We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping: Good for Staff; Bad for Guests” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Capital Hills Pkwy& Hwy 58, Tehachapi, CA 93561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Housekeeping: Good for Staff; Bad for Guests”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I will never stay at this Holiday Inn again. The housekeeping system here is the most inefficient and unpleasant situation for guests staying more than one night.

Last month my husband and I stayed here three nights. The room was fairly clean but the process that the housekeeping staff used was extremely irritating.
Basically, they start at one end of the hallway and begin to take off all of the sheets... (in every room).
Then they start again at the one end and clean all of the bathrooms..... (in every room)
Then they go back to the first room again at the end of the hall and put the sheets back on the bed.... (in every room)
Then they go back to vacuum and clean the trash etc.....

The hallway is rather long and has many rooms. During this process, no one can go into their rooms for several hours. Don't plan on being able to take a nap during this time... there are no sheets. The housekeeping staff doesn't speak English so unless you are bilingual, you'll have a hard time requesting sheets and blankets to put on your own bed.

I eventually asked the front desk if they thought this process seemed strange or inconvenient for paying guests. The lady at the front desk told me that "they do it that way so the laundry gets done." I politely asked if she could ask the housekeeping staff to clean my room completely when they enter. She kindly obliged but I could tell she was annoyed by my request.

I hate complaining to staff. It's just easier to go to another hotel that routinely keeps systems as convenient for guests as possible.

We decided not to stay the last night at the Holiday Inn and went to the Fairfield Inn up the road in Tehachapi. Fairfield was not only less expensive but the experience was much more pleasant. We even got a free upgrade to the executive suite.... Much more pleasant than Holiday Inn!!! I really wish we would have stayed at the Fairfield Inn the entire time. Next time we definitely will.

Good Luck!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Fairfield Inn are better and less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehcafd, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about your experiance here and understand where you're coming from. Please be advised that we will work on improving how our housekeepers perform their tasks. We really appreciate your honesty and I want to assure you that it is very helpful to let staff members know when you are experiancing any problems. This would apply to any business situation as we are only able to improve quality of our services when our customers let us know. Hopefully someday you will give us another chance, but I understand if you don't and hope that you enjoy all your future stays within the hotel community.
Kimberly Mangus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
35
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adrian
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great place--We were just passing through going for a family visit and had reserved this hotel for 1 night. I'm really not a fan of Holiday Inn Express but this place really live up far better than my expectations. The staff was very friendly and the room was nice and clean. We had just made about a 5 hour trip and we relaxed very well here. It was quite and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehcafd, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. I am really glad to hear that we exceded you expectations and I hope that on your trip back you will stop by again.
Kimberly Mangus
Director of Sales
661-822-9837
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

On a trip between Arizona and northern California, we try to avoid L.A., and this hotel in Tehachapi is ideal. It's quiet, away from the railroad, and convenient to the highway. The service is very good with good recommendations for dinner. The breakfast is good with biscuits and gravy, delicious cinnamon rolls, eggs, and the usual cereals, breads, etc. This is our third time to stay here, and we will definitely stay here the next time we are circumventing L.A.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehcafd, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! It is always wonderful to hear that you have stayed at our hotel before and plan to continue staying here. We look forward to seeing you again someday! If you have any special requests for your future stay, please feel free to contact our hotel directly at 661.822.9837.
Hope to see you again real soon!
Kimberly Mangus
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for multiple days while visiting family. Needed to bring two cats with us at the last minute, and staff were very flexible in accommodating this request. Room was well appointed and housekeepers were good about asking if we needed additional supplies/support during stay. Beds were nice, but every spring on the pull-out couch could be felt while sleeping. Window looked like it would open, but it did not: maybe because we were on third floor. Microwave and refrigerator were in small kitchen area with small sink and a few cupboards - great for multi-day stay.

Pool and hot tub were clean and functional, and there was a covered patio area with two sets of outdoor dining furniture and charcoal grills for guest use. Breakfast buffet was fresh, full, and well maintained until closure each morning. Fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, hot and cold cereal, fresh cinnamon rolls, breakfast breads, and a pancake-making machine that caused quite a stir with the younger guests. Coffee available 24-hours is great for me.

We typically stay at the Best Western Mountain Inn, and chose Holiday Inn because it was pet-friendly with enclosed/interior corridors. Will stay here again if we can get a competitive price.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehcafd, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am glad that we meet all your expectations and if you would like to come back please call me at 661.822.9837 and I can see about working out a price for you and your family.
Again thank you and I hope we see you again soon =)
Kimberly Mangus
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good value, good breadfast, great stay. Clean room, quiet and friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay. I hope we see you again someday =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Twice we've stayed here. The rooms are clean but bedding was wrinkled and not done professional. Wifi went down often. The carpets left our feet dirty. My friend found a dead worm in the bathroom. Somewhat noisy. The breakfast was good and presented nicely. Check in and out was fine. We have family here so again we will stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehcafd, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am always happy to see guests returning to the hotel, it makes us feel like we're doing something right =). However, I am disappointed in your experiance with the bedding and internet. I wanted to let you know that I am working with our IT Department regarding the internet issues and I will be addressing the issue of bedding with my housekeeping supervisor. I would like to ensure you that upon your next visit, these issues should be completely fixed. Also, feel free to contact me anytime regarding any future stays at 661.822.9837. My name is Kimberly and I am the Director of Sales and I hope to be hearing from you soon.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

It's a new hotel, nice location, probably the better choice in Tehachapi - but they gave away my reserved room, made 3 weeks in advance. Lots of workers stay here, lots of noise 5-7 a.m. Pet-friendly meant stuck in area no one else would prefer. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehcafd, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Good Afternoon and Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests in order to maintain a higher quality hotel. I understand that you had a negative experience at our hotel and I would like to sincerely apologize on our behalf for the areas in which we did not meet your expectations. If you would like to contact me to discuss further your experience, it would be greatly appreciated. I would like to work with you on improving our hotel for yourself and for our future reservations. I would also like to offer you a discounted stay with us if you are ever in Tehachapi again so that we may hopefully earn back your trust and respect in our hotel. Please contact me at our hotel at 661.822.9837. My name is Kimberly and I am the Director of Sales. Again, thank you for your review and I hope to hear from you soon =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street

Address: 901 Capital Hills Pkwy& Hwy 58, Tehachapi, CA 93561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tehachapi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tehachapi CA, located in the mountains between the San Joaquin Valley and the Mojave Desert off Highway 58.Winner of the Quality Excellence Award for 2007 and the best choice for your travel away from the noise of the trains, this peace of the Land of the Four Seasons is close to downtown and the world famous Tehachapi Loop, the National Chaves Center and a short drive away from the Wind Farms, Woodward West Action Sports Camp and our famous Mountain Festival in August.The Holiday Inn Express is also steps away from a Denny s Restaurant and less than a mile from several local restaurants which offer a variety of foods.With its 80 spacious guestrooms that include mini suites the Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi also features free high-speed Internet in every room, complimentary deluxe hot Continental breakfast, business center, small conference room, fitness center, and a heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street Hotel Tehachapi
Holiday Inn Tehachapi
Tehachapi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.