described in detail, as well as an introduction by the winery representative of each wine served. The portions served were extremely generous as was the wine pairings. I have to say my favorite was the eggplant with angel hair pasta in a rich, yet light marinana sauce, which was just out of this world!!! The food was served in the banquet room in back of the current building, candle lit and cozy for sure. The meal started at 6PM and finished around 9:30.
Wine was available for purchase through Gourmet Italia in case lots.
This was a splendid evening with splendid food, wine and owner and staff!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    34
    6
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service, selection and ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Without fail, we have always had an incredible dining experience with Alex and his top-notch staff at Gourmet Italia. At times, there may be a wait, but it's always well worth it. The food is superb and no matter who's waiting on you, the service is outstanding. Saturday night my wife and I enjoyed and wonderfully prepared filet mignon and a lobster ravioli. We couldn't have asked for better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were directed here by some local Temeculans that we met in the tasting room at the South Coast Winery and, boy, are we ever glad they did! I have rarely, if EVER, experienced this level of service, even at restaurants that charged me twice as much. I want to bring every single one of my restaurant owning friends here, so they can attempt to equal it. Your wine glass, your water glass, your bread basket, your olive tapenade are replenished at ALL times efficiently by whoever is passing by: your waiter, your busboy, the manager...they all work together in concert to make your experience at this restaurant an unforgettable one. The food is also delicious - we had the antipasto, served on a giant olivewood platter, the filetto and the linguine pescatore which were all wonderful. You can find equally delicious food elsewhere, but service of this caliber is a true rarity. A real gem in the middle of a strip mall. We will certainly return!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“You must make this stop while in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food is amazing, yes... the wine is top notch, yes..... The ambiance is off the charts!! If your looking for a fun and lively place on Fri and Sat nights, this is it!! The Live music is always great!
Alessandro will usually be there and stopping by to pick on the guys, charm the girls...heck he even actually charms the guys! but he and his staff make you feel like your visiting their home !!

If your looking for a calm, romantic evening, usually Fri and Sat nights are probably not your night to go but any other time, it is totally romantic and quiet.

The antipasto plate for appetizer is just what you would expect while sitting at villa in Italy. Alessandro's own Sangiovese is beautiful! Most of the vegetables and fruits are grown right on he and Charity's own property in De Luz...what could be better? not much!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hustled and rushed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We called ahead and asked about reservations for 4 for 6:30. Was told there was room for us and we wouldn't have to wait. Not so. We had friends with us. Finally were seated around 7:15, got our food and wine, which was good, but as soon as we were finished eating, the owner came to our table, before we had desert, and told us he had a reservation for that table at 8:30 and we should hurry!! We were not dallying, we had not had fast service, and the check was not a small one. I was very insulted. If I go out for dinner, I like to have a leisurely dinner and not be rushed to move. If the restaurant is too small to handle the business, then they should move to a larger building.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Italia also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.