We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, mediocre staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 W. Tehachapi Blvd., Tehachapi, CA 93561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, mediocre staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel twice within a matter of days as it was the halfway point between our home and Las Vegas. It's a nice property, clean and easy to find.

Upon our late night arrival after a five hour drive, all we wanted was to check in and head to bed. Simple really. Or so we thought. We happened to arrive at the same time as the fire department arrived for an alarm going off. We learned this was the second time within 24 hours they had been summoned to the hotel for an alarm. The front desk staff seemed lost and not sure what to do. We weren't greeted with a "hello" or a "welcome" but a "what do you need?". After providing our name and Marriott Rewards card, I then provided a Marriott gift card to apply to the cost of the hotel. They applied it to our bill-as a charge not a credit. Lovely.




The room itself was very clean, spacious and comfortable with the exception of the mattresses. We all woke up a little sore. The bathroom was large and well lit. There was a coffee maker and a small
microwave. Since we were there less than 12 hours, I don't recall much else about the room.

The free breakfast was very good and had waffles and eggs and sausage. The little muffins are delicious. They also had oatmeal and cold cereals, yogurts and fruit.

Other than the issues with the staff, this is a very good hotel. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    56
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
46
46
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was using points from my Marriott Rewards program for a cheap one night stay on my drive from Sacramento, CA to Las Vegas for vacation. This place was rated by Marriott as a Rewards Catagory 1 (the lowest catagory), so I was not expecting much. But I was just looking for a clean place to sleep, no frills. But I was amazed at how nice this place was! They game me a free upgrade to an executive suite (even though I have very few pts w the Marriott Reward program, the lowest catagory of membership). The room was very clean, very nicely furnished, had a small frig and microwave, 2 HD flatscreen TV's, comfy king bed, very quiet. Free buffet breakfast was very good, omelettes, boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, sausage, waffles, etc. Hotel located conveniently near freeway but far enough away from the traffic noise, near a K-Mart, Burger King, cheap gas stations, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Fairfield Inn & Suites – Tehachapi appears to be very new and fresh and clean. The beds are a little firm so don’t expect soft pillow top mattresses. The accommodations include free Wi-Fi which so many of us appreciate. Also a light breakfast is included in your stay from 6am until 9am. Several good restaurants are close by as well as shopping at Grocery stores and Drug stores. The trains across from the Hotel didn’t bother us in the least. We only heard them a couple of times. The staff is courteous and very helpful with directions. Yes, we will be back our next trip thru Tehachapi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shandon, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The food in their restaurant was good, and the hotel was very nice. The location is in the middle to town, which made it nice for getting around. The bed was a little firm, which isn't what we're used to. We prefer a softer mattress; but that was our only negative. Everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is spotlessly clean, and well maintained. Front desk staff were very efficient and helpful and provided advice re dinner spots.Breakfast (included) was a good selection of hot and cold items. Would definitely recommend the Fairfield.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graton, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel and the town of Tehachapi. This spot featured nice large rooms and a good pool for the family. The breakfast in the morning was actually decent, as compared to the usual complimentary breakfast. The trains are audible, but not intrusive, and if you really feel like shopping at a Kmart, there is one across the street.

My only concern is the loud window a/c unit. This is a new hotel, and haven't they figured that one out yet???

Room Tip: Top floor with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just passing through. Very warm welcome . Beautiful hotel. Looks brand new . Excellent facilities. Great breakfast. Can not say enough good things about this hotel. Not sure what to expect but the town of Tehachapi was delightful.Could have stayed so much longer since there was so much to see, would stay again any time ...

Room Tip: If you like trains ask for a room over looking the tracks you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi

Address: 422 W. Tehachapi Blvd., Tehachapi, CA 93561
Location: United States > California > Tehachapi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Tehachapi
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi Hotel Tehachapi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.