We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U-Hauls and large vehicles, park along the street!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 W. Tehachapi Blvd., Tehachapi, CA 93561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“U-Hauls and large vehicles, park along the street!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stopped here on our move from Seattle to Phoenix. The town is adorable! The hotel was nice enough. Our room had an odd smell (like mildew mixed with deodorant and BO...). We opened the sliding door to the balcony while we went to dinner, and it was mostly cleared out when we got back. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My favorite part was how friendly all the guests were! We are Arizonans and found the Seattle freeze quite annoying. Stopping here and chatting the the other occupants made us feel like were finally getting close to home.

We did have a U-Haul (26'!) towing a car, and of all the gas stations and all the hotels across 1600 miles, this was the only place we had trouble. It wasn't until after we got it stuck (what turned out to be only a 30 minute ordeal thanks to a friendly fellow traveler) that they told us street parking was available for large vehicles. I understand they couldn't possibly have told us this as we drove into town, but maybe a sign indicating street parking is available would have been nice?

Overall, it was a pretty decent last night's stay on a loooooong trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    61
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
51
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a top class hotel. It looks like it just opened last week. Staff was excellent. The rooms were very nice with plenty of pillows. I think the towels should be upgraded to match the rest of the hotel though. Very nice foyer and relaxing area. Nice business center. The breakfast buffet was really good. There are many choices and everything is fresh and clean. One of the best buffets in terms of presentation and quality I have come across. Downtown is a short walk away. This is my preferred location before entering the desert.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We certainly didn't want to stay in Bakersfield while on a trip so decided to give nearby Tehachapi a try. We found a gem at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. Great checkin experience, nicely decorated clean rooms with balconies (hard to find any more) & a recommendation to try a nearby restaurant Don Juan's which was also good. We will put this one on our list of good @ reasonable places to stay when traveling between CA and Utah

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not bad at all. There is a train track situation, hoever for those who don;t kile that sort of thing, but mostly is was a better than average Fairfield suites. No complaints. Nice room. Nice Gym. Health breakfast of sorts.

Room Tip: reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was new and very clean. Breakfast was good, the pool was very warm. Staff were excellent to deal with and very helpful. The rooms were spacious and we had to use the coin laundry but all the detergents were free. There was also free hot chocolate, coffee and tea throughout the day. Awesome place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel twice within a matter of days as it was the halfway point between our home and Las Vegas. It's a nice property, clean and easy to find.

Upon our late night arrival after a five hour drive, all we wanted was to check in and head to bed. Simple really. Or so we thought. We happened to arrive at the same time as the fire department arrived for an alarm going off. We learned this was the second time within 24 hours they had been summoned to the hotel for an alarm. The front desk staff seemed lost and not sure what to do. We weren't greeted with a "hello" or a "welcome" but a "what do you need?". After providing our name and Marriott Rewards card, I then provided a Marriott gift card to apply to the cost of the hotel. They applied it to our bill-as a charge not a credit. Lovely.




The room itself was very clean, spacious and comfortable with the exception of the mattresses. We all woke up a little sore. The bathroom was large and well lit. There was a coffee maker and a small
microwave. Since we were there less than 12 hours, I don't recall much else about the room.

The free breakfast was very good and had waffles and eggs and sausage. The little muffins are delicious. They also had oatmeal and cold cereals, yogurts and fruit.

Other than the issues with the staff, this is a very good hotel. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was using points from my Marriott Rewards program for a cheap one night stay on my drive from Sacramento, CA to Las Vegas for vacation. This place was rated by Marriott as a Rewards Catagory 1 (the lowest catagory), so I was not expecting much. But I was just looking for a clean place to sleep, no frills. But I was amazed at how nice this place was! They game me a free upgrade to an executive suite (even though I have very few pts w the Marriott Reward program, the lowest catagory of membership). The room was very clean, very nicely furnished, had a small frig and microwave, 2 HD flatscreen TV's, comfy king bed, very quiet. Free buffet breakfast was very good, omelettes, boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, sausage, waffles, etc. Hotel located conveniently near freeway but far enough away from the traffic noise, near a K-Mart, Burger King, cheap gas stations, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi

Address: 422 W. Tehachapi Blvd., Tehachapi, CA 93561
Location: United States > California > Tehachapi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Tehachapi
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi Hotel Tehachapi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.