We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 W. Tehachapi Blvd., Tehachapi, CA 93561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stroud, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Functional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Very comfortable, warm and clean. We had a modern, well-appointed room.
The gym was small but had modern equipment, in good order.Didn't use the little pool or jacuzzi but they looked nice enough.
Breakfast was poor, but overall, for the price, this was a really good journey-breaker.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    61
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
51
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Having never been in Tehachapi before, I chose the hotel that I was most familiar with from other cities. The city itself is small with unique landmarks and signage making for interesting photo ops. Unfortunately the hotel, while clean and with a nice breakfast, had heating problems (I was there in December 2011 and it was cold). The room was 62 degrees when I checked in. I raised the temp to 70, but the room never seemed to get warm. I bumped it up to 74 degrees, and realized that the room heats in a spotty way; some parts stayed cold while other parts got warm. This made for uncomfortable sleeping. I was there with a small group and found that everyone was experiencing a similar phenomenon. I have no experience in other hotels in the town, so I can’t say how the other hotels fared. However, this one seemed to rate the highest, which was the basis of my deciding to stay here. The breakfast was good and the people friendly, but the heating challenge was enough to make me want to try another hotel if I ever come back here. The attached photos, called “views from my room” allow you to appreciate how scenic the location is.

Room Tip: In the front of the hotel you may hear the trains at night. The rear is quiter, however has a worse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inspiration, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

everything about this hotel was wonderful. the rooms were secure, we didn't hear the RxR which some people could hear. internet was free, full breakfast, free parking, business cntr for printing. the staff was pleasing and helpful too.

Room Tip: Ask for room near the courtyard in order not to be disturbed by the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Sierra, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is a solid newer property with a small pool, tiny fitness center, free business center and a breakfast buffet. Staffing is minimal as there rarely seems to be anybody at the desk when I arrive. Rooms are clean and spacious and internet is free; ethernet cables are not provided although they have a supply to lend out at the front desk.

There is a Thursday (?) summer farmer's market in downtown Tehachapi. Try Konen's Bakery for fantastic sandwiches and pastries. Blue Ginger Pho has great Vietnamese fare. Front desk staff didn't have local menus available or offer much in the way of suggestions. The Holiday Inn appears to be a nicer property but it is located on the other side of the freeway and out of town. This is the go-to chain property in Tehachapi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Probably the best Fairfield Inn I have ever stayed at, and I stay at Marriott properties around the country.

Courteous and professional staff, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The train runs at all hours of the night. Did not sleep much. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed here for two nights during the Tehachapi Wine festival. Modern decorated, pleasing to the eye. Free internet and breakfast. Never noticed the train as mentioned in other reviews. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi

Address: 422 W. Tehachapi Blvd., Tehachapi, CA 93561
Location: United States > California > Tehachapi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tehachapi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Tehachapi
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi Hotel Tehachapi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.